Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Games weekend 17th to 20th October

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    Continuation of football in Limerick. Continuation of supporters. Continuation of stadium in use. Continuation of manager. Completely different to Longford joining the league and Kerry either.
    Correct.....only real part of the new entity are those in new board and admin...same manager,many of the same coach.s ,most of the same academy players and setup,...even still attaching previous Limerick football history every chance that presents itself as evidenced by retiring the late great Joe o M ahoneys jersey....whats that got to do with the ...new entity...then...and of late slowly returning the previous senior soccer colours to the kit.

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    Correct.....only real part of the new entity are those in new board and admin...same manager,many of the same coach.s ,most of the same academy players and setup,...even still attaching previous Limerick football history every chance that presents itself as evidenced by retiring the late great Joe o M ahoneys jersey....whats that got to do with the ...new entity...then...and of late slowly returning the previous senior soccer colours to the kit.
    You only come on here to crap all over Tommy Barrett and Treaty, and are nowhere to be seen when they pick up a win.

Life is short, enjoy it. If you're going to be a troll, be a good one.

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shearer View Post
    You only come on here to crap all over Tommy Barrett and Treaty, and are nowhere to be seen when they pick up a win.

Life is short, enjoy it. If you're going to be a troll, be a good one.
    No secret i am not a fan of Tommys[tbf excellent result last evening and btw i was there] ,i am however a fan albeit a critical one ..why ..because i want the team to be successful,show ambition,make progress etc..get to as many games home/away as i can Why come on here and contradict youself ,read my previous posts not that there are many wins to comment on and where have you been lately ..oh thats right no wins to talk about.

What are you in about ...clearly haven't seen them play or even watched any of the goals they scored this year . Some absolute crackers . Year on year increase on budget and still probably only level with Longford and Kerry . Haven't heard him mention budget this year only to say he was happy with it all things considered . What did Barrett do to you or are you just a bitter for no reason ..3 playoffs and a semi final not bad even for a team with decent budgets. Sad really and showing your true colours .

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    No secret i am not a fan of Tommys[tbf excellent result last evening and btw i was there] ,i am however a fan albeit a critical one ..why ..because i want the team to be successful,show ambition,make progress etc..get to as many games home/away as i can Why come on here and contradict youself ,read my previous posts not that there are many wins to comment on and where have you been lately ..oh thats right no wins to talk about.
    Any budget increases have been marginal, they are still up against it in comparison to other clubs.

All your posts hammer the defeats, you post about victories only when it's ending a bad run and still you include the line "still only one win in X games".

I didn't post after last week's win or plenty of others, I don't post much here anymore in truth, except to call people out for being insufferable. With all your criticism of Tommy Barrett, you've never suggested a replacement.

On the game itself, they were brilliant. In what was essentially a cup final they went to face a team they've a bad record against and put their foot on their throat. Achievement is relative and for Treaty to reach the playoffs is achievement indeed. They need to keep it together vs Cobh and not allow the first leg to end the tie like previously.

882 Posts
    Tommy Barrett has got treaty into the play offs in what, 3 of the 5 seasons they've been in the league? A cup semi final to go with that. Limerick football has been a shambles as long as I'm alive, you can talk about ambition all you want but nobody has been able to get it right down there for the last 30 years, it's almost appeared as if a LOI team in Limerick is totally unsustainable which is madness given the size of the county. I find it utterly bizarre when people keep calling for the managers head down there, he's working with a fairly poor squad of players, he consistently looses his best players yet he always finds a way to keep the team not only competitive but reaching The play offs year after year. Mad stuff

The Limerick public not backwards in coming forward , seems like just a few fans with personal gripes that are giving out . At every home game this year some great football played in most games except Dundalk hammering that was shocking but before and after good in the main . Good playing style particular when lynch and Devitt play, as good as a footballing team in the league from what I saw .
    Last edited by Budgie; 19/10/2025 at 8:50 AM.

Alternatives locally would be Noel o Connor maybe has been of a senior job for a while . He had Wexford competitive when there always finished 7th or 8th . Would get Treaty more solid for sure . Maybe likes of Morris or Keith Long if going outside the locality . Henderson even ? Probably the most obvious experienced choice .

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Budgie View Post
    Alternatives locally would be Noel o Connor maybe has been of a senior job for a while . He had Wexford competitive when there always finished 7th or 8th . Would get Treaty more solid for sure . Maybe likes of Morris or Keith Long if going outside the locality . Henderson even ? Probably the most obvious experienced choice .
    I know this is just idle talk, and while O'Connor may sound good on paper, I wouldn't be so sure.

He's out of the league with ages and hasn't pulled up any trees while over the Limerick District Kennedy Cup squad. Back in 2022 himself and Fat Dolan teamed up to bash Treaty in Dolan's newspaper article, hammering the club (including digging at his former S&C coach Dave Mahedy) while praising how great Pat O'Sullivan is.

882 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Budgie View Post
    Keith Long or Ian Morris aren't going anywhere near Treaty ffs, as for Henderson he was 3 years without a senior job before he went to Longford and it didn't work out there. There isn't a better realistic option for Treaty than Tommy Barrett
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

If Barrett left I could actually picture Hendo going there. I believe he's a better manager than his Longford days implied. And he did say himself he wants another craic at it and doesn't want how Longford went to be his last go at managing in the league. It's also a lot nearer to home for him, there's only so many Munster clubs.

That said, I'm also in the camp that Barrett is working miracles with what he has. Any Treaty fan wishing him gone should be very very careful what they wish for

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Keith Long or Ian Morris aren't going anywhere near Treaty ffs
    There are only 20 senior clubs so if a job at any of them becomes available, out-of-work managers can't be too picky either.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123