Page 27 of 30 FirstFirst ... 172526272829 ... LastLast

Thread: Nathan Collins D Brentford b.2001

662 Posts
    Had another 2 before the end. Another block from Jota and a goalbound shot from Gakpo which he was able to get enough of a head on to turn it onto the bar.

Genuinely probably man of the match. Great time for it.

genuine quantity of centre backs is phenomenal: (excluding the 21s regulars)

Tier 1: Collins, O’Shea, O’Brien, Scales

Tier 2: Omobamidele, Duffy, Egan, McGuinness

Tier 3: McNally, Cashin, Lenihan, Dunne, McLoughlin, Clarke Salter

I’d have another 6 lads in Tier 4, but no point going that deep

1,075 Posts
    The age profile of them is excellent too.

Though I would swap Scales and Omobamidele between the tiers on your list. While it's tempting to drop Omobamidele a tier right now because he hasn't started the season in the Forest team, his pace and comfort in possession at a higher level of football put him a tier above Scales. Omobamidele has already played 16 Premier League games at 22, I doubt Scales will play 16 games in the Premier League (or an equivalent top European league) in his career.

250 Posts
    Carragher was singing his praises about keeping his team in the game.

A very solid performance.

662 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    The age profile of them is excellent too.

Though I would swap Scales and Omobamidele between the tiers on your list. While it's tempting to drop Omobamidele a tier right now because he hasn't started the season in the Forest team, his pace and comfort in possession at a higher level of football put him a tier above Scales. Omobamidele has already played 16 Premier League games at 22, I doubt Scales will play 16 games in the Premier League (or an equivalent top European league) in his career.
    Definitely - purely on ability etc, I’d have Andy in that top tier. Was more thinking specifically about the next international window and I think it’s one of McGuinness, Duffy and Omobamidele for that 5th slot.

I have been incredibly impressed with Scales performances at centre back for Ireland, left of a three and left of a two. He’s certainly performed well above his base ability or what you’d expect from him.

I was at the game at home to the Greeks where he started at left back and Collins was poor and at half time, Collins was taken off and scales moved to centre half where he was excellent.

Also remember him playing very well away to the Dutch in the left of a three along with Collins and O’Shea.

So as much as Scales logically feels like he’s well behind the premier league players, in his limited number of performances at centre back for Ireland, that gap certainly hasn’t been present.

I’d also be generally pretty pleased with how he’s fared for Celtic in Europe. Haven’t seen every game but he’s equipped himself well.

[QUOTE=elatedscum;2199153]Had another 2 before the end. Another block from Jota and a goalbound shot from Gakpo which he was able to get enough of a head on to turn it onto the bar.

I’d have another 6 lads in Tier 4, but no point going that

Think Dunne could be considered more of a right back these days, been playing there for almost a year, might be worth considering our options.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    Had another 2 before the end. Another block from Jota and a goalbound shot from Gakpo which he was able to get enough of a head on to turn it onto the bar.

I’d have another 6 lads in Tier 4, but no point going that deep
    Is Clarke-Salter definitely eligible?

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Came here to post something very similar. Went to edit the post to say “you got there before me ES” - and it deleted the whole post… grrr…

He’s been great overall and doing really well in the circumstances. Carries and passes the ball so well from that right sided position in the back three and stays mentally switched on which is a fault I’d have called out from him in previous seasons. Great to see the development. The save from Allison was fantastic and the block at the other end came about a minute later. Doing really well.
    I've undeleted it now.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

662 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Is Clarke-Salter definitely eligible?
    I'd assume so... A quote from 2022:

"My grandma was born in Ireland and all those on my mum’s side are pretty much Irish so I qualify for Ireland as well," “I haven’t told anyone in the game that before, you are the first! I would be open to it, yes. It is international football so I want to play. I just have to keep doing my thing on the pitch and if Ireland come calling, then me and my family will have to have a conversation. They have always supported me when I’ve played for the younger England age groups but they encourage me to play for Ireland now too! "When you’re a kid, you dream of playing in a European Championships or a World Cup. I’ve done it at youth level so it is only natural for me to want to do it at senior level as well."

3,501 Posts
    Statsbomb on Collins

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Statsbomb on Collins
    Is this good or bad ?

3,491 Posts
    I spent a couple of minutes looking at it trying to work it out and now I think I'm hypnotised.

515 Posts
    I think Razor touched on the Collins in midfield debate in another thread.

I thought it worked perfectly
    Obviously things went pair shaped after the red card. But I thought he was in essence our best "midfielder" on the day.

We should have tried it years ago. We need a solid midfield or it's lights out

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Diggs246 View Post
    I think Razor touched on the Collins in midfield debate in another thread.

I thought it worked perfectly
    Obviously things went pair shaped after the red card. But I thought he was in essence our best "midfielder" on the day.

We should have tried it years ago. We need a solid midfield or it's lights out
    Yeah in the context of how we tried to play from a defensive mindset the other night it was working brilliantly, I'm not sure it'd necessarily be the way to go against teams more on our level when we would be expected to have more of the ball and create, but who knows. I was always skeptical of the idea of him in midfield, but it's at least something worth looking at again
    Last edited by Razors left peg; 21/11/2024 at 4:22 PM.
    Its really not that complicated!!!

610 Posts
    I’d like to see it with him anchoring at the base of midfield and two more creative players in front of him. Knight, Moran, McGrath, maybe Browne …Jesus we’re light in midfield aren’t we?

1,075 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Statsbomb on Collins
    Has he taken up archery?

21. Thanks From:

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Is this good or bad ?
    Stay out of the white and keep in the red, nowt in this game for two in a bed.

I think.

23. Thanks From:

944 Posts
    Sneaky feckers. You can't find Wally when the picture is just a distorted close-up of his jumper.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    I’d like to see it with him anchoring at the base of midfield and two more creative players in front of him. Knight, Moran, McGrath, maybe Browne …Jesus we’re light in midfield aren’t we?
    Yeah if Collins is gonna play midfield again we really need some creativity in midfield too. He did a good job playing that almost hybrid role of anchoring the midfield and dropping into CB. But playing Molumby and Cullen is gonna give you nothing going forward.

26. Thanks From:

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    I agree having Collins in midfield was effective, but I'm not sure if it was just more about filling space than actual midfield play. He stopped the ball getting to Harry Kane and that was about it. I think I read he had 9 touches and completed 2 passes in the first half. You'd want a bit more involvement on the ball from whoever is there in future. I think Lawal probably has the most long term potential. Played a lot as a centre back and midfielder and is much more dynamic, while also offering defensive ability and physicality.

Collins seems to be improving again as a centre back and I think he'll be back there for us very quickly. Apart from a backs to the wall game like England was I don't think he has the mobility on the half turn to be truly effective in the middle.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

610 Posts
    So essentially we need Collins at the base with a prime Wes and a prime John Sheridan

Page 27 of 30 FirstFirst ... 172526272829 ... LastLast