Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Ukraine V Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 14th June 2022 - 2022/23 UEFA Nations League

772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    Would expect that to be the team if Obafemi is fit.
    Obafemi out according to latest Presser.

Injuries scuppering any chance of a result out there imo

479 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Obafemi out according to latest Presser.

Injuries scuppering any chance of a result out there imo
    Where did u see that?
    Disaster

2,612 Posts
    Question now is do you stick with the two up top with Hogan (Keane seems to be down the pecking order now) and Parrott together or do you revert back to the 3 across the front… weird to say it but Obafemi seemingly a big loss after only one start for us!

I think I’d go with the following

—————Kelleher
    O’Shea — Lenihan — Collins
    Browne ————————McClean
    ————Cullen — Molumby ———
    —————— Knight ——————
    ——— Parrott —— Hogan ———-

Ogbene for Browne if chasing.

2,612 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Diggs246 View Post
    Where did u see that?
    Disaster
    Kenny’s Kids just announced it.

https://twitter.com/kennyskids/statu...-0KfpnizTOtJLQ

479 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Ah t*ts

3,197 Posts
    Yup. That's a blow.

Hogan has looked lively in his two recent cameos; I'd start him ahead of Robinson. Agree on the logic for starting Kelleher over Travers too, much and all as I think he deserves a game. This is starting to be a cobbled-together team while Ukraine (for all the wrong reasons of course) are mostly quite fresh after a full month's pre-season and four competitive games, including one against us where they could change everyone around.

Not positive signs at the moment. But at least Manning will make the bench!

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    842 Posts
    Obafemi did travel to Poland so there is still some hope he could do what Egan did on Saturday and unexpectedly recover.

If he missed out Id go with Hogan up front I think. I definitely dont want to see Ogbene through the middle again or we'll have same issues as 1st game against them

201 Posts
    Question now is do you stick with the two up top with Hogan (Keane seems to be down the pecking order now) and Parrott together or do you revert back to the 3 across the front… weird to say it but Obafemi seemingly a big loss after only one start for us!

—————Kelleher
    Browne ————————McClean
    ————Cullen — Molumby ———
    —————— Knight ——————

This feels like it could well be the XI.

Always a possibility that Kenny will go with experience at the back, with Collins playing in the middle of the three, O'Shea on the right and Stevens, who has played there before, on the left.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

417 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Obafemi did travel to Poland so there is still some hope he could do what Egan did on Saturday and unexpectedly recover.

If he missed out Id go with Hogan up front I think. I definitely dont want to see Ogbene through the middle again or we'll have same issues as 1st game against them
    Team are doing some training at the stadium. Ogbene do his own bits and Obafemi not involved. Can't see him doing an Egan. With his injury history would be a big risk and could well ruin the start of his season.

842 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JR89 View Post
    Team are doing some training at the stadium. Ogbene do his own bits and Obafemi not involved. Can't see him doing an Egan. With his injury history would be a big risk and could well ruin the start of his season.
    Fair point. Glad to see he traveled with the squad anyway. Seems a good character to have in the dressing room

136 Posts

—————Kelleher
    Browne ————————McClean
    ————Cullen — Molumby ———
    —————— Knight ——————

would guess lenihan and collins swap. would rather see collins as the ccb once duffy gets phased out. has all the makings of a top class player, great chance to get a look at him there.

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Fair point. Glad to see he traveled with the squad anyway. Seems a good character to have in the dressing room
    He seems good craic alright but there's something I've seen in him that makes me think if he isn't getting his way or wasn't being selected he would throw a bit of a hissy fit.

842 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    He seems good craic alright but there's something I've seen in him that makes me think if he isn't getting his way or wasn't being selected he would throw a bit of a hissy fit.
    Theres no harm in that either sometimes. Robbie and Roy were like that, but if you can back it up with what you do on the pitch Ive no problem with the arrogance

342 Posts
    Who do we reckon will captain the team tomorrow? Just seen McClean having a bit of laugh about getting it! Cullen or Collins maybe if McClean doesn’t get it….
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

842 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Who do we reckon will captain the team tomorrow? Just seen McClean having a bit of laugh about getting it! Cullen or Collins maybe if McClean doesn’t get it….
    I think Collins will be the long term captain after Seamie so I'd give it to him. The fact that he was captaining Stoke at the age of 18 shows hes more than capable.

It'll probably be McClean though

230 Posts
    A bigger worry for me is that he could turn into a bit of a sick note player, and we’ll be here in 3/4/5 years time still talking about his great potential, if only he could stay fit.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

417 Posts
    Would like to think the run of games he played in the championship and it's a league with a tough schedule is an indication his injury woes could have been down to a lack of professionalism regarding fitness. Between April 2th and May 7th he played 9 games and completed 90mins in all bar one where he played 86mins.

Idah is the one that worries me most when thinking of lads in a few years and talking about if only he could have stayed fit. Has missed 48 games in the last two seasons because of injury and has had two long term knee injuries so far.

19. Thanks From:

1,912 Posts
    You mean you actually noticed his disgraceful non-performances in the u21 games against Iceland and it came to your attention that he declined an invitation to join a subsequent squad
    A player would have to prove himself most worthy after that, almost priceless, seems like Ogbene is well into the process of doing just that.

I think you're getting your O's mixed up.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JR89 View Post
    Would like to think the run of games he played in the championship and it's a league with a tough schedule is an indication his injury woes could have been down to a lack of professionalism regarding fitness. Between April 2th and May 7th he played 9 games and completed 90mins in all bar one where he played 86mins.

Idah is the one that worries me most when thinking of lads in a few years and talking about if only he could have stayed fit. Has missed 48 games in the last two seasons because of injury and has had two long term knee injuries so far.
    In most other countries I’d worry but given the injury record of Irish players he should be okay.

Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast