Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Bulgaria- 10th September 2019 - Friendly

3,286 Posts
    Hourihane to start at left full, according to Mick - freeing up a spot in centre midfield...

479 Posts
    It just shows you how **** Cunningham is

451 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Hourihane to start at left full, according to Mick - freeing up a spot in centre midfield...
    Did anyone truthfully ever see that coming? Hourihane is our most creative midfielder and a goal threat I would have thought we needed to give him more time to feel confident in midfield and to impose himself in that position. Surely at this point in time mcclean who has played left full for stoke would be much more likely to play there against Georgia than conor?

386 Posts
    It’s pretty amusing. He’s left legged, so he must be okay at left back. Mick trying to make a Stephen Ward out of him.

Let’s hope Mick comes to his senses by the time the competitive game comes by. Coleman, Doherty, Manning, probably Cunningham are better options at left back in absence of Stevens. Christ I’d even trust O’Connor or Leahy more than I would Hourihane at left back.

366 Posts
    The ball had scarcely left Hourihane's foot and although on a most favourable trajectory, had yet to find the Georgian net. But Mick's inspiration exists independent of time as we know it and in those precious milliseconds, pregnant with possibility, an ulterior prospect exited the birth canal of his dilated mind. It spread quickly to his heart, which warmed intensely at the notion. His tummy, usually inhospitable to emotions or wildlife of any kind, allowed the presence of a lone butterfly for a fleeting instant.

“I've f**king done it” his synapses sparkled.

“I've found the new Hartey.”

479 Posts
    It shows that he was speaking nonsense before in relation to not promoting the lads from the u21s. I think he said he wouldn't learn anything of note from a friendly against Bulgaria. Yet he is using it now as a full dress rehearsal for Conor to play at LB against Georgia.

2,679 Posts
    I dion't think he is. In The Indo he is quoted as saying that he hopes Doherty will be fit again. He also says very specifically that if the U21s didn't have an important match he'd call some of them up.

484 Posts
    I like this Hourihane idea. It's a shot to nothing. If it works great. If not it's no loss.

26 Posts
    Playing well at left-back against Bulgaria is not going to be evidence enough of an ability to cope there against better opposition.

I'd be much happier putting a round peg in a round hole. It has worked before, Meyler at right-back being a notable example, but on the whole I don't see this as being a worthwhile experiment, particularly given the near certainty of him playing in midfield in the qualifiers going forward.

536 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backstothewall View Post
    I like this Hourihane idea. It's a shot to nothing. If it works great. If not it's no loss.
    playing brady at LB worked well enough under MON. no harm using a bit of alternative thinking from time to time on these issues

2,679 Posts
    I'm not a fan myself. If new midfielders and forwards are to be tried I'd prefer if they were played with their likely partners in a real game. That way a forward like Hogan for example and Hourihane can get to learn each other's movements and get on the same wavelength. That said, I do want to see Browne and Byrne playing, probably also Cullen and O'Dowda could do with another outing. So if that requires Hourihane making way that's fine. We'll at least have his set pieces still, and it may even be a revelation - though I agree with livehead about pegs and holes.

484 Posts
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/world...mpression=true

I know it's mid afternoon on matchday but is there way we can show support for this woman at tonights game? We have minutes silence for every Tom, Dick or Harry who ever sat on a county committee. Someone who has sacrificed her life for the right to watch football seems somewhat more deserving.

Shocking that this sort of thing is going on yet as I type this (literally) Iran are playing in a World Cup qualifier against Hong Kong as if they are any other normal country (they are 2-0 up after 59 mins).

479 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I dion't think he is. In The Indo he is quoted as saying that he hopes Doherty will be fit again. He also says very specifically that if the U21s didn't have an important match he'd call some of them up.
    I'm not sure he cares about the u 21s if I'm honest. I guess he has his players and he isn't moving outside his 16 or so guys he likes.

536 Posts
    Confirmed that Egan will captain. I guess that means that Coleman Duffy and McClean won’t start. You’d imagine Keogh and Randolph and Hendrick would captain be ahead of him...

So maybe:

Travers

Christie
    Egan
    Long
    Hourihane

Cullen
    Browne
    Byrne

Judge
    O’Dowda

Hogan / Collins

672 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    Confirmed that Egan will captain. I guess that means that Coleman Duffy and McClean won’t start. You’d imagine Keogh and Randolph and Hendrick would captain be ahead of him...

So maybe:

Travers

Christie
    Egan
    Long
    Hourihane

Cullen
    Browne
    Byrne

Judge
    O’Dowda

Hogan / Collins
    Pretty close. This is the team, bar Ronan Curtis in for Jack Byrne and Hogan over Collins (FAI graphic has Judge in behind Hogan).
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

2,611 Posts
    Ye UCD lads must be awful embarrassed now, eh? Eh?

602 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post

So maybe:

Travers

Christie
    Egan
    Long
    Hourihane

Cullen
    Browne
    Byrne

Judge
    O’Dowda

Hogan / Collins
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Pretty close. This is the team, bar Ronan Curtis in for Jack Byrne and Hogan over Collins (FAI graphic has Judge in behind Hogan).
    And now it's a B international... the one thing we all didn't want it to be... Ah Mick, I think you're great, but seriously... is this the best use of a single friendly in the middle of some vital qualifiers, when your main team is still pretty makeshift? Watch now, Travers will save a penalty, Long and Egan will be rocks in defence, Hourihane will be a revelation, Browne and Cullen will dominate midfield, O'Dowda will torment the Bulgarian defence and Hogan will get a brace in a 3-0 win

3,196 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Ye UCD lads must be awful embarrassed now, eh? Eh?
    Ha! We were just talking about you in the ground

25. Thanks From:

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Time for a 4th!

3,196 Posts
    Great debut for Byrne here. Seriously impressive, even if it is a poor Bulgarian team with a wojus keeper

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast