Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Thread: LOI Matches 17-18 August

698 Posts
    That's 6 wins a draw in cork and feckin loss to bohs in the last 8 league matches conceding 2 goals in 8. It's the hope that kills you

88 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Not fair to call it a smash and grab , rovers were the better team for first 30 mins and last 15
    The 1st half, yes, but it was more like the 85th min when Rovers suddenly realized they could nick a win. Fair play to them. But from the stream, it looked like Dundalk had half a dozen or more chances. If it finished 2 or 3-1 to them, it wouldn't have been out of place. Footballs not like that though, sometimes Great win for Rovers, a bad night for Dundalk. Was it a penalty? Very difficult to tell from my stream, unfortunately. Not that it will bother Bradley. Bit of a rollercoaster ride of a year for him.

186 Posts
    No better place to go an win than the $hittest ground/town in Ireland. God knows what those yanks think of it. They must think they are in Fallujah or some such place.
    Rovers are a mind£uck at the best of times...fair play to Pico anyway. He keeps going
    Over to you corkies, to do this crap league a favour

Sickening to lose like that. I thought we were well on top until McGrath was taken off. Poor substitution really.
    On the penalty incident, on first look I thought it was one but apparently Finn was looking for a corner when the ref pointed to the spot. Shouldn’t have got into a position to let a poor ref have to make a decision.
    We should’ve won and would’ve been happy with a draw at then end. The result makes our game down in Cork fairly crucial.

Congratulations to Rovers anyway on a big win. Great for them to celebrate only being 24 points off the top.

Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    Sickening to lose like that. I thought we were well on top until McGrath was taken off. Poor substitution really.
    On the penalty incident, on first look I thought it was one but apparently Finn was looking for a corner when the ref pointed to the spot. Shouldn’t have got into a position to let a poor ref have to make a decision.
    We should’ve won and would’ve been happy with a draw at then end. The result makes our game down in Cork fairly crucial.

Congratulations to Rovers anyway on a big win. Great for them to celebrate only being 24 points off the top.
    Yes its a big win for them and congratulations on a job well done.

698 Posts
    We were 44 points behind bohs in 2008 and only 4 in 2009. Things change. I'll settle for a decent 3 points tonight and hopefully finish in 3rd.
    I agree with you on McGrath going off, seemed mad maybe he was injured
    Last edited by sbgawa; 28/08/2018 at 10:37 PM.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Credit to Rovers - not many teams have emerged from Oriel Park with a league win over the last number of years

They started like an express train and even if they lost their way for big parts of the match, they hung in to be in a position to snatch the win at the end. The referee was truly awful throughout and I await the video footage on the penalty decision to confirm my doubts about it

You don't always get what you deserve in an individual game, but Dundalk remain favourites to lift the title. It's now about getting focused for the next one and lifting 3 points in Limerick on Friday night

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    Dundalk could lose to us and still win the league should both of us win all our other games, because of the superior goal difference. Still think we lost the league against pats. It's the hope that kills you.

We still have to go to bohs, rovers and derry, very tough places to come out with 3 points.
    Realistically, we have to win every game, can't see us doing that.

Bit of payback there for the game in Tallaght where we probably should have been 2-0 up at half time but went in at 1-1 and Dundalk ran away with it. You'll always have to defend at Oriel so a satisfying performance.

195 Posts
    The late pen a total Sucker punch after the foundations to win the bloody game had been well laid.
    for the Shams opener a lot of Dundalk players that should be wiser were caught total fast asleep.Ref a blind man.Apparently,Robrerta lopes can kick who he f'ing pleases and rob harvey will give him a slap on the arse and say oh darling, see you later.But the marking for the his goal

Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    The late pen a total Sucker punch after the foundations to win the bloody game had been well laid.
    for the Shams opener a lot of Dundalk players that should be wiser were caught total fast asleep.Ref a blind man.Apparently,Robrerta lopes can kick who he f'ing pleases and rob harvey will give him a slap on the arse and say oh darling, see you later.But the marking for the his goal
    That's actually what we sing during the games. "Robrertra Lopes, he/she kicks who he/she ****ing pleases!" In between that and whatever else people want to attribute to us.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    Rovers have significantly under-performed and some of the pitch invasion supporter celebrations in the recent past have been comical.

But to be fair the supporters who kept faith had every right to celebrate their win last night. There is little sweeter than a last minute winner, particularly when it is unexpected

186 Posts
    Ezekiel discovers magnanimity shocker!
    Nice one.

54 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ToberonaTornado View Post
    And apparently dundalk players can dive as much as they want and not get booked.

64 Posts
    Dundalk the worst divers I've ever seen during the Kenny era, but it's just using their 'experience'. O'Donnell and Shields, supposed hard men, among the worse. As usual a big difference in class after a defeat from Dundalk FC compared to Cork. The fact that they're seething makes it all the more sweet.

445 Posts
    It must be nice scoring late penalties
    Here on a technicality.

21. Thanks From:

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    Dundalk could lose to us and still win the league should both of us win all our other games, because of the superior goal difference. Still think we lost the league against pats. It's the hope that kills you.

We still have to go to bohs, rovers and derry, very tough places to come out with 3 points.
    Realistically, we have to win every game, can't see us doing that.
    Dundalk have two seriously hard away games to Cork and Waterford, margin of error is reduced now to one game then its GD.

I take the point Cork also have 3 tough away games to Derry, Bohs and Rovers though.

Dundalk definitely didn’t deserve to win last night, but that was some start by Rovers, they were at it right from the whistle, it’s a wonder really they have under- performed so much this season. We were only commenting last night watching, that was some MF they had, whilst ours was mostly not involved apart from Shields. I think Benson had his worst ever DFC performance.

Sickening way to lose it, but that’s football, at 1-1 there is always a risk of going behind and even more so when you haven’t played well for the full 90.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

171 Posts
    Great to see Pico bounce back after last week. Nice to see the lads show some cajones too after being pulled back.

698 Posts
    The Rovers midfield has been immeasurably improved by the addition of Watts.
    I would also say Manus has helped as they don't spend their time afraid to pass the ball back or lose possession, the confidence coming out from the back is so much stronger it is feeding into the whole team.

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    The Rovers midfield has been immeasurably improved by the addition of Watts.
    I would also say Manus has helped as they don't spend their time afraid to pass the ball back or lose possession, the confidence coming out from the back is so much stronger it is feeding into the whole team.
    Fair play, must have been a nice reward for those who made the journey up.
    Makes the league marginally more interesting, particularly third place.
    Must be frustrating for Bradley to witness that commitment and then see flat performances against Bohs and Drogs. I
    Does that Rovers win deprive Dundalk of breaking the all time unbeaten league record.?

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast