Page 43 of 68 FirstFirst ... 33414243444553 ... LastLast

Thread: 2018 Transfers

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    The narrative is fairly clear. He is on a wage that is less than championship clubs pay. He did not haggle with Caulfield, but accepted his first offer.

We still don't know, nor should we have any right to know, how much that actually is.
    Exactly. The narrative is that he's not here for the money. He could have gotten a better deal from dozens of other clubs. Obviously rival clubs will twist that in to 'A player coming from the PL will be on huge wages' but I'm willing to trust the man himself on this one.

We've also gotten rid of Michael Howard(not sure how much of his wages we paid) and Tobi Adebayo Rowling. Pierce Phillips and John Kavanagh likely to be off our wage bill soon. Might free up a few quid for someone else to come in.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CityBoy View Post
    Exactly. The narrative is that he's not here for the money. He could have gotten a better deal from dozens of other clubs. Obviously rival clubs will twist that in to 'A player coming from the PL will be on huge wages' but I'm willing to trust the man himself on this one.
    Rival clubs shouldn't really be commenting on Cork City's transfer business, wouldn't you think?

Maybe fans from other clubs will try to point score, but that hardly matters much. In any case, its not publicly known how much dosh he is getting, and anyway the real question is if he will deliver value for money.

Quote Originally Posted by CityBoy View Post
    We've also gotten rid of Michael Howard(not sure how much of his wages we paid) and Tobi Adebayo Rowling. Pierce Phillips and John Kavanagh likely to be off our wage bill soon. Might free up a few quid for someone else to come in.
    I presumed that Michael Howard was costing Cork litlle or nothing (nothing would be more appropriate based on his game time for Cork), while Kavanagh and Phillips are likely to be recent burdens on the wage bill if Waterford and Cobh respectively were paying for them in the early part of the season.

In any case I doubt that the circa €1.5m wage bill is causing any stress to Cork City's finances

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Rival clubs shouldn't really be commenting on Cork City's transfer business, wouldn't you think?
    But Where's the fun in that? Of course rival clubs shouldn't be discussing and speculating on each others transfers.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    But Where's the fun in that? Of course rival clubs shouldn't be discussing and speculating on each others transfers.
    At least it beats talking about referee's & crisp packets

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Whats the issue with the banners? I havent seen them but as long as it isnt a 'won it in talla' effort!!
    Its a Rovers crest on a pile of ashes with a Dundalk flag being planted through it. Sort of thing that's pretty childish but grand from fans but for a club and the manager to go out of their way to endorse it is pretty small time and embarrassing to be honest

185 Posts
    They view a club, who are struggling ( big time!) to make Europe as their main rival. The sad fact is that seems to be what's important to them, even with all their Yankee money and Rovers being relatively mediocre.
    Forever in our shadow, it would seem.

Quote Originally Posted by RathfarnhamHoop View Post
    Its a Rovers crest on a pile of ashes with a Dundalk flag being planted through it. Sort of thing that's pretty childish but grand from fans but for a club and the manager to go out of their way to endorse it is pretty small time and embarrassing to be honest
    And they talk about other clubs lacking class.

555 Posts
    How did they "go out of their way"? The Gardaí have tweeted about it, did they also "go out of their way"?

This is the sort of banner that kids design. It is not my cup of tea, to be honest. Some of the reaction is hysterically funny, particularly when langers jump on the bandwagon.

698 Posts
    It was on your own account as well. Your social media people let you down .

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    How did they "go out of their way"? The Gardaí have tweeted about it, did they also "go out of their way"?

This is the sort of banner that kids design. It is not my cup of tea, to be honest. Some of the reaction is hysterically funny, particularly when langers jump on the bandwagon.

To be fair this flag is more disrespectful to Shamrock Rovers than a player chanting **** the Lilywhites was to Dundalk, especially as it was actually put up on your website in a photo with your manager and a chunk of first teamers. Dundalk lost their **** at that chant but see little issue with this?
    It doesn't particular bother me though I'm sure I'd be more annoyed if it were a City crest.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts

I think its called "Being offended by proxy"

I'm just not sure there is redemption for any of us Lilywhites after being associated with this sordid mess.

At a minimum, an apology and bouquet of flowers should be sent to Jonathan Roche immediately. I bereft of ideas as to how we will appease the offended langers

698 Posts
    It's not a big deal tbh just makes you look small when you have so many positives at the moment. Your social media people S houild be told to represent the club better. It's your problem though not rovers or cork. If you want to defend it super

I really don't see the problem with Dundalk paying a small fee for a former player, would it be OK if a different club paid a fee for McElaney but not OK for Dundalk to?? I think dundalk would look foolish if they didn't pay on principle and somebody else did. Does it really matter what club paid a fee for the player??

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    That banner is an absolute disgrace. It disrespects everything about shamrock rovers football club and it's history. The great players that have represented them over the years and the record amount of trophies the club has won. Apologize now Dundalk.

698 Posts
    �� looking forward to tonight , I've brought my neck brace

171 Posts

They obviously invited the group in to get the photos taken, they got the players there, got the manager there, wrote a whole article, thats going to some effort not a tonne but not just taking a picture of it at the next match which would have been a lot less effort and done the same thing. Also look at Kenny standing to the side facing the flag smiling he knows exactly what he's at and if that was Rovers and Bradley I can't even begin to imagine how Ez would react.

2,446 Posts
    Not to put this thread off topic, but Finn Harps have signed Nathan Boyle following his release from Derry.

959 Posts
    For younger fans who saw Drogheda as our main rivals not so long ago this is progress!! But yeah I can see why it looks like a Dundalk 'obsession'. Its a good backhanded compliment as as hard as they try Cork are not our main rivals really

959 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    They view a club, who are struggling ( big time!) to make Europe as their main rival. The sad fact is that seems to be what's important to them, even with all their Yankee money and Rovers being relatively mediocre.
    Forever in our shadow, it would seem.
    To use a foreign example Manchester United and Liverpool are rivals yet one hasnt won the league for as long as Rovers havent won the cup + some. Rovers fans will see rivalry with Dundalk as damn all compared to Bohs but the most successful club of the last 40 years and possibly adding to a roll of honour, and the club that is outright the most successful club should have a healthy rivalry. The jonny come latelys from Cork are as fascinated with Dundalk as some Dundalk fans are with Rovers. As said above its a compliment for now though another 4 or 5 league wins over this period of domination and the rivalry with Dundalk may not be so benign.

399 Posts
    They obviously invited the group in to get the photos taken, they got the players there, got the manager there, wrote a whole article, thats going to some effort not a tonne but not just taking a picture of it at the next match which would have been a lot less effort and done the same thing. Also look at Kenny standing to the side facing the flag smiling he knows exactly what he's at and if that was Rovers and Bradley I can't even begin to imagine how Ez would react.
    Seemed to be a youth project thing and promoted by the guards, DFC have done numerous photo things like with players showing support for things like mental health and other worthy causes. This just seemed a bizzare photo call, I don't see the attraction having any other club mentioned bar your own on a flag display, the 3 league trophies yes, the other stuff with Hooperman and the DFC depiction as taking over from Rovers, I mean WTF ? With respect and all that, their last league title was a good few years back.

Silly stuff by the club and should not have been supported by players and mgt standing by.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Page 43 of 68 FirstFirst ... 33414243444553 ... LastLast