Page 30 of 37 FirstFirst ... 202829303132 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup 2017

399 Posts
    If and it has been suggested, that Sheppard agreed to sign for Dundalk some weeks ago, as a free agent Dundalk (Bosman rule / pre contract) would have been entitled to announce it, but probably out of respect for their opponents decided not to go official. However I`m not fully convinced anything has been agreed yet. Its not fully clear, but it is looking quite likely now.

What is clear is this, what McNulty said was pure embarrassing, (for the second year running) and a few of his team mates looked to be of the same opinion too.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

As a neutral, Dundalk ARE being a bit precious and Mark McNulty IS a classless cretin. Now... you're both right.

Don't recall Dundalk's management, players, or supporters being as vocal about 'respect' when their thugs fired lighters and a golf ball in at City fans penned into the away end of Oriel within minutes of winning the title in 2014. Radio silence on that one. But please, continue to whinge about the bad man singing a naughty song.

Respect for opponents? You must be joking. If this is Kennys version of respect for opponents, I'd hate to see disrespect.

The deal is done, and it was agreed not to mention it for obvious reasons. For the sake of the player most likely. It was leaked to the resident dundalk journo and then Kenny showed Shep exactly what he thought of him by making this comment at this point with a clear agenda. He could have easily said, no comment, and people would know the truth. He didn't. He wanted to stir the situation and made the call to do so. To try to claim its anything but pre cup final mind games is utter nonsense on your part.

What's clear, is that the only people that seem to find Nults embarrassing is Dundalk fans. Ye keep mentioning how embarrassing it is, and yet no one down here, or in the rest of the country, is finding it embarrassing. No one else is bothered in the slightest. Feel free to continue feeling embarrassed on his and our behalfs though.

Given Kenny has resorted to unfounded accusations against Mark now too, ye might want to save that embarrassment for the actions of some of ye're own.

1,553 Posts
    We have had some awful discussions on here but this McNulty thing is absolutely fecking dreadful. McNulty had a wee go. Who cares? Only the incredibly easily offended, or people trying to use it play some mind games or something like that. Do you expect players to like their fierce rivals? Come off it FFS.

No one is coming out of this well, but bloody hell.. is there LSD in the water supply in Dundalk or what?

Quote Originally Posted by Crosshead View Post
    Don't recall Dundalk's management, players, or supporters being as vocal about 'respect' when their thugs fired lighters and a golf ball in at City fans penned into the away end of Oriel within minutes of winning the title in 2014. Radio silence on that one. But please, continue to whinge about the bad man singing a naughty song.
    Imagine people being so bothered about they're rivals when they won the league? As if that night wasn't depressing enough, we had to put up with that. But Nults has apparently insulted their entire club, and everyone who's ever played for them with his song....

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    We have had some awful discussions on here but this McNulty thing is absolutely fecking dreadful. McNulty had a wee go. Who cares? Only the incredibly easily offended, or people trying to use it play some mind games or something like that. Do you expect players to like their fierce rivals? Come off it FFS.

No one is coming out of this well, but bloody hell.. is there LSD in the water supply in Dundalk or what?
    I won't lie, I'm finding it all great craic. You can't beat all this nonsense in the lead up to a cup final. Literally everything being blown out of proportion. Vemmulunds interview has made my week so far. It's all pretty hilarious. (I am easily amused though)

123 Posts
    This is great, in their rush to point out the hysteria in Dundalk, Cork have become quite hysterical!!

And why is it that anytime there is a bit of back and forth rivalry on this forum ahead of a big game people try to shut it down? Ok it's not exactly high quality intellectual debating but it's a bit of craic, it's building an atmosphere for Sunday. Is that not the whole point of a forum?

555 Posts
    Nothing like a controversy to help sell tickets and get press coverage.

In addition, there will be a lot of attention on the performances of McNulty and Sheppard on cup final day. That was probably the main reason for Kenny's comments.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Nothing like a controversy to help sell tickets and get press coverage.

In addition, there will be a lot of attention on the performances of McNulty and Sheppard on cup final day. That was probably the main reason for Kenny's comments.
    Of course it was. He knows what he's doing. Vemmulund too on the other side, if he starts. Do you think he's likely to play?

Game goes to penalties, Nults saves one and Shep steps up to try to win it......

Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    This is great, in their rush to point out the hysteria in Dundalk, Cork have become quite hysterical!!

And why is it that anytime there is a bit of back and forth rivalry on this forum ahead of a big game people try to shut it down? Ok it's not exactly high quality intellectual debating but it's a bit of craic, it's building an atmosphere for Sunday. Is that not the whole point of a forum?
    Says the man using 2 exclamation marks...

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Says the man using 2 exclamation marks...
    Touché, you lot are still more hysterical then we are though!

89 Posts
    Of course it was. He knows what he's doing. Vemmulund too on the other side, if he starts. Do you think he's likely to play?

Game goes to penalties, Nults saves one and Shep steps up to try to win it......
    Word around town is that Kenny is furious with him and he might not even be in the squad!

555 Posts

The Vemmelund thing is nothing. Everyone knew he wants to go back to Denmark. He will only play, if Massey is not fit enough to start.

1,553 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    I'm not trying to shut it down. I'm telling you you need to be better at it. You're the top two clubs in the country and the poor standard of the back and forth reflects badly on all of us.

777 Posts
    Can I request a poll?

Who is more hysterical?

A: oriel
    B : mcgonigle

21. Thanks From:

61 Posts
    BREAKING NEWS: Fans of rival clubs have differing opinions on the actions of both clubs in lead up to cup final.

Get a grip lads, I think McNulty is a p***k all told, but if it was O'Donnell or Shields doing the same to Cork I would absolutely love it. Can we not talk about the actual football that's going to be played? Cork have had our number now in the last few meetings after not being able to beat us for a few years. I thought we would put that record to bed in our last meeting given Cork's poor form at the time but credit to them they came out of the blocks and bullied us and we were lucky to spoil the night for them in the end. I do think Dundalk tend to perform better on the bigger pitches (Aviva/Tallaght), but the space tends to also help Cork's more direct play also, I think Cork might struggle up front without Maguire's intelligent use of that space though, haven't seen Sadlier on the big stage so not sure how he'll do on the day (Hopefully quiet enough!). It's gonna be another tough 90 minutes (120 minutes based on recent history) but I think (hope) Dundalk have the quality and drive to win the midfield battle which is the key to winning the final!
    Mon the Town!

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    I'm not trying to shut it down. I'm telling you you need to be better at it. You're the top two clubs in the country and the poor standard of the back and forth reflects badly on all of us.
    Fair point, can I suggest permitting insults and bad language?

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    The Vemmelund thing is nothing. Everyone knew he wants to go back to Denmark. He will only play, if Massey is not fit enough to start.
    I get trying to play it down, but saying it's nothing is nonsense. He specifically said he promised Kenny he'd say nothing but goes on to do so because 'he's waited long enough' . That had to annoy Kenny, it's certainly not bothering. The fact that people know he wants to go back to Denmark is irrelevant. We know Shep is off to Dundalk, but if he promised Caulfield not to talk about it before the final, and then gave an interview like this, I'd expect him to be dropped.

Quote Originally Posted by ArFella View Post
    BREAKING NEWS: Fans of rival clubs have differing opinions on the actions of both clubs in lead up to cup final.

Get a grip lads, I think McNulty is a p***k all told, but if it was O'Donnell or Shields doing the same to Cork I would absolutely love it. Can we not talk about the actual football that's going to be played? Cork have had our number now in the last few meetings after not being able to beat us for a few years. I thought we would put that record to bed in our last meeting given Cork's poor form at the time but credit to them they came out of the blocks and bullied us and we were lucky to spoil the night for them in the end. I do think Dundalk tend to perform better on the bigger pitches (Aviva/Tallaght), but the space tends to also help Cork's more direct play also, I think Cork might struggle up front without Maguire's intelligent use of that space though, haven't seen Sadlier on the big stage so not sure how he'll do on the day (Hopefully quiet enough!). It's gonna be another tough 90 minutes (120 minutes based on recent history) but I think (hope) Dundalk have the quality and drive to win the midfield battle which is the key to winning the final!
    Let's be honest, the games themselves haven't exactly been riveting between the two of us... The other stuff is more interesting.

The big call for us will be whether Sadlier starts. He's our most dangerous player by a long way, but he didn't start the last time and we played very well. Big decision.

Page 30 of 37 FirstFirst ... 202829303132 ... LastLast