Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Moldova - Friday 6th October 2017 - World Cup 2018 Qualifier

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    So if we beat Moldova and Wales draw away to Georgia tomorrow, is there any chance that a draw against Wales would be enough to get us into the play-off?
    It's theoretically possible. Very, very unlikely though.

Explained here in better detail:

Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Just going back to group H, I'm realising that the following is quite possible (and I see zero has mentioned it as I've been composing this post): Belgium beat B&H and B&H beat Estonia whilst Greece draw with Cyprus (that game is in Cyprus, importantly) and then Greece beat Gibraltar. That'd leave both B&H and Greece on 17 points in that group and whoever had the superior goal difference between them would finish second. In the runners-up table, that'd convert to a tally of 11 points, which'd be grand for us if we're to manage 13 points.

Just trying to work out if there's any chance that 11 points for us could ever be enough to keep us out of the worst runner-up spot in the runners-up table; seems it might be possible actually... Further to the scenario outlined immediately above, if we won against Moldova, whilst Wales lost to or drew with Georgia, and we then drew in Wales, that'd secure second position for us in group D with 17 points (as Wales would finish on either 15 or 16 points). That would, of course, translate into 11 points in the runners-up table. Our runners-up table goal difference total would not improve with those results, however, and would remain at +1, due to the fact we'd have drawn with Wales and our goals against Moldova would be discarded, so that could prove detrimental if we were ranked against another runner-up on 11 points.

It wouldn't necessarily be fatal though; B&H's current goal difference in the runners-up table is +2. In their group, it's actually +11 (compared to Greece's +6), but +9 of B&H's goals were scored against sixth-placed Gibraltar, so are discarded. If B&H were to lose by a few goals to Belgium and then beat Estonia by the slimmest of margins (and finish second in group H, meaning Greece would have to get no more than 4 points in their final two games and also fail to score enough goals to better B&H's group-table goal difference total), it might actually take B&H's goal difference total below +1 in the runners-up table. As one of Greece's games is at home to Gibraltar though, Greece could score highly in this, so there'd be an obvious worry these potential goals could take them ahead of B&H into second in group H if the two sides were to finish equal on points under the aforementioned circumstances.

I think, for B&H, a 3-0 loss to Belgium and a 1-0 win against Estonia would do the trick for us in bringing B&H's runners-up table goal difference to 0. It'd be unlikely to be of use to us at +1 as they've already scored more goals than us (which is the next differentiator in the runners-up table), unless our draw against Wales in this scenario is a very high-scoring one. If Greece drew against Cyprus and also failed to score over 3 goals against Gibraltar in Athens, I'm pretty sure Greece would finish behind B&H on goal difference (with both teams on 17 points) in their group. Or if Greece lost to Cyprus, that'd make it impossible for them to overtake B&H.

If Greece, on the other hand, were to finish second in group H on 17 points (giving them 11 in the runners-up table), it's highly likely the eventual Greek goal difference total (which would already be +3 if they were ranked in the table of second-placed teams), would also be superior to ours (+1) if both of us were to be ranked on 11 points.

Likewise, if a group E team was to finish with 11 points in the runners-up table and we also had 11 points, I think it's highly likely their goal difference would still be superior, especially if it's Denmark, as, although both Montenegro and Denmark have the same goal difference (+11) in their group right now, Denmark would have more goals than Montenegro in the runners-up table as Denmark scored more of their goals against teams other than Kazakhstan and both teams' goals against Kazakhstan would obviously be discarded; Montenegro would lose +8 goals whilst Denmark would lose only +5 goals due to the discarding of Kazakhstan results.

If Montenegro were, however, to somehow finish second, say, after losing to Poland in Warsaw by 3 goals or more after having drawn with Denmark in Podgorica, which would prevent Denmark from passing them (it would also require Denmark losing to Romania in Copenhagen by as many goals as the margin by which Montenegro lost to Poland), I'm pretty certain 11 points and our goal difference of +1 would be enough for us in the runners-up table in order to take us to the play-offs. That possible outcome would be extremely unlikely though, surely.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    I said "may be irrelevant" because if Wales win and we lose....
    Just realising that the Georgia-Wales game kicks off at 5PM tomorrow so we'll already know their result before our game starts at 7:45PM. No point risking players or expending unnecessary energy if Wales have already failed to beat Georgia. Do UEFA require team-sheets to be submitted an hour before kick-off though?

2,446 Posts
    Just realising that the Georgia-Wales game kicks off at 5PM tomorrow so we'll already know their result before our game starts at 7:45PM. No point risking players or expending unnecessary energy if Wales have already failed to beat Georgia. Do UEFA require team-sheets to be submitted an hour before kick-off though?
    Hour and 45 minutes for League of Ireland games anyway so I assume that's some sort of UEFA directive.

626 Posts
    Here's a thought - in three full seasons together at Ipswich, Daryl Murphy and David McGoldrick scored 75 league goals between them and probably would have had a few more if McGoldrick hadn't picked up a couple of injuries. So they obviously have a decent understanding and they're both in good form, with six goals each this season. So why not start the two of them up front against Moldova and give their defenders two out-and-out forwards to worry about? You can always bring on Long in the second half and use his pace against a tiring Moldovan backline, like we did against Germany.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    -----------Randolph
    Christie-Duffy-Clark-Ward
    McGeady-Whelan-Arter-Hendrick
    Long-Murphy

Assuming we play 4-4-2 with Long up top with Murphy, it seems like McGeady is our only natural wide player available. O'Dowda perhaps?

If we win, I'd love to see this lineup against Wales:

---------------Randolph------------
    Christie----Clark----Duffy----Ward
    -----------Hendrick----Whelan--------
    McClean-----------------------Brady
    -------------Hoolahan---------------
    --------------Long-------------------

2,284 Posts
    So far, James McCarthy, Daryl Horgan, David McGoldrick, Jonny Hayes and Aiden O’Brien have all been cut from the squad for tonight.

Quote Originally Posted by Simon O'Keeffe
    McCarthy was always a major doubt for these two matches. The midfielder is yet to play a single minute of competitive action for Everton this season (or, indeed, any action since pulling out in the warm-up of Ireland’s clash with Wales back in March) and his club are said to be bemused that he was even called up to the national squad in the first place.

McGoldrick was also a doubt despite being included in the final 30-man squad last weekend, with the Ipswich forward said to be struggling with a hamstring injury. It remains to be seen if he will recover in time for Cardiff on Monday.
    The omission of the other three appears to be tactical. Two further players will miss out from the 23-man match-say squad although their identity hasn't been revealed yet.

It always disappoints me to see Horgan omitted, given how explosive he is. He could do serious damage to tiring teams.

515 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    -----------Randolph
    Christie-Duffy-Clark-Ward
    McGeady-Whelan-Arter-Hendrick
    Long-Murphy

Assuming we play 4-4-2 with Long up top with Murphy, it seems like McGeady is our only natural wide player available. O'Dowda perhaps?

If we win, I'd love to see this lineup against Wales:

---------------Randolph------------
    Christie----Clark----Duffy----Ward
    -----------Hendrick----Whelan--------
    McClean-----------------------Brady
    -------------Hoolahan---------------
    --------------Long-------------------
    swap Whelan for Meyler and we have a deal

3,501 Posts
    So far, James McCarthy, Daryl Horgan, David McGoldrick, Jonny Hayes and Aiden O’Brien have all been cut from the squad for tonight.

The omission of the other three appears to be tactical. Two further players will miss out from the 23-man match-say squad although their identity hasn't been revealed yet.

It always disappoints me to see Horgan omitted, given how explosive he is. He could do serious damage to tiring teams.
    McCarthy's fitness meant he was unlikely to play.
    You can justify Horgan being dropped because he's only been a sub in recent weeks, and hasn't started a game since early August. Same with Hayes, he hasn't really made an impact at Celtic yet.
    Can't understand McGoldrick being dropped, he's in decent form (three goals in his last four) and has played well for O'Neill.
    Disappointed to see O'Brien dropped too, he's worked hard to get into the team and thought he'd do ok against Moldova.
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 06/10/2017 at 12:34 PM.

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    McCarthy's fitness meant he was unlikely to play.
    You can justify Horgan being dropped because he's only been a sub in recent weeks, and hasn't started a game since early August. Same with Hayes, he hasn't really made an impact at Celtic yet.
    Can't understand McGoldrick being dropped, he's in decent form (three goals in his last four) and has played well for O'Neill.
    Disappointed to see O'Brien dropped too, he's worked hard to get into the team and thought he'd do ok against Moldova.
    The other two to be dropped are McClean and Brady as both cant play tonight any how ... hence your 23!

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    You can justify Horgan being dropped because he's only been a sub in recent weeks, and hasn't started a game since early August.
    True, although, with McClean out, I thought there might have been an opening there. He's just a player I'd personally like to see given more time, but his omission isn't an outrage or anything.

McGoldrick has a hamstring problem, according to the article.

3,501 Posts
    McGoldrick has a hamstring problem, according to the article.
    Ah, I didn't read it. Just assumed PunditArena embedded Nathan Murphy's tweet and repeated the names

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I have mulled over this fixture and I think it one we must win.

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    I have mulled over this fixture and I think it one we must win.
    I concur

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by koneinc View Post
    I concur

Mulled over = Moldova!!

Ohhhh Georgia nearly scored!!

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Mulled over = Moldova!!

Ba-doom-thish

2,284 Posts
    Starting line-up:

I think O'Neill should have rested Hoolahan for this one, in order to save him for Monday. We could always have brought him on in the second half if a goal was needed.

19. Thanks From:

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    How will we line up? 4-2-3-1 with Murphy up front by himself and O'Dowda and Long flanking Hoolahan?

2,284 Posts
    Just seeing that Christie is on a yellow-card, meaning he'll be suspended for Cardiff if he gets a booking tonight. Makes the omission of Matt Doherty even more inexplicable.

38 Posts
    any streams for outside Ireland lads?

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Praha View Post
    any streams for outside Ireland lads?