Doyle's tweet was classy tonight.
Respect him even more.fair play to him.
I think we're taking around 4 players if not more who are out of form or offering nothing from a squad perspective.
I can easily see Arter (crocked I know), O'Kane, O'Dowda and Pilkington figuring in September.
Happy with the defensive options. Much as he frustrates me we need McCarthy to be fully fit. Alan Byrne seems to know his stuff so I assume he'll be fit. Meyler can on,y be justified if we're defending a lead.
Brady, Long, Coleman, Wes, McClean and Walters are going to be key players. There are about 4 or 5 passengers lucky to be making the trip.
In fairness, the point about picking fringe players all together is valid. Maybe McGeady, for example, would play better in our first XI.
Oh, and both goals would have been prevented by Whelan![]()
Doyle's tweet was classy tonight.
Respect him even more.fair play to him.
I'm very happy with that. If it was me and I had a clean slate I would maybe have brought Jack Byrne in earlier and taken him in place of Quincy but otherwise I would have made exactly the same decisions.
I'd like to think that now Westwood is there, he'll get the shout, but do you reckon O'Neill would make such a call and simply drop Randolph?
I agree, I'd rather see Doyle in ahead of Murphy. Murphy was terrible tonight and hasn't done much in an Ireland shirt.
O'Dowda looked fresh and energetic whilst McGeady's career has nose-dived - poor again tonight - but would have been a major surprise to see O'Dowda make it.
Wouldn't have minded Gibson ahead of Meyler for something a bit different.
Man, seeing Forde left out and Given selected...I just can't get on-board with that. McGeady my only other major concern, though if Keane is even slightly crocked I question what purpose he'll serve, whether we're defending a lead or chasing a game.
Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).
Squad numbers are interesting....
Keogh feeling the pressure after Clark's MOTM performance and emergence of Duffy.
http://www.the42.ie/richard-keogh-ir...99052-May2016/
“Personally I’ve had a very good season, I was lucky enough to win Player of the Year at Derby, and I’ve got to make sure I take that form when I’m playing for my country.”
Depending on how things go in France, Forde could find himself back in the fold before too long.
Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).
Love his style. Bad season for him, can't have too many complaints but still would have taken him over Given. Keep the chin up big lad.
Edit: O'Neill made mention of Forde as the toughest decision as per the Irish Times.
Last edited by SwanVsDalton; 31/05/2016 at 11:31 PM.
Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?
Lads, Forde is a very average keeper. In any event sitting on a bench in League 1 gives you absolutely no right to be going to the Euros as anything other than a fan. I do not feel one little bit sentimental. Given is another one past it... If only Elliot was fit. The likes of McGeady can count his lucky stars we have very few wingers. Pilkington would have offered far more or even take a chance on O'Dowda who is young and has no fear. As for Murphy he offers zilch - 20 games and no goals. McGoldrick or even Doyle are better and it is a pity we did not tryout Scott Hogan beforehand. The only one I feel sorry for is Harry Arter.
Last edited by TrapAPony; 31/05/2016 at 11:43 PM.
"We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo
No, I think Westwood being one of the three is as far as MON will bend on this.
I'd agree re Murphy / Doyle, he doesn't have the level in him and it's being exposed badly. Sammon offered more IMO, and that's saying something.
McGeady needs to reward MON for this, he is owed. Lets hope it arrives in the form of a spectacular memory for us all. But I have doubts it will.
Well Gibson didn't go and get game time in Jan, like MON suggested he & McGeady needed to. McGeady did, in a fashion. At least he tried to.
Surely would have been Arter over Quinn ?
For me, Marc Wilson despite being pretty out of form before his injury, is a big loss going into a major tournament. His versatility and experience will certainly be missed.
Ah here. This is beginning to just reflect badly on people now. If he isn't going to be fit, he isn't going to be fit. Get a full pre-season in and come back for the WC Qualifiers. His fitness isn't the be all and end all to our hopes.But O'Neill has offered a glimmer of hope, particularly Arter who was forced to withdraw from the squad against Belarus because of a thigh injury.
“There is always going to be disappointment the minute you have more than 23 players, obviously. The players accepted that at the time.
“We made a decision based on a number of things, there is no point in me going into detail tonight but that is the squad I have.
“Harry’s definitely one. He has picked up this injury which is going to take a little time and I had to make an assessment on that, James McCarthy, obviously Robbie Keane. There is a stage where you have to say ‘well listen here, I want to make sure some players are going to be fit’.
“I think Harry is very much in my thoughts at this minute and who knows, if players don’t come through there is a possibility of things happening at the other end.”
Keane doubtful for Sweden game. Which is probably the only game I would fancy him to have any kind of impact in.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-34763165.html
I really thought Gibson would get in. Tonight was the first game Meyler has started since April 19th. Meyler has never started a competitive game for Ireland in midfield. And then when you compare both player's performances tonight, there was only one who was at least giving it a go even if it didn't really come off. Bad luck Gibson. No minutes at the last euros and now not in this one at all. And no club too.
P.S. I hate to be negative on a player (Meyler) and I know Gibson hasn't exactly pushed for inclusion but even so, I'm having trouble seeing this particular decision.
Last edited by Irwin3; 01/06/2016 at 2:00 AM.
Why didn't MON just name Arter in the 23 and if not fit on time to then call up Quinn/Meyler instead of the other way around.
"We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo
Agreed. In a direct comparison, I thought Gibson showed more on the night. I know some of his long balls didn't find the man but the pitch was tight and at least he tried them. Meyler's passing was very, very simple. Walked out the gate thinking Gibson had won that battle.
Very surprised by Murphy getting the nod. He did a job against Scotland at home. Last night he was just poor. With Hendrick playing off Murphy, we were completely unable to keep the ball up high. Different story when Long and Hoolahan came on. Hendrick improves when they're about, which worries me slightly about him going forward but there are no doubts about his selection.
And I agree- Sammon offered more. As did Caleb Folan, being brutally honest.