Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Best Ground /fans experience

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    The Killinarden Inn is a lovely spot. Very close, 5 minute walk.
    5 MINUTES. That's a marathon when you're half-cut and running to the ground to get the start of a match.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    The Killinarden Inn is a lovely spot. Very close, 5 minute walk.
    Nice spot, but it's about 15 minutes walk.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Nice spot, but it's about 15 minutes walk.
    Only 5 minutes when you're being chased by umbrella-wielding hooligans.

Quote Originally Posted by ForzaHoop View Post
    I've been to every ground in the country ecxept Oriel park, i have seen Rovers supporters attacked in Cork, Drog, Boh's, Sligo, St Pats and Derry, nothing major most of the time it's handbag stuff really and its mainly the lads who call themselves casuals or kids
    I am really lost with the sterile atmosphere in Tallaght you all describe, i think the supporters stand has an unreal atmosphere, loud and great colour from Ultra section.
    I wonder have you ever been to Cork and see Rovers followers attack City fan's. I have, plenty of times and they are not the casuals or Kids you mention above. I have seen men in their 30's and 40's at it. On one occasion they even attacked and beat up 4 special needs lads 15/16 years old. It was in the papers down here as well. I know we all have these scum within our clubs, but some more so than others, including CCFC infortunatly.

Not in anyway sticking up for any of the Muppets who cause ****e at any game but i have seen it from both sides.

Most grounds are soulless when there is a small crowd to be fair
    All in all its great to see that stadiums are getting done as it's necessary if the league is to survive and go forward. I know loads of lads who go to Rovers games now with there kids who never went before Tallaght
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

2,446 Posts
    Great experience again in UCD on Friday night. The only complaint would really be the lack of ticket sellers and turnstile operators as a lot of people were left queuing for quite a while outside the ground, with over 100 people missing kick-off.

Obviously, the same as every other club that the lack of volunteers would have made it difficult to get more people to do it, but for a big game, you'd have hoped for better organisation.

Inside the ground though, all was excellent. Atmosphere was great and the stewards were more than helpful throughout the game and had a bit of craic with them at half time too when we eventually got some of the flags put up.

Would love to see the roof finished there and extended across the rest of the stand, would help atmosphere immensely too.

Harps fans at the full time whistle. The whole right hand side of the stand was Harps fans bar a handful of scattered UCD fans, all the way from the middle yellow steps across.

I'm surprised Dundalk fans are not on here about the wonderful experience they had down in the Cross last Friday night. Best ground in the league right now. We even gave them seats and a roof.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by strikeforce View Post
    I'm surprised Dundalk fans are not on here about the wonderful experience they had down in the Cross last Friday night. Best ground in the league right now. We even gave them seats and a roof.
    Probably in shock at not getting three points. Turners Cross is normally the most generous of away trips.

123 Posts
    You're in fine form recently should be an interesting run up to the cup final.

It certainly is an excellent ground, fair play to the MSL! Trophy cabinet is a bit bare though...

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    It certainly is an excellent ground, fair play to the MSL! Trophy cabinet is a bit bare though...
    Having the ground in trust as it currently is, is the best situation any LOI club can hope for.

We pay a handsome sum each season to rent the ground and those funds go back into the ground. If we owned it then we either would have sold it as Bohs/Shels did over the past 30 years when we were in financial difficulty, or we would have left it to ruin, or made minimal investment in it in a similar fashion to Dundalk (and yes I'm aware that money has been spent in recent years.)

Our playing budget is reduced because we have to cover the rent each season but its worth it in the long term. The only LOI club who have really focused on facilities during their successful period has been Sligo. They have really redeveloped the Showgrounds massively over the past 5 or 6 years. If they had focused on extending their competitive period and ignored the Showgrounds then I'm sure they would have a few more trophies.

Hopefully Dundalk will get their lease situation sorted in the near future and can invest in modernizing their ground. There is a lot of work to be done there but with the increased European money I'm sure they can make a good start on it.

Turners Cross meanwhile has few flaws, hopefully some of which will be addressed this off season and away fans will have an even more enjoyable experience at the Box in the coming years.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    Turners Cross meanwhile has few flaws, hopefully some of which will be addressed this off season and away fans will have an even more enjoyable experience at the Box in the coming years.
    The only significant flaw is the state of the toilets for away fans. However, I understand this is being remedied by new ones being built.

The model in Cork appears to be the best one. Keeping ownership separate to the club and ensuring that significant rent is being paid. Without rent, all the budget would go towards the team and improvements would not be made on an ongoing basis.

123 Posts
    Yes thank you I do know all that as it's been posted numerous times before! It's a great situation for Cork and one which we would love to have in Dundalk but do not and will not so we've got to do it ourselves. I'm just hitting back at the likes of strikeforce who like to pontificate to other clubs about how great the ground is as if Cork have done it all themselves! Just like Rovers and soon to be Bohs and Derry while you do pay rent you are in a very fortunate position and some of your fans would do well to remember that!

We know Oriel is crap, we don't like it anymore than away fans but the money isn't there to do what we want. I know it doesn't look it but thousands are spent on the ground every season, a bit like rent!

555 Posts
    I haven't forgiven Cork football for letting Flower Lodge fall into enemy hands. However good they make Turners Cross, it is not the home of football in Cork.

Some folk just don't like the truth. They can throw ****e at the likes of rover's and ourselves but don't like it when it's tossed back over the fence.

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    ... how great the ground is as if Cork have done it all themselves!
    No one has said we did. You however implied that the MFA have done it all on their own, and thats simply not the case. It has been built off the back of Cork City FC through direct financing (via rent) and grants that the MFA wouldn't have sniffed if we weren't involved.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    No one has said we did. You however implied that the MFA have done it all on their own, and thats simply not the case. It has been built off the back of Cork City FC through direct financing (via rent) and grants that the MFA wouldn't have sniffed if we weren't involved.
    Again I know all this and as mentioned my post was a dig at your resident troll strikeforce, who has since come back with another thought filled, well balanced post!

1,550 Posts
    This was a decent thread.. let's knock the CCFC DFC stuff on the head please.

This brewing Cork-Dundalk rivalry is my favourite since the Sligo-Finn Harps one.

[QUOTE=mcgonigle;1845168]You're in fine form recently should be an interesting run up to the cup final.

It certainly is an excellent ground, fair play to the MSL! Trophy cabinet is a bit bare though...[/QUOTE
    Not all about winning kid.... Look what we've won since 1984, its not great but we still have a hard core fan base of 2,200. This league is so precarious that one year your champions and the next your struggling. We should never forget that. ALL OF US.

555 Posts
    Look what we've won since 1984...
    1984? The current Cork franchise is only four or five years old.

Cork have had more clubs than Tiger Woods.

26. Thanks From:

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast