Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Best Ground /fans experience

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    I've always liked the Richmond experience, moreso when McDowell's was open but if you get there early enough Tavey's is grand. The ground itself obviously is old but lt has a bit character to it and the low roof on the stand makes for a good atmosphere when you have a decent away following. I like Galway as well, very professionally run match night as well. Have never been a big fan of the Brandywell on the other hand.
    Richmond is always my favourite away day experience.

You get the feeling of playing in a traditional football ground. For away fans, there is the option of a nice covered terrace, that helps create a great atmosphere, and a section in the stand for those who prefer to sit and have a good view.

Add in the good toilet facilities and the lack of a nasty atmosphere outside the ground.

All in all, the best in the league.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Third stand been given the go-ahead to start construction during the off-season. They've already done some of the preparatory work on the outside.
    CD is it going to be at the Kiltipper end, or the Square end?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Great review Outspoken although I'm worried about how much food you eat at League of Ireland grounds.
    Haha cheers, the belly has come on a sight this season

Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    Pity that Strokestown road is out so far from town, decent ground but having only one stand with a roof doesn't help it. Also they hadn't an away section for us last week which I didn't think was allowed anymore. The Showgrounds is very open too maybe if the Railway got a roof it would help. Turners Cross and Terryland are two of the recently developed grounds that seem to have got it right. Bray is a kip.

We didnt play ye last week. That was Sligo!

1,025 Posts
    Cork for atmosphere. Shame about their toilets for away fans.

Inchicore was nice as we were in the stand, not the terrace. decent toilets, Food available.

Tallaght is nice but a bit too open, and the noise dissipates so easily. The players could hardly hear us abusing them.

I hadn't been to Galway for at least a decade, and that new stand is lovely.

away section in Dundalk is fairly ugly...same broken glass was on the ground a year later.

But really, I don't give a sh!t about the ground or the experience, except maybe for having a roof over my head if it is raining. If we were winning that wouldn't matter either.
    Last edited by osarusan; 16/10/2015 at 1:49 PM.

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    I really don't understand the praise that Turners Cross gets. The away section I sit in is falling apart and the toilet facilities are as bad as anywhere else in the league.

People must be going to a different ground than I am.
    New toilet facilities under construction - but Dundalk fans giving out about away facilities is more than a tad ironic surely.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    New toilet facilities under construction - but Dundalk fans giving out about away facilities is more than a tad ironic surely.
    Why? I give out about the facilities in Oriel Park too.

Square End of the ground. It'll be interesting to see if it fills in the corners,or if they'll be left open.

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Why? I give out about the facilities in Oriel Park too.
    Well then you are just grumpy so

105 Posts
    We didnt play ye last week. That was Sligo!
    Never mind the avatar!

Quote Originally Posted by LOI_Fanatic View Post
    Square End of the ground. It'll be interesting to see if it fills in the corners,or if they'll be left open.
    The two existing ends were designed to lope around and connect with any additional stands, so the corners will be filled.

2,446 Posts
    So, Tallaght is going to become a mini Croke Park really.

433 Posts
    Tallaght is a decent stadium.Cold stone dead when a loi match is on but a decent stadium none the less.For a stadium that is hardly ever packed on any occasion i dont why SDCC want to put an extra 2 wings on it? Planning for the future,when shams take the world over
    I put 2 bedrooms on my 6 bedroom bachelor villa recently You have to live in hope
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Tallaght is a decent stadium.Cold stone dead when a loi match is on but a decent stadium none the less.For a stadium that is hardly ever packed on any occasion i dont why SDCC want to put an extra 2 wings on it? Planning for the future,when shams take the world over
    I put 2 bedrooms on my 6 bedroom bachelor villa recently You have to live in hope
    God forbid anyone showing a bit of ambition..

Besides anything else, Shamrock Rovers aren't the only ones who get use out of the stadium. Development opens up the opportunity to host concerts and other such events.

Plus, if it was completed, there'd be no need for temporary stands in Tallaght once Dundalk qualify for Europa League or Champions League next season and inevitably have to head to Dublin to host their home games.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    God forbid anyone showing a bit of ambition..

Besides anything else, Shamrock Rovers aren't the only ones who get use out of the stadium. Development opens up the opportunity to host concerts and other such events.

Plus, if it was completed, there'd be no need for temporary stands in Tallaght once Dundalk qualify for Europa League or Champions League next season and inevitably have to head to Dublin to host their home games.
    Oh wait,what other side are getting a council granted stadium?
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    So, Tallaght is going to become a mini Croke Park really.
    Yes. But with just a diet of association football

Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    always sit in the stand in oriel for the most part a decent view apart from the away end goal is obscured by glass.
    Hey Dundalk, Physics called, they said your glass isn't working......
    innit though??

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
    Oh wait,what other side are getting a council granted stadium?
    Drogheda?

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    I've always liked the Richmond experience, moreso when McDowell's was open
    Anyone know what the future is for McDowells?
    It was always the thing that made Richmond my fave ground.
    http://trophymanager.com/?c=489688
    Trophy Manager - online football managment game - I like it - I think I'm getting obsessed with it though.

958 Posts
    I was going to say that Rovers were looking to expand the stadium so as to cope with ticket demands from Dundalk in future. Then after reading a few posts realised that SDCC's will likely be the home venue for Dundalk next July on indefinitely for nights in Europe. At least rental money will go back to public coffers.

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast