Page 24 of 36 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare District League 2014/15

Quote Originally Posted by Shuffleruns View Post
    thought he was a centre back..? Must of changed....
    Shows what you know..
    FYI a lad can play more than 1 position.. He can play both centre back and right back and IMO he is the best right back in clare..but not the best centre back..

Second he plays all his games at centre half bar the few times he has played right back for Clare. The are two very different positions and demand different things.

Quote Originally Posted by footballfriend View Post
    Second he plays all his games at centre half bar the few times he has played right back for Clare. The are two very different positions and demand different things.
    No disrespect but what's the point to your post..as said above he can play both positions and IMO he's a great centre back.but an exceptional right back..

My point if he has played 4/5 times at right back, its a big statement to say he is exceptional at right back. Considering he plays 95% of his games at centre half. But no doubt he is one of the top 4 backs in the county. Just think he should be playing in his 'normal' position.

Was he playing right back or centre back for OT last year?

Quote Originally Posted by Second View Post
    Shows what you know..
    FYI a lad can play more than 1 position.. He can play both centre back and right back and IMO he is the best right back in clare..but not the best centre back..
    Ha. I played with the lad plenty and every game he was at centre half. Sure good players can play anywhere!

Darren is a very good centre half, a decent right back I'd imagine though I can't remember seeing him playing there but I think he has ended up in the centre half role to make up for the lacking infront of him through the years at club level.
    If the Bridge could find another centre half I think he would make an excellent central midfielder.
    Last edited by First; 28/11/2014 at 7:55 AM.
    I'll update this next year.

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    Darren is a very good centre half, a decent right back I'd imagine though I can't remember seeing him playing there but I think he has ended up in the centre half role to make up for the lacking infront of him through the years at club level.
    If the Bridge could find another centre half I think he would make an excellent central midfielder.
    Good point but I'd worry about him in the centre as he isn't vocal enough. . Very quiet lad.. but no doubt has the ability to play there ..

He should play upfront or behind the centre backs he's that good!

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by Shuffleruns View Post
    He should play upfront or behind the centre backs he's that good!
    It's a disgrace the lad isn't shortlisted for the FIFA Ballon d'Or.

avenue to beat newmarket? no chance.
    a draw if they are lucky. league is over

Darren might be a pretty good defender but he must be an extremely sensitive soul if the manager can't have a word after he conceded what was a fairly sloppy penalty , which cost Clare the win.

Murphy wasn't enjoying playing for the manager, its that simple, he plays with the bridge because he likes playing soccer with his friends and enjoy his football, plenty teams knocking on his door offering him money to play and he said no, status isn't a priority for him, few of ye should get off his back on here.

Quote Originally Posted by OnMeHead View Post
    Murphy wasn't enjoying playing for the manager, its that simple, he plays with the bridge because he likes playing soccer with his friends and enjoy his football, plenty teams knocking on his door offering him money to play and he said no, status isn't a priority for him, few of ye should get off his back on here.
    Fair enough he is dedicated to the bridge, but clearly doesn't want to better himself in football. He could be playing with alot better than what he is, not getting "on his back" as you say, but alot of lads would give their right arm to have the quality and opportunities that he has had.

Just a general point , i'm sure there were lads that didn't like playing for Loughnane or Fitzy but now they have all ireland medals , it.s a managers job to tell it as it is , it's not very nice but it has to be done.

most teams wouldnt be able to field 11 players if they all took the hump to a manager bollicking them at some stage.

probably The best full back clare has ever produced????? thats some statement to make shuffleruns you must have been round clare soccer for a long time to make a statement like that.
    MY name is XXXXX i am a Soccerholic

Quote Originally Posted by thecritic View Post
    probably The best full back clare has ever produced????? thats some statement to make shuffleruns you must have been round clare soccer for a long time to make a statement like that.
    Where did I say that???
    He's a centre back that plays full back too, so?
    Not too long really know the clubs that's all!

Predictions:
    Newmarket Celtic A 1 v 2 Avenue Utd A (11am)
    Bridge Celtic 1 v 2 Tulla Utd A (2pm)
    Ennis Town 0 v 2 Bridge Utd A (11am)
    Lifford 0 v 4 Shannon Olympic A (2pm)

Quote Originally Posted by thecritic View Post
    It was me that made that statement.. and ya I've been watching junior football over 30 years..and can't think of a full back as good as him.. its just my opinion..
    If you disagree who would you have up there

Page 24 of 36 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast