Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast

Thread: Dundalk V Cork

433 Posts
    Still getting the head around it!

From extinction to champions.
    Last edited by Dunny; 26/10/2014 at 11:33 PM.

Surprised it's taken two days for somebody to blame Dublin for something going wrong. Stunned it's come from a Cork fan.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    Still sick, congrats to Dundalk.
    Lots of negatives around the organisation of such a huge game, these will be going through the proper channels.
    Lots of restraint shown by our fans and players.
    For all the scumbags and FAI stewards shipped in from Dubland there are decent Dundalk folk also.
    Credit to them and their team, we'll be back.(challenging, maybe not to Dundalk)
    If the roles were reversed and Cork won the title at Turners Cross, would anything really have been that different?

87 Posts
    Still sick, congrats to Dundalk.
    Lots of negatives around the organisation of such a huge game, these will be going through the proper channels.
    Lots of restraint shown by our fans and players.
    For all the scumbags and FAI stewards shipped in from Dubland there are decent Dundalk folk also.
    Credit to them and their team, we'll be back.(challenging, maybe not to Dundalk)
    Because of the risek of causing further offence on this thread, I'll start by distancing myself from the Dublin comment as I know nothing of it. But otherwise this is a very good post. A lot of people I spoke to said there was 100 plus scum taunting us and throwing missiles after the game. The fact is there was no more than 30, if even, there just looked more. That's still a sizeable number, but must be so frustrating for the genuine fans. Our lack of reaction is definitely to be commended. They struggled to hold them back, so they wouldn't have had a chance had we reacted.
    Last edited by Pablo Escobar; 27/10/2014 at 7:48 AM.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post
    Our lack of reaction is definitely to be commended. They struggled to hold them back, so they wouldn't have had a chance had we reacted.
    That is an important point to make. The dignity with which Cork accepted the result was to their immense credit. They did not react to the scumbags whose own reaction to victory was to goad away fans rather than go an embrace their team.

While jubilant at the end of the game, I felt very sorry for the Cork players who did not have the opportunity to join in with their fans to celebrate a brilliant season.

Daniel McDonnell refers to this incident in the Indo today:

Classy Cork deserved better than taunts

Dundalk grabbed the headlines over the weekend but the class showed by Cork in defeat should be recognised, with manager John Caulfield setting the example.

The one souring aspect of Friday was the idiocy of a gang of local punters who chose to make their way across the pitch towards the away support - housed in a section that remains inadequate for travelling fans - and taunt them after the final whistle.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-30694832.html

87 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    That is an important point to make. The dignity with which Cork accepted the result was to their immense credit. They did not react to the scumbags whose own reaction to victory was to goad away fans rather than go an embrace their team.

While jubilant at the end of the game, I felt very sorry for the Cork players who did not have the opportunity to join in with their fans to celebrate a brilliant season.

Daniel McDonnell refers to this incident in the Indo today:

Classy Cork deserved better than taunts

Dundalk grabbed the headlines over the weekend but the class showed by Cork in defeat should be recognised, with manager John Caulfield setting the example.

The one souring aspect of Friday was the idiocy of a gang of local punters who chose to make their way across the pitch towards the away support - housed in a section that remains inadequate for travelling fans - and taunt them after the final whistle.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-30694832.html
    I felt sorry for the Dundalk fans that saw what was happening and came over to applaud us and then were pushed back by security. It's totally understandable, but a really stupid situation.

As for taking defeat with grace, there was a lot of banter on here, but most, if not all City fans would have acknowledged that we were 2nd best to Dundalk for the majority of the season. It's been a hugely successful year for us and overall I'm delighted.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Because of the risek of causing further offence on this thread,
    I came across this wonderful piece by Mark Twain and couldn't but think of your recent nuclear barb -

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.”
    Mark Twain, Mark Twain: The Innocents Abroad/Roughing It

87 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    I came across this wonderful piece by Mark Twain and couldn't but think of your recent nuclear barb -
    You've really taken this one to heart. Lighten up and enjoy you're league win FFS

37 Posts
    Were there many locals (from Louth) in the Dundalk squad?
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

663 Posts
    You've really taken this one to heart. Lighten up and enjoy you're league win FFS
    I can assure you that I am thoroughly enjoying the league win - last Friday evening was one of the most exhilarating sporting experiences of my life!

That does not mean that I can't find time and energy to remark on your cheap and facile barb - especially as it was pretty untypical of the gregarious and friendly majority I met last Friday

663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Were there many locals (from Louth) in the Dundalk squad?
    Simon Kelly, Marc Griffin, Conor McDonald, Ciaran O'Connor and George Poynton are the only locals in the 23 man squad listed on dundalkfc.com

There are precious few first team appearances between the 5 of them

448 Posts
    would Ross Gaynor (9) have more for City than they have for Dundalk combined?

448 Posts
    According to Soccerway:

Ross Gaynor 9 Starts, 9 appearances, 762 minutes
    Marc Griffin, 0 Starts, 9 appearances, 106 minutes
    The rest: 0, 0, 0

399 Posts
    Because of the risek of causing further offence on this thread, I'll start by distancing myself from the Dublin comment as I know nothing of it. But otherwise this is a very good post. A lot of people I spoke to said there was 100 plus scum taunting us and throwing missiles after the game. The fact is there was no more than 30, if even, there just looked more. That's still a sizeable number, but must be so frustrating for the genuine fans. Our lack of reaction is definitely to be commended. They struggled to hold them back, so they wouldn't have had a chance had we reacted.
    As I said on a previous thread, maybe this, last few days been a daze, this was totally unacceptable behaviour by a minority of Dundalk fans. It was very disappointing to hear as it was totally against the atmosphere that was building all day. Myself and other long time Dundalk fans made it our business to be friendly to all the city fans we met and we enjoyed the craic pre match. I'm sorry this happened and hope it didn't ruin your day, although understandably it must have been a tough trip home.

Part of me still cant believe we are champions of Ireland, it was just a superb night and the celebrations went on long into the night on Friday and again over the weekend, I also enjoyed the print media, some great articles about the game and Dundalk especially in the Indo, I cant wait for Soccer Republic.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Simon Kelly, Marc Griffin, Conor McDonald, Ciaran O'Connor and George Poynton are the only locals in the 23 man squad listed on dundalkfc.com

There are precious few first team appearances between the 5 of them

Peter Cherrie although a Scot is living in the town for almost 6 years now. He would probably see himself as 'a local' by now.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    As I said on a previous thread, maybe this, last few days been a daze, this was totally unacceptable behaviour by a minority of Dundalk fans. It was very disappointing to hear as it was totally against the atmosphere that was building all day. Myself and other long time Dundalk fans made it our business to be friendly to all the city fans we met and we enjoyed the craic pre match. I'm sorry this happened and hope it didn't ruin your day, although understandably it must have been a tough trip home.

Part of me still cant believe we are champions of Ireland, it was just a superb night and the celebrations went on long into the night on Friday and again over the weekend, I also enjoyed the print media, some great articles about the game and Dundalk especially in the Indo, I cant wait for Soccer Republic.
    Point of order. We're champions of Ireland!

Hope ye enjoyed the celebrations. Certainly deserved them.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post

Its still going...Just home as Ive work tomorrow and Peader McArdles and Courtneys were both bouncing with Dundalk songs. My Grandad told me earlier, he has never seen such excitment and celebrations ever over Dundalk winning a League Title! The whole Town is on a high and id say all the publicans are rolling in the money after the weekend.

Civic Reception at the Square on Saturday Night should also be a great night..I hear the SSA are planning a display for it, pity Richie wont be their (best of luck to him)

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    If the roles were reversed and Cork won the title at Turners Cross, would anything really have been that different?
    Our match night team have been fantastic all season and are well used to large crowds so I'd say most definitely.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

42 Posts
    bravo.... thats a cracking line .
    did stewards give you shiiit about the chip on your shoulder ? everyone is out to get Cork.

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    The match doesn't seem to be on RTE player, at least not on my TV. Can anybody tell me if Cork committed a foul or did they preserve their moral perfection to the very last?
    I didn't see us make a single foul during the entire game - but that anti-cork refereeing kicked in from the very first second.

Joking aside - I thought Mark Sull was lucky enough the ref didn't see the early tackle on Chris Shields - I thought it was clumsy at best and if seen could have been a straight red.

Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast