Results 1,841 to 1,860 of 2047

Thread: 2014 World Cup

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Was I imaging things or did the Beeb play out to Jimmy Sumerville? Hansen was so angry after totally miscalling the game tonight, thank god he is moving on. God I miss RTE!
    You missed Dunphy calling Germany an average side before the game when it must be clear to all, even before the game, that they are a better than average side with Muller, Schweinsteiger etc in the side. I expected a 0-3 win for Germany but didn't think it would be 7 (except when it was 6). Very similar to our game with the consolation at the end. Didn't Kilbane also say on Sunday that the Gerries were very limited and nothing for us to fear? Hmmmm.

However, have they now left their best on the field against Brazil? A bit like the Costa Rican penalty takers. Can they perform again up to that standard with the media now expecting it? I wouldn't be too sure.

Tonight is a very difficult one to predict. Is it Messi's year or the Dutch who have been so close so often? Stop Robben and you stop the Dutch. It's hard to imagine a South American tournament without a SA team in the Final. I think I'll go for Argentina but if Dunphy goes for them, I am changing to the Dutch If Van Persie's trotts haven't dried up by this evening, it might be tough for them plus the game against Costa Rica will have taken a lot out of them. A Dutch/German Final will be great but I have a sneaking suspicion it will be Messi.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Rewatching the game on the Player, still aghast at how bad Luiz was. It wasn't just that he was outplayed, he just didn't seem to want to try. He's miles away ball watching for the fifth for example. What happened? This guy just got bought for 40 million!

The thing that strikes me watching those four goals is how calm Germany look. I'd half expect another team to get into that position of having so much space to pass the ball around the Brazilian box and have near-open goals, and fluff their lines through panic and surprise. The fifth especially, when Muller just feeds it back to Khedira after getting the ball from him. As cool and collected as possible. Loath as I am to quote Dunphy, he was right when he called it a ruthless professional performance. No mercy at all, and no complacency.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

108 Posts
    No, there was a bit earlier in the thread about how punching was better than catching because it was less risky. Simply not true, imo. There's absolutely a time for punching, but it you can catch the ball, do it. Too many keepers seem to have lost that skill. Lots of utterly stupid punches so far this tournament.
    Who made this outlandish, and plainly false, observation?

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Rewatching the game on the Player, still aghast at how bad Luiz was. It wasn't just that he was outplayed, he just didn't seem to want to try. He's miles away ball watching for the fifth for example. What happened?
    you can be too wound up for a match and thats exactly what Luiz was. his wc has been based on emotion with little substance to back it up. he had no concentration to do the basics (1st goal) and continually found himself in areas he shouldn't be (5th goal) as a result. poor management by scolari not keeping a lid on this

65 Posts
    It could be easy to get carried away with the result from last night. 4 Goals in 7/8 mins made a mockery of the game and the last 70 mins can probably be discounted. If you take Hummels out of the back four then they are vulnerable. They are also vulnerable to pace even with Hummels in there. Midfield is their strength and they are very strong, probably the best midfield three in the competition which makes a little bit of a mockery of the coach for copying and pasting Bayerns playbook.

Brazil were awful without Silva to organise them. The had lost the match when they were holding up Neymar's shirt before the match, almost admitting defeat. The German team could smell the desperation in the air.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

2,796 Posts
    That game reminded me of Arsenal's early capitulations at both Anfield and Chelsea last season. Oddly enough, I thought our capitulation against Germany was a different kind of hammering.

I don't really rate Silva but clearly he has leadership and organisational qualities that were missed. Despite his awful showing last night I still quite like David Luiz, I just wouldn't ever pick him as a centre back!

Brazil seemed to think just wanting desperately to win the World Cup would be enough to scrape through. Their superstitions, tears and totemic icons were quite frankly an embarrassment to the players, the country and the broader game.

One of my biggest bugbears in amateur sporting hackery is use of the term "real men" or "it's a man's game" but I'll happily concede that the fragility this bunch of players displayed at several times during this tournament was unbefitting of top tier professional sportsmen. The Brazilian football team quite frankly needs to grow a pair.

By contrast the professionalism of the Germans was unreal. Their goal celebrations were relatively restrained, they avoided any yellow cards, they were still critical if passes were played carelessly and they were furious to concede a goal. High fives, smiles and hugs were about as far as they went and by all accounts in the dressing room they barely celebrated, knowing that there is still one big game left to play.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    They realise they're only at the gates of Moscow and....
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

2,284 Posts
    "The world according to Lawro": http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...-to-Lawro.html

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Deacon
    Important moments in history, described in the style of the BBC’s ever-cheerful World Cup analyst, Mark Lawrenson

God creates the heaven and the earth

Six days? Six whole days? I’ll be honest with you, Jonathan – I’d have expected quicker than that. There’s been a lot of hype around this God lad, and He’s not exactly lived up to it so far, has He? If I were His manager I’d be concerned about His workrate. Six days. At Liverpool Bob Paisley used to create the heaven and the earth in five days, tops. Bill Shankly could do it in three.

Give Him his due, Jonathan, He’s done all right making the firmament and dividing the waters which were under the firmament from the waters which were above the firmament. And He’s not done too bad creating great whales, and every living creature that moveth, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind. That was okay.

But what’s all this about promising to give man dominion over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth? I don’t think so, somehow, do you? Me and the missus went on a camping holiday to Scotland last year and we had absolutely no dominion over every creeping thing that creepeth upon that campsite, I’ll tell you that for nothing. Our Susie was up half the night covered in bites.

I can’t say I’m impressed by God’s positional sense, either. He’s literally all over the place.

The invention of the wheel

I just can’t see it catching on, Jonathan. I know the wheel is meant to be the latest thing, and I’m sure it’s very fashionable in London, but any normal person is going to look at it and think, “What am I supposed to do with that?” It’s too big to use as a plate. It’s too heavy to use as a Frisbee. You can’t even use it as a football, because although it looks round from one angle, it actually isn’t if you turn it on its side. I just don’t see the point of it.

It’s a fad, and 10 years from now everyone will have forgotten it. End of story.

Jesus feeds the five thousand

Don’t get me wrong, Jonathan, this lad Christ is a promising young prophet. But trying to feed 5,000 people on only five loaves and two fishes? That’s just poor planning. Goodness knows what they teach them at these Judean catering colleges. If you’re expecting 5,000 covers, you’re looking at, what, 1,000 loaves and 2,500 fishes, minimum. It’s not rocket science. I just think Christ needs to cut out these basic errors.

This disciple lot don’t seem that bothered, mind you. The way they go on about him, you’d think he could walk on water.

The Roman conquest of Britain

So poor, Jonathan. Where was the defence? This Roman attack is powder-puff, but they’ve walked right through these ancient tribesmen like they weren’t even there. What do the tribesmen think they’re doing with all these spears and slingshots? It’s guns you want, Jonathan. Guns and tanks and bombs and planes. Where were the missiles? I just don’t think the tribe’s manager’s done his homework.

I tell you what, we’ve seen next to nothing of this Boudicca lad everyone’s been talking about. I think he’s started to believe his own hype.

The building of the Taj Mahal

One of the universally admired masterpieces of the world’s heritage? Give me strength, Jonathan. Call that a jawab? These Mughals wouldn’t know a roofed chhatri if it bit them on the backside. My youngest could make better minarets out of a couple of used toilet rolls.
    Taj Mahal? Taj Ma-Hell, more like.

The sinking of the Titanic

No prizes for predicting this one, Jonathan. You could see it coming a mile off. What’s the first thing they teach you at shipping school? Lesson one: don’t sail into an iceberg. And what’s the captain done? Sailed into an iceberg. It’s schoolboy stuff, Jonathan.

I just think the captain needs to go back to the drawing board and have another look at his tactics, because Plan A is most definitely not working.

Emily Davison throws herself in front of the King’s horse

I’ve said it before, Jonathan, and I’ll say it again: call me old-fashioned, but Suffragism is a man’s game.

Look at Davison here. I’m not being funny, but she’s turned up at the Epsom Derby, she’s run on to the track, and then she’s tried to grab the bridle of George V’s horse. Talk about poor decision-making. How’s that going to win women the vote? It’s politicians you want to talk to, love, not horses. I don’t care what these Suffragettes say, the right to vote is not decided by a horse, even a royal one. Never has been, never will be. I just think she’s been naïve.

The moon landings

“One small step for man, one giant leap for mankind”? What’s that supposed to mean when it’s at home? It’s nonsense, Jonathan. Pure and simple. Armstrong’s had all the time in the world to come up with a memorable catchphrase, and he’s blown it. He’s frozen on the big occasion.

I remember when we drew the moon in the quarter-finals of the European Cup the year we won the treble under Joe Fagan. The away leg was in the Sea of Tranquility. It’s not an easy place to go, and if you make a mistake there’s literally nowhere to hide. No atmosphere, either. Still, we kept it tight, took them back to Anfield for the return, and the rest is history.

His own birth

I just think it was disappointing, Jonathan. Everyone had been building it up for ages, and then on the day it’s like, “So what?” Into the birth canal, couple of pushes, out we go, no big deal. Everyone was making all this fuss, “Ooh he’s got your eyes, Jim, ooh he’s got your chin, Barbara.” I just thought, “Seen it all before.”

It took me a few months to learn to walk, and I didn’t say my first word till I was a year old, but at the end of the day I’d just put that down to lack of experience.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A N Mouse View Post
    Who made this outlandish, and plainly false, observation?
    I don't know.

Though this is more the one I was thinking of.

Maybe I've taken ye up wrong. Or even, with the passage of time, misrepresented ye in the post above. If so, apologies. I think the posts were in reply to my own giving out about the lack of catching, so I assumed ye were taking up a contrary position to my own.

But I still think catching has to be the first choice whenever possible, and there's been too many keepers in this tournament happy to parry when they could have caught. Iran for one have paid a heavy price for that. That's not anglophilia or GAA influence - it's just good goalkeeping.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    I don't know.

Though this is more the one I was thinking of.

Maybe I've taken ye up wrong. Or even, with the passage of time, misrepresented ye in the post above. If so, apologies. I think the posts were in reply to my own giving out about the lack of catching, so I assumed ye were taking up a contrary position to my own.

But I still think catching has to be the first choice whenever possible, and there's been too many keepers in this tournament happy to parry when they could have caught. Iran for one have paid a heavy price for that. That's not anglophilia or GAA influence - it's just good goalkeeping.
    Just look at the Swiss keeper as well, one of the worst at it. He couldnt catch a ball to save his life!

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Just look at the Swiss keeper as well, one of the worst at it. He couldnt catch a ball to save his life!
    But that's cos he doesn't play for Basel... we all know they are the true holders of the beautiful game's candle.

Also, waiting on this game today has been interminable.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

1,825 Posts
    I want whoever wins this match tonight to win the World Cup. I would like the Dutch to win based on the tournament overall.

But given the quality of the games down the years, I honestly don't think I have been as giddy before a semi-final in a long time.

Watch it be a twitchy nil-nil.

Also on last night's debacle, I think there's going to be a super pressure on Germany now... which is something they haven't coped with over the last few years. Euro 2012 anyone? Like Mayo last year v Tyrone... I have a feeling their load has been spunked.

A Dutch-Deutsch final will be a nasty affair. Lets' hope it happens.
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 09/07/2014 at 7:51 PM.

586 Posts
    Based on the past, Germany/Argentina has just as much chance of being a scrappy affair.

517 Posts
    Lavezzi making some beautiful runs for Argentina.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Based on the past, Germany/Argentina has just as much chance of being a scrappy affair.
    Like the 3-2 final in Mexico?

2,796 Posts
    Does the WC ever get won by a consistently impressive team? Isn't it more normal for a winning team to hang on in and then play well in the last week or so?

517 Posts
    Mascherano and Kuyt pretty impressive. Sneijder and Messi have had their moments. Robben and Van Persie have been extremely quiet. Argentina shading it in terms of threat but both teams very organised.

Enzo Perez has been pretty good since considering he began the tournament very much a squad player.

Amazing how much Argentina have chopped and changed and yet remained consistent in their approach. 5 at the back no more and no sign of Campagnaro, Maxi Rodriguez and Aguero since the early stages.

You question whether V. Persie has the stomach for this fight. Huntelaar would be a strong deputy off the bench.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Does the WC ever get won by a consistently impressive team? Isn't it more normal for a winning team to hang on in and then play well in the last week or so?
    2006 is the only that I recall that was won impressively and even that was down to dodgy refereeing in the Oz match and it was penalties in the end.
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 09/07/2014 at 9:00 PM. Reason: won v one

586 Posts
    I dunno, I think Spain in 2010 got off to a bad start in their first game and then played to a high enough level for the rest of the tournament. Kind of the same for Brazil in 02 and France in 98. I think most winners have at least one unexpectedly difficult game at some point (Brazil/Turkey in 2002 springs to mind as an example) and Germany/Algeria could be that game this year, or Netherlands/Costa Rica or Argentina/everyone.

Seems like both teams just spent a half feeling each other out and probing for weaknesses. Argentina doing far better than I expected at the back, Robben and RVP have gotten zip to work with.

2,796 Posts
    Agree with all 3 posts above.

I think this is a very tactical affair so far, enjoyable in its own way but such a far cry from that (for me) life changing night in 1978. That contrast of colours, the paper, the crowd, Mario Kempes. One of the best nights of my whole childhood.

Page 93 of 103 FirstFirst ... 43839192939495 ... LastLast