Page 75 of 78 FirstFirst ... 25657374757677 ... LastLast
Results 1,481 to 1,500 of 1548

Thread: (Very early) Transfer gossip/squad retention

24 Posts
    Bray Wanderers have completed the signings former Republic of Ireland youth internationals Joe Gorman and Gareth McDonagh. The two players have recently enjoyed youth team stints in Scotland – with striker McDonagh (18) returning from Celtic and defender Gorman (19) joining from Inverness Caley Thistle.

Everton looking at Ronan Finn and B team goalkeeper Michael Kelly apparently. Would be a strange one that. I love Finn but he's never looked THAT good and he's having a rotten season. He at least does condition himself for full-time football in England so that might make him a more attractive option for clubs over there.

Ian Turner from City to Limerick (possibly a loan move since he's under contract until the end of the season).

City to sign either Andrew Neville (UCC) or Gavin Kavanagh (Waterford United).

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Everton looking at Ronan Finn and B team goalkeeper Michael Kelly apparently. Would be a strange one that. I love Finn but he's never looked THAT good and he's having a rotten season. He at least does condition himself for full-time football in England so that might make him a more attractive option for clubs over there.
    I would be amazed if Everton signed Ronan Finn, he's turning 27 this year.

863 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Meh he might have had it booked before he even signed for us. I'm sure it would have cost him more to change the flight than we were paying him. It wasn't ideal behaviour but not something I'd get too upset over. As for him signing for Athlone, why should he have any particular loyalty to us after we let him go? Players move between the two clubs all the time.
    I'm not a big GAA fan but how many times a year do you see players cancel honeymoons, holidays etc or cut their holidays short to come back and play in the championship etc, I've even seen underage players do it locally so for someone getting paid to play in what was one of the biggest games of our history to just f*ck off and not bother playing will never be forgiven
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

Quote Originally Posted by CityRebel View Post
    I would be amazed if Everton signed Ronan Finn, he's turning 27 this year.
    Everton from Cork sounds a bit more likely considering how well he's played this season!

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    I'm not a big GAA fan but how many times a year do you see players cancel honeymoons, holidays etc or cut their holidays short to come back and play in the championship etc, I've even seen underage players do it locally so for someone getting paid to play in what was one of the biggest games of our history to just f*ck off and not bother playing will never be forgiven
    Will never be forgiven?Jesus!Think you're completely over estimating the loyalty of some Gaa players, plenty miss matches for holidays etc. The lad obviously booked a holiday for the end of the season and ended up getting loaned out and having to play a couple of games longer. He was only with us for a what, 4 months? I can't imagine we were paying him enough that he'd be able to cancel all the money spent on a holiday. It certainly didn't suit us at the time but won't be condemning the lad, especially when he played so well for us in the last game he did play.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

I think the main thing that annoyed some supporters about Ebbe was not the fact he went off on hols & missed the 2nd leg v Bray but the fact he told the club he was off to see his aunt in Australia who was very sick. My problem with him was he couldn't tell the truth. I also heard the holiday wasn't booked before he came to us. Didn't Bennion change his plans for the play-off game? I remember hearing something. Open to correction though.

I can see the truthful conversation now:

Ebbe: Mr Chairman I've a holiday booked clashing with the playoff game, if you pay for a new holiday I'll play.

Mr. Chairman: No

Ebbe: But Im a semi pro on 2 and 6 a week, im only at the club a wet weekend, you can hardly expect me to change my personal plans.

Mr Chairman: This is Longford Towns biggest game in years!!

Ebbe: Goodluck with that.

Seriously, if he was a full time pro by all means flog him to death. But some sort of reserve keeper knocking around Longford??

A few grips need to.be gotten I feel.

623 Posts
    He's not a keeper by all accounts.

In other EXCITING NEWS we've confirmed the signing of Ian Turner from Cork.

He goes straight into the squad for tonights match against bohs which should boost the attendance from 200 to 203 assuming he has a family.

87 Posts
    In other EXCITING NEWS we've confirmed the signing of Ian Turner from Cork.

He goes straight into the squad for tonights match against bohs which should boost the attendance from 200 to 203 assuming he has a family.
    Ian had been unlucky with us. He's probably the best athlete in the league and has a great attitude. He'll do well.

1,104 Posts
    I can see the truthful conversation now:

Ebbe: Mr Chairman I've a holiday booked clashing with the playoff game, if you pay for a new holiday I'll play.

Mr. Chairman: No

Ebbe: But Im a semi pro on 2 and 6 a week, im only at the club a wet weekend, you can hardly expect me to change my personal plans.

Mr Chairman: This is Longford Towns biggest game in years!!

Ebbe: Goodluck with that.

Seriously, if he was a full time pro by all means flog him to death. But some sort of reserve keeper knocking around Longford??

A few grips need to.be gotten I feel.
    We'd have lost whether he was playing or not anyway given the defence that we ended up with for most of the match. Fair enough being p'ed off with him at the time perhaps but holding a grudge against him forever more is silly. He's not really any great shakes anyway. He's ok.

Athlone reports in their website they have done a number of signings this week, any idea who are those guys?

98 Posts
    John Mulroy, Dean Ebbe, and a couple of young lads I think. Not sure of names.

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    with Sean Russell officially gone from us wouldnt surprise me to see Sean join ye!

205 Posts
    Any word of anyone coming in Marty?
    Sporting F*ck All!

Quote Originally Posted by ATFC-1887 View Post
    Ryan Coulter is also signing. Mentioned it himself at the bray drogheda game on friday

Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    Any word of anyone coming in Marty?
    not a word LTFC! I am not in the loop as much anymore with me working in Dublin FT!

Wicklow club hit with a transfer embargo according to tomorrow's papers. Probably won't affect their activity too much.

Page 75 of 78 FirstFirst ... 25657374757677 ... LastLast