Page 48 of 71 FirstFirst ... 38464748495058 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Turkey, Italy, Costa Rica & Portugal - May/June 2014

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I can kinda expect it from them. I've seen it before from those nations.

For example when I first came over here probably around the time of the ra lads "breaking" out of the jail in Colombia actually, I ate in a Colombian restaurant in london bridge.thete weren't too many Colombian places back then or still isn't now so you would often see stuff from the ctb on tables or against the walls on book shelfs. One such one for the United Kingdom appeared and had loads on all of London and all of the UK and some more.....and on the back they had a map of ireland and UK draped in a union jack.

However I don't expect it from a fellow European outpost.
    for a guy who gets really narked when people misspell "Colombia" it's quite amazing how many of your own errors you're unconcerned with

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Shane Duffy out of game with a calf injury:
    https://twitter.com/ShaneDuffy34/sta...82652091187200
    Its really not that complicated!!!

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    It's a widespread common perception that we irish (national team and clubs) have no distinctive style of playing football but are lumped under the british label of aggression, workmanlike (compensating for lack of natural flair) with ball mostly in the air. If anything the Irish are regarded as more reckless than the English, therefore there's an element of danger lurking.

That's how it is, the perception and the reality, though the English game is slowly changing from the dark ages 1980 - 2000.
    it doesn't bother me when people label our football as British. The defining problem with Irish football is that it is too reliant on English and Scottish football for its pulse. People aren't questioning our sovereignty when they lump us in with our neighbours when discussing football.

If pressed I'm sure the rest of the world knows we're economically and culturally distinct and well capable of starving and burying 800 innocent babies in a cesspit all by ourselves and without any colonial interference.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 10/06/2014 at 10:01 PM.

1,825 Posts
    I can kinda expect it from them. I've seen it before from those nations.

For example when I first came over here probably around the time of the ra lads "breaking" out of the jail in Colombia actually, I ate in a Colombian restaurant in london bridge.thete weren't too many Colombian places back then or still isn't now so you would often see stuff from the ctb on tables or against the walls on book shelfs. One such one for the United Kingdom appeared and had loads on all of London and all of the UK and some more.....and on the back they had a map of ireland and UK draped in a union jack.

When the IFA team played Albania a few years ago I think there was confusion too.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,796 Posts
    Were the Albanians asking why they were playing a team made up exclusively of Irish farmers?

2,284 Posts
    Sure what would those Spaniards know anyway? They know a-nothing.

517 Posts
    Amazes me that MON wouldn't call up a defender.

There will probably be a maximum of 3 outfield players left on the bench at this juncture.

Ronaldo starting apparently.

3,493 Posts
    I know there's a while to kick off yet, but anyone got a stream?

2,796 Posts
    Forde
    Kelly Keogh Pearse Ward
    Meyler Hendrick
    McGeady Hoolahan McClean
    Walters (c)

2,796 Posts
    Can't believe Walters has been awarded the captaincy after delaying his departure because it was feared he and his daughter caught meningitis. Can't believe how feeble these modern players are.

1,825 Posts
    I know there's a while to kick off yet, but anyone got a stream?
    http://www.wiziwig.tv/broadcast.php?...19&part=sports

The second last feed is PremierSports. Decent enough.

517 Posts
    After booking a holiday during an International window and going to a wedding of a teammate's brother. I know. Maybe he sent a picture of his vomit to Roy again too.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Can't believe Walters has been awarded the captaincy after delaying his departure because it was feared he and his daughter caught meningitis. Can't believe how feeble these modern players are.
    What are TOWK's thoughts I wonder?

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    going to a wedding of a teammate's brother.
    I know that's why you think they were missing but I haven't seen it explicity confirmed anywhere. Edit to say that you could very well be right, I'm not having a go.
    Last edited by Closed Account; 10/06/2014 at 11:47 PM.

1,928 Posts
    The video in the streams is excellent but the audio sounds drainpipe quality.
    Anyone got good audio on a stream yet?

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    What are TOWK's thoughts I wonder?
    Should have told the daughter to take an anadin and split.

21. Thanks From:

3,493 Posts
    The ITV Digital one is grand for me

23. Thanks From:

517 Posts
    Ah here..

1,825 Posts
    The ITV Digital one is grand for me
    http://itvhdsport.com/channel-1.php

26. Thanks From:

Page 48 of 71 FirstFirst ... 38464748495058 ... LastLast