Page 46 of 71 FirstFirst ... 36444546474856 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Turkey, Italy, Costa Rica & Portugal - May/June 2014

52 Posts
    Feck sake fellas!

These are just end of season Friendlies, most of the players would prefer to be on holiday.

We don't even have our two best CBs in the squad for these games.

Relax, in MON we trust.

@FAIreland Good to see Ryan Meara of @NewYorkRedBulls training with us this morning!

So is he still thinking of playing with us?

He cant be any worse than forde can he? He is young enough still as well, i thought he was older.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Thats good news, hes young and playing first team football.

Edit: Or is he? He doesnt seem to have any appearances in 2013
    Its really not that complicated!!!

1,159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Thats good news, hes young and playing first team football.

Edit: Or is he? He doesnt seem to have any appearances in 2013
    http://www.newyorkredbulls.com/players/ryan-meara

He's second choice behind a chap called Luis Robles (who has a solitary U.S. cap). Hasn't played since 2012, seemingly- around the time he was called into our under-21s.

No harm at all in calling him in for training when we're in his backyard.

3,493 Posts
    Shades of Johnny Glynn?

He had hip surgery at the end of 2012 which seemed to keep him out for a long time.

517 Posts
    If I didn't know what age this guy was, I'd say he was in his forties.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    So is he still thinking of playing with us?

He cant be any worse than forde can he? He is young enough still as well, i thought he was older.
    I think he's keen to play for Ireland. Last time we tried to call him up to the under-21s (for a friendly, I think), Red Bulls refused him permission to join up with the squad in spite of Meara's eagerness to play. They were under no obligation to release him as it was either an under-age or non-competitive game; possibly both. I think he since got injured which contributed to him losing his starting position in the Red Bulls team.

He briefly spoke about recovering from his hip injury and reclaiming his place on the field being a priority in an interview from March of 2013, but did admit that he will need to discuss a potential Irish call-up with manager Mike Petke "maybe somewhere down the line":

Assuming he's up to scratch and we remain interested, that is.

2,284 Posts
    Some more videos of him in action:

1,159 Posts
    Fair enough they're in New York anyway, but you'd think the FAI would stump the price of a plane from Colorado to New York for Shane O'Neill and get him in training too. The miseries don't even have a training kit for Ryan Meara. I hope they fed him at least!

1,928 Posts
    The squad are training at the Red Bull training ground Whipanny NJ. I suppose that explains Meara's presence.

All pictures here

including a happy camper.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    including a happy camper.

He looks like a happy Roy Keane...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    Fair enough they're in New York anyway, but you'd think the FAI would stump the price of a plane from Colorado to New York for Shane O'Neill and get him in training too. The miseries don't even have a training kit for Ryan Meara. I hope they fed him at least!
    Meara might even have invited himself along to demonstrate his credentials. Fair play to him if so.

Dare we mention New York-native Joey Lapira's name again? Maybe it's for the best he's far, far away in the Outer Mongolian third division or wherever it is he's playing these days!

2,284 Posts
    Eurosport blames the Irish nation for ending Montolivo's World Cup: http://balls.ie/football/eurosport-b...-irish-nation/

19. Thanks From:

2,796 Posts
    My Italian speaking pal said that initially the Italian media said it was just an accident, one of those things. But then he said the TV pundits said Pearse only had eyes for the man and went for him. Nonsense in my opinion, but hey...

2,284 Posts
    It was Pearce's trailing leg that caught the incoming Montolivo, and it certainly wasn't the heaviest of collisions either. Pearce's active leg was clearly challenging for the ball.

3,501 Posts
    Build up to the Portugal game from Squawka: http://friendlies-temp.squawka.com/r...ionals/matches

Page 46 of 71 FirstFirst ... 36444546474856 ... LastLast