Thread: St Pats (A) 21-03-14

Quote Originally Posted by LFC Blue View Post
    Taylor is very hopeful that Curran will be ready for tomorrow. With curran and macmanus up front it gives us a new dimension entirely from our first two games.
    Cusack
    Kelly
    Oji
    Folan
    Costello
    Nzuzi
    Duggan
    Tracey
    Gaffney
    Macmanus
    Curran

With a rub of the green this line up could pull a score draw out of the bag.
    Would be amazed if McManus got anymore than a half hour if he's in the squad. We could be expecting a bit too much from him too, he's pushed on a bit now and I don't see how he'd fit in to a 4 3 3. He'd have to be the central point with Curran and Gaffney on the wings. I don't know if you'd get enough work rate from him but he is a fantastic option off the bench.
    Think it'll be a little while before we see the best of Curran too, he's pretty much missed all pre season (except for a couple of sessions here and there)

A hugely signifant point earned yesterday at the home of the champions.while saint pats may have been lethargic for long spells and we looked almost completely toothless in an attacking sense this result could provide a massive springboard for our season. Yesterday's point was built on three outstanding performances namely the returning Barry Ryan who looked like he'd never been away aswell as Sami oji and Shane duggan.for all pats possession the back four looked comfortable under the stewardship of oji and Ryan.even when nzuzi went to left back he rarely looked troubled.duggan gave a masterclass in the middle superior to anything I saw last season from gamble o Leary or Bradley and Taylor must be commended for such a signing.he was always available to take possession and crowned his performance with that sublime pass for the goal.at times duggan fought a lone furrow in the middle as Tracey looked a bit sluggish in possession at times with Hughes and McGrath struggling to get in to the game.gaffney worked hard up top but I think his touch isn't sharp enough at times at this level. All in all though a great point to earn. Does anyone know when we can expect to see curran back?the lack of info from the club relating to the extent of these injuries is a bit disrespectful to supporters in my opinion.what is the story with mick Leahy for instance

420 Posts
    Delighted with that result and a decent performance imo. I have seen a few complain that Pats had most of the ball and that we didn't create loads but we were never going to against Pats really even at our strongest it was always going to be stay tight they have the ball and take a chance when it came. I think we went out with the right gameplan and it worked in the end we deserved the draw for work-rate and defensive work.

I am still convinced we will be better going forward when Curran is back he will be up top and Gaffney will be out wider where i think he is more effective. Still things to improve on of course but we improved a bit against Dundalk and even more yesterday if we could get the first win next week it would be a real lift to everyone.

27 Posts
    make no mistake about it a brilliant result ,a great away point especially on the back of the last few results.the performance itself was poor enough and lucky ryan was back as he was our best player followed by duggan.Pats dominated and will wonder how they did not win it but they did not take their chances.small enough crowd there.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    make no mistake about it a brilliant result ,a great away point especially on the back of the last few results.the performance itself was poor enough and lucky ryan was back as he was our best player followed by duggan.Pats dominated and will wonder how they did not win it but they did not take their chances.small enough crowd there.
    I think the performance was what should have been expected given the players available to us for the game. Actually think the performance was a bit better then what most people thought they would see. Obviously just based on the defensive side of things.

I'd fall into the "brilliant result, performance better than expected but not super encouraging either" camp too. There's not a lot of depth in the squad, we know that, short Leahy, Curran, Williams and Galbraith (will he ever play for us again?) I certainly didn't expect us to take a point so I'm delighted with that.

There were pluses for sure (Barry Ryan's return, Oji's performance) but we created very little again and lacked urgency, ideas and penetration in possession. A couple of players had quite poor outings too. It was a step in the right direction though and the team looked up for it anyway which is a good sign for sure. A good day for us overall.

And dont forget the "mistake".....how he get away with endless mistakes and is still spoken highly of by club ppl is beond me. A total chancer. Good point though and delighted for mcgrath

lads is Stephen Bradley with anyone now? couldnt believe he was let go from ye!

He has signed for Lucan.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    I'd fall into the "brilliant result, performance better than expected but not super encouraging either" camp too. There's not a lot of depth in the squad, we know that, short Leahy, Curran, Williams and Galbraith (will he ever play for us again?) I certainly didn't expect us to take a point so I'm delighted with that.

There were pluses for sure (Barry Ryan's return, Oji's performance) but we created very little again and lacked urgency, ideas and penetration in possession. A couple of players had quite poor outings too. It was a step in the right direction though and the team looked up for it anyway which is a good sign for sure. A good day for us overall.
    What's the story with Galbraith?

Quote Originally Posted by donnrua View Post
    What's the story with Galbraith?
    All we have been told it is is a torn hamstring with no idea when he'll be back.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    All we have been told it is is a torn hamstring with no idea when he'll be back.
    He told one of the lads himself that he shouldn't be too long more.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    He told one of the lads himself that he shouldn't be too long more.
    I hope not (not too long more I mean). He's been active in the gym for a while apparently, I think he could be a really, really good player for us if he was to settle.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    I hope not (not too long more I mean). He's been active in the gym for a while apparently, I think he could be a really, really good player for us if he was to settle.
    I was expecting him to have a much better season this one I actually thought he was quite good at times last season. When/if he is back id like to see him played just behind 2 strikers rather then on the wing.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    I was expecting him to have a much better season this one I actually thought he was quite good at times last season. When/if he is back id like to see him played just behind 2 strikers rather then on the wing.
    I thought he did well overall last year too. He was always looking to use the ball, the system didn't help him at times. I think a more central role could work also, he has more vision than most, can carry the ball and works hard when not in possession too so shouldn't be a liability in any way.