Thread: U21 VS Faroe Islands and Montenegro

2,081 Posts
    Just looking at the qualifying criteria there. The ten group winners and four best runners-up enter a playoff (7 v 7). The winners join the Czechs who qualified as hosts. Montenegro currently have the lowest points of any of the second placed teams and we've played a game more than them. Qualification isn't a realistic possibility but I suppose two wins against Monty would put us in the picture some bit.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    Don't think so. I checked Eurosport but they're showing the Alpine Skiing World Cup followed by the Figure Skating Grand Prix
    I never understand why in this day and age all the underage games arent shown on the FAI website
    Its really not that complicated!!!

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    I never understand why in this day and age all the underage games arent shown on the FAI website
    it's not like the largest video hosting site in the world has its european headquarters in the same city as the FAI...oh wait

Dont suppose theres a hope in hell this is on tv anywhere??
    live text commentary on uefa.com from 4 here: http://www.uefa.com/under21/season=2...sts/index.html
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 19/11/2013 at 12:47 PM.

2,446 Posts
    Are you serious? The FAI caring about anything other than the senior team?

Team: 16McDermott(GK)

3McGinty

4Williams

5Duffy(C)

12Harriman

6Carruthers

8Reilly

10Murray

11Forde

17Grealish

9O'Brien

777 Posts
    They look well spread out anyway.

2,081 Posts
    H/T: 0-0

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Still 0-0

2,081 Posts
    F/T: 0-0

Couldn't help noticing that King didn't make any substitutions. Does he not believe in them? Going by the video printer we seemed to be under the cosh a little bit, conceding a good few corners, etc. Obviously impossible to tell how much pressure we were actually under.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by UEFA.com
    90 +3 That was a good chance for Republic of Ireland!
    Feck it anyway!

2,081 Posts
    Noel King has announced his U21 squad for the upcoming qualifier against Montenegro in Dublin.

Republic of Ireland U21 Squad:
    Aaron McCarey (Wolves)
    Sean McDermott (Sandnes Ulf)
    Sean McGinty (Sheffield United - on-loan to Northampton)
    Shane Duffy (Everton - on-loan to Yeovil Town)
    Pierce Sweeney (Reading)
    Matt Doherty (Wolves)
    Tommie Hoban (Watford)
    Jeff Hendrick (Derby County)
    Jack Grealish (Aston Villa - on-loan to Notts County)
    Calum Reilly (Birmingham City)
    Anthony Forde (Wolves)
    Sean Murray (Watford)
    Connor Smith (Watford - on-loan to Gillingham)
    Liam McAlinden (Wolves)
    John Egan (Sunderland)
    Ken McEvoy (Tottenham)
    Michael Drennan (Aston Villa - on-loan to Portsmouth)
    Aiden O'Brien (Millwall - on-loan to Torquay United)

3,501 Posts
    squad looks very weak up front. I guess you could play Murray and Forde on the wings, and McEvoy through the middle?
    Forde has completely fallen out of the first team picture at Wolves, anyone know what's going on there?

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    squad looks very weak up front. I guess you could play Murray and Forde on the wings, and McEvoy through the middle?
    Forde has completely fallen out of the first team picture at Wolves, anyone know what's going on there?
    He was supposed to be going to Hibs on loan but a foot injury nixed it: http://www.expressandstar.com/sport/...mours-feb-7-2/

207 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    squad looks very weak up front.
    Is Drennan not showing himself to be a decent front-man in recent weeks? Also, as tets said, we've plenty of class in midfield to create chances. And we have Jack Grealish.

2,771 Posts
    McGinty? Wasn't he one of our deserters? I mean obviously hes not but I thought there were doubts?? Am I confused? Do I need to take my meds?
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

517 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    McGinty? Wasn't he one of our deserters? I mean obviously hes not but I thought there were doubts?? Am I confused? Do I need to take my meds?
    You think England would touch him with his well documented lack of application, professionalism and poor club form?

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    He was left out of the U19 Euros squad a while back (along with Brady) because he missed the qualifiers playing in the FA Youth Cup. Some hysterical people around here decided it was an example of Doolin waging a hate campaign against talented young players and they wouldn't be surprised if he was pushed, kicking and screaming, back in the cold, uncaring arms of Mother Albion. He was out of the squad for a while but has received the odd call-up since. It was Michael Keane who turned his turncoat once again.

21. Thanks From:

2,771 Posts
    thanks Charlie. That sounds familiar.

I think im going to take some happy pills anyway.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    Is Drennan not showing himself to be a decent front-man in recent weeks? Also, as tets said, we've plenty of class in midfield to create chances. And we have Jack Grealish.
    weak as in lack of depth, only O'Brien and Drennan are strikers in that squad, but yeah the strengths do lie elsewhere

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    He was left out of the U19 Euros squad a while back (along with Brady) because he missed the qualifiers playing in the FA Youth Cup.
    Brady, Duffy and McGinty all played during the first qualifying stage of that tournament and were subsequently left out of the next stage by Doolin. Rumours were that there were a few disagreements.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!