959 Posts
    Pat Dolan is nuts!!

Luckily for Pat the crowd was so miniscule theres no one to contradict his "double movement" theory.

1,928 Posts
    I've never liked this free kick whistle/no whistle sham of a rule, a sneaky shot when defenders are looking at a ref guiding a wall back 10m and goalie watching the angles of the wall, why don't they just have the set rule and wait for the whistle?
    The game fairly lit up in the 2nd half and built up to a crescendo of sorts in injury time. Deserved win by Sligo, just about, but I was impressed by Drogheda's performance on the day.

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I've never liked this free kick whistle/no whistle sham of a rule, a sneaky shot when defenders are looking at a ref guiding a wall back 10m and goalie watching the angles of the wall, why don't they just have the set rule and wait for the whistle?
    The laws shouldn't protect the interests of a team that has committed an infringement. If you commit a foul you've disadvantaged the other team; they're entitled to reclaim that advantage.
    "If you don't work harder I'll pull you off at halftime,"
    “Crikey, at Manchester City all we get is an orange and a cup of tea,"

I think the point Dolan was trying to make (and making a pig's micky of) was that there should be a distinct striking motion. Not sure if that's actually in the rules. Someone else can check - I've champagne to drink.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    I saw it mentioned somewhere something like 17,500.
    The crowd wasn't bad. 17,500 is quite good considering Drogheda were one of the teams.

2,284 Posts
    ErrTÉ strike again...

125 Posts
    Karma is a bitch ha ha ha ha

what's claret & blue and goes beep beep?

Drogheda United's victory bus reversing back into the garage

must be a record for Sligo though. 3 cup wins and not winning the games after 90 mins
    Long Live King Kenny

48 Posts
    Well done Sligo, was a great game.

Derry City qualify for Europe!
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    May I say in advance, I hope Dundalk fans are above gloating now, quietly smirk, but was gutted after what happened in the Semi and to have a ref again maybe influence the result well embaressing again for LoI refereeing.
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Karma is a bitch ha ha ha ha
    There is nothing to gloat about. In the semi-final, Dundalk were done over by the ref not the opposition.

Paul Tuite had a good game up until that crazy, game changing decision.

Great final, congrats Sligo (& Derry)!

230 Posts
    Congrats to Sligo on winning the cup!
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fionnsci View Post
    The laws shouldn't protect the interests of a team that has committed an infringement. If you commit a foul you've disadvantaged the other team; they're entitled to reclaim that advantage.
    Yes and they were entitled to reclaim the advantage in the the old rule in an organised fashion with a free shot against the goal and a wall placed 10m away. There was nothing that wrong with that procedure, that we have to be inflicted with a piece of anarchy, to be regarded as redressing the imbalance of the advantage lost in the first place to the attacking team.
    What happened out there was a sham, not redressing an imbalance. What we saw was one team being able to take advantage of a ref's incompetence in controlling a set piece situation. What happened out there would be similar to a penalty taker taking his shot while the ref is telling the goalie not to move off his line.

47 Posts
    Yes and they were entitled to reclaim the advantage in the the old rule in an organised fashion with a free shot against the goal and a wall placed 10m away. There was nothing that wrong with that procedure, that we have to be inflicted with a piece of anarchy, to be regarded as redressing the imbalance of the advantage lost in the first place to the attacking team.
    What happened out there was a sham, not redressing an imbalance. What we saw was one team being able to take advantage of a ref's incompetence in controlling a set piece situation. What happened out there would be similar to a penalty taker taking his shot while the ref is telling the goalie not to move off his line.

"The old rule"? It's not as if this law has been amended. It's 10 yards, not 10 metres. I think in general you could do with brushing up on your knowledge of the laws before attempting to criticse them.

All players are aware of the laws; every team has taken quick free kicks. The team fouled is free (as in free kick, understand?) to do what they wish with the ball. Defenders will often concede frees on purpose to avoid a threat on goal, knowing that the alternative (a free kick with a wall and after the defence has had an opportunity to crowd the area) is beneficial to them. I'd have policy concerns over the idea of protecting a team that concedes frees in the manner you've suggested.

Finally, your analogy is ludicrous; penalties and free kicks are fundamentally different beasts with different laws applied. Any defence should be on their guard to protect against a quick free.

Just back - mentally exhausted, cracker of a game , congratz Sligo.

Really enjoyed that game .

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    Just back - mentally exhausted, cracker of a game , congratz Sligo.

Really enjoyed that game .
    Fair play. Drogheda really played well and with a bit of luck…..

100 Posts
    I think a few lads are missing the point over the free kick. The referee failed to blow the whistle after the substition which he is required to do to restart play. He didn't do it and the free kick should have been retaken until he did so.
    You've got no fans.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fionnsci View Post
    "The old rule"? It's not as if this law has been amended. It's 10 yards, not 10 metres. I think in general you could do with brushing up on your knowledge of the laws before attempting to criticse them.

All players are aware of the laws; every team has taken quick free kicks. The team fouled is free (as in free kick, understand?) to do what they wish with the ball. Defenders will often concede frees on purpose to avoid a threat on goal, knowing that the alternative (a free kick with a wall and after the defence has had an opportunity to crowd the area) is beneficial to them. I'd have policy concerns over the idea of protecting a team that concedes frees in the manner you've suggested

Finally, your analogy is ludicrous; penalties and free kicks are fundamentally different beasts with different laws applied. Any defence should be on their guard to protect against a quick free.
    Maybe I misinterpreted the situation, but was the ref not instructing the Drogheda players to move back 10m (sorry, 9.144m) away from the placed ball?
    Last edited by geysir; 03/11/2013 at 6:15 PM.

21 Posts
    It is days like today which make me wonder why the League Of Ireland is so poorly supported by Irish people.

Today's game was fantastic entertainment to watch from a neutral point of view.

47 Posts
    Maybe I misinterpreted the situation, but was the ref not instructing the Drogheda players to move back 10m (sorry, 9.144m) away from the placed ball?
    I'm speaking generally about not needing to blow the whistle for a free to be taken not this incident in particular. I've been couped up on a fecking bus all day, no chance to see it yet.

100 Posts
    Just after watching it there (its on RTE player now btw), the referee marks out 10 yards.
    You've got no fans.

Page 34 of 37 FirstFirst ... 243233343536 ... LastLast