Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Next season

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    a 7th place finish was the very least i would have expected this season and i certainly dont think we over achieved given the huge budget at the disposal of the manager,he has done a fine job however we could have finished higher.he had more money and a stronger group of players than most of the clubs in the premier bar maybe four.we can be barging into the top four if taylor and co. get things right,the chairman has been brilliant tbf so taylor has to push things on and repay the top man....oh and maybe taylor and co might spend more time pitchside next season.
    You always talk about this huge budget it is absolute bull our squad is made up of a first 11 and then under 19s.

The part about having better players then all but 4 is complete and utter bull, had you even heard of Curran,Bossekota,Nzuzi,Folan, Williams or Galbraith before they came here? I guarantee you the answer for at least 4 of them was no. Of the rest of the squad there was Barry Ryan,Shaun Kelly, Stephen Bradley and Joe Gamble that are proven at premier level. There was also Brian O Callaghan coming back from a terrible injury that hardly played at all the season before.

There was Shane Cusack, Dave O'Leary, Rory Gaffney, James McGrath, Barry Sheedy, Darragh Rainsford,Jeffrey Judge, Val Feeney and Steve McGamm that had never played above LOI first division.

To say that squad is better then any of Pats,Sligo,Derry,Rovers, Dundalk or even at the start of the season Drogheda is madness. The only season to judge what level most of these players are in the premier is this season so to say they are any better then where they finished this season is ridiculous imo.

The same goes for saying we have more money then the teams ive listed above but you can add Cork to that one. We have not overachieved or under achieved we are right where we should have been really maybe one place below.

27 Posts
    BW,do me a favour...read my post properly.in plain english and imo we had a bigger budget and a stronger squad of players than MOST of the clubs in the premier BAR FOUR....I.E....PATS,SLIGO,ROVERS AND DERRY.you are right on not knowing some of the players,however all were and are fulltime pro,s and that added to the likes of gamble,bradley etc who are by LOI standards on big money leaves my expectations a tad higher than yours.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    BW,do me a favour...read my post properly.in plain english and imo we had a bigger budget and a stronger squad of players than MOST of the clubs in the premier BAR FOUR....I.E....PATS,SLIGO,ROVERS AND DERRY.you are right on not knowing some of the players,however all were and are fulltime pro,s and that added to the likes of gamble,bradley etc who are by LOI standards on big money leaves my expectations a tad higher than yours.

Ive ready your post i understand your post and i think its wrong. Apologies for saying it was bull but this whole we have a huge budget thing when we clearly dont has gotten a bit boring.

Yes some of them coming over were full time but it was Folan and Nzuzis first ever senior season and Curran was coming from a loan spell in a league below the conference coming from england or being full time does not make players automatically good.

Imo we are exactly where we should have been fair enough if you think differently.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Ive ready your post i understand your post and i think its wrong. Apologies for saying it was bull but this whole we have a huge budget thing when we clearly dont has gotten a bit boring.
    Just out of interest, what constitutes a big budget in LOI terms? I've heard a load of different figures from fans, players and people in "the know" and they range from 7 thousand per week to 11, thousand per week. (I assumed the higher figures included staff wages)
    There's no way to know unless the club actually state it, but what constitutes big in LOI terms?
    I've also heard this "huge" budget may not be so huge next season.

ye are like a shower of handbags with the bitching, anyway, i think it was a successful season, we didnt go back down, honey mood period over we need to win something next season, will we be in MF next season

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    The idea that this team are rolling in cash from a giant budget really needs to be taken out and shot. Not only is it not true, we should all be delighted it isn't true, since it would be so reckless and hubristic.
    Last edited by NeverFeltBetter; 27/10/2013 at 1:52 AM.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrman View Post
    ye are like a shower of handbags with the bitching, anyway, i think it was a successful season, we didnt go back down, honey mood period over we need to win something next season, will we be in MF next season

What absolute garbage. Explain why do we need to win something in only our 2nd season back up? Would a League Cup do you or do we have to get straight from mid table to FAI Cup or League Winners?

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingpin4 View Post
    Just out of interest, what constitutes a big budget in LOI terms? I've heard a load of different figures from fans, players and people in "the know" and they range from 7 thousand per week to 11, thousand per week. (I assumed the higher figures included staff wages)
    There's no way to know unless the club actually state it, but what constitutes big in LOI terms?
    I've also heard this "huge" budget may not be so huge next season.
    Tbh i dont know what people would consider a big budget but i dont think our budget could be considered huge if there is probably only 4 teams who we could be safely assume have smaller budgets then us.

When we clinched the first division last season if i was offered a year in thomond without going broke and 7th spot i'd have taken it right there. Great season in my opinion. League position is generally defined by player budgets, we have an opportunity to push up a couple of spots next year just by making every penny count. ST can match our squad make-up to how he wants to play next season and hopefully the full budget will be fit to take the field a little more (we were a little unlucky with senior player injuries). Even with POS support i doubt we can overtake the top 5 or 6 financially, although there is always the possibilty of overachieving for a year ala Dundalk this season or Drogheda last season. If we go higher than 7th next year I will be happy. Would like to see us find a way to keep Bradley, well worth the price of admission.

I'd be happy with mid table again or better next season,we over achieved this Season, Who would have thought we'd finish 6th or 7th a week before the season started, certainly not me, then people got carried away after the good start and thought we would finish top 3 or 4, then after the mid season dip people thought we could be in a relegation Battle, we did well first season back with new management and players who never played or managed in LOI premiere, learned a lot this season which should help next season

420 Posts
    So for next season so far we have

Galbraith
    Curran
    Folan
    Williams
    Abbas
    Agyemang
    Duggan .

I forget any?

So for next season so far we have

Galbraith
    Curran
    Folan
    Williams
    Abbas
    Agyemang
    Duggan .

I forget any?
    Has there been anymore about the RTD lads? I'm getting skeptical at this stage about them getting work permits.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Has there been anymore about the RTD lads? I'm getting skeptical at this stage about them getting work permits.
    Was talking about it in Derry and was told they were looking at getting them over for the Derry game but if they got their visas now they would have had to apply to renew them in July mid way through the season so if they leave it til them until near the start of the season they wont have to apply to renew until after the season.

I presume so they are talking about January so they are available for pre-season.

I'd expect anyone they want to keep on to be signed up fairly soon like Dundalk and Pats are doing. The players as much as the club will want to secure their futures as soon as possible.

420 Posts
    I presume so they are talking about January so they are available for pre-season.

I'd expect anyone they want to keep on to be signed up fairly soon like Dundalk and Pats are doing. The players as much as the club will want to secure their futures as soon as possible.
    I think there is a few signed already. Might just be waiting to name a few at once.

Also supposedly near with a few new signings too.

Would be nice to go into Christmas knowing the bulk of the squad is signed and ready to go for pre-season.

420 Posts
    Would be nice to go into Christmas knowing the bulk of the squad is signed and ready to go for pre-season.
    Ya hopefully they start announcing things soon enough. Would be massive if we can get Oji to stay.

If he keeps up the form he showed this season then he could be the key to pushing us up the table.

420 Posts
    If he keeps up the form he showed this season then he could be the key to pushing us up the table.
    Spoke to him one day and he said he was still nowhere near 100% fit so if he could manage to get better would be one of the top defenders in the league imo

420 Posts
    Shaun Kelly has now re-signed. Very good player.

Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast