Page 28 of 31 FirstFirst ... 182627282930 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland V Germany(A) 11th October & Kazakhstan(H) 15th October 2013 - World Cup '14 Q

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Liam Mackey was suggesting in yesterday's Examiner that there was discord among omitted players. The doc was clearly one, now we have Long. Maybe if Long didn't keep hitting the goalkeeper or ballooning good chances over the bar he'd have more of a case. #barndoor
    Not just Long, majority of the squad too apart from Traps bad boys.

Kings team preparation and coaching were shocking, as were his man management skills.

Thinks he's billy big time too, not upto it if the truth be known.

Let's hope McMarthy takes the job before the games in Nov.

214 Posts
    To be fair Sean if Dunne & O'Shea are fit then it's unlikely you will get a game.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Agree to disagree so. I don't think they were too negative - in fact, I'd imagine that if King had answered the first (valid imo) question, the others wouldn't even have been asked.

And, again in my opinion, nothing in the transcript from some of the interview posted earlier by Geysir supports any suggestion that TOD was gunning for him, out to get him, trying it on, etc.
    Fair enough. As I've said a few times, King should've kept his lid on it. I just understand why it happened given Friday and TOD obviously going for the negative jugular. And, regardless of whether it was wholly warranted in this occasion, TOD et al fully deserve something going in feet first. They've done it enough themselves.

On the theme of dissatisfied players - a couple of reports today had it that McClean tweeted something about it being 'a long ten days' and then deleting it. It seemed thrown in with the Long stuff although the writers conceded Long's was a possibly more clear-cut jibe.

EDIT: It's ok anyhow, King and TOD kissed and made-up earlier today.
    Last edited by SwanVsDalton; 16/10/2013 at 6:34 PM.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

214 Posts
    Also wait till Roy Keane gets hold of the lot of ya! Haha.

We don't want Big Mick back. It'll be back to 4-4-2, long ball to Doyle & dropping points to Macedonia.

McCarthy is a championship manager, nothing more. Surely we can do better than that? The same goes for MON - lower half of EPL manager.

Can we not at least try and get a top manager? At the very least someone who has managed recently in La Liga? I'd take any recent manager of Valencia. They have probably the second best youth setup in Spain.

Just someone who knows the bloody game, not a media darling who gets on great with TOD and the RTE panel.

We need to scour Europe for a manager not just accept the first 3 names such as McCarthy, Keane and MON.

And if it means waiting until the New Year so be it. It would be stupid to rush an appointment just so they are in place for meaningless friendlies in November. That said, no-one does stupid like the FAI and the RTE panel.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    To be fair Sean if Dunne & O'Shea are fit then it's unlikely you will get a game.
    Sean????? That's not my name.......

I'd say SSL would play ahead of Dunne or OShea, if/when Mick takes over.

Did SSL deserve the way King treated him? I'd say no as he's never let us down.

Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Also wait till Roy Keane gets hold of the lot of ya! Haha.

We don't want Big Mick back. It'll be back to 4-4-2, long ball to Doyle & dropping points to Macedonia.
    The formation won't be 4-4-2 under any circumstances. There's a reason Ruud Dokter is involved in the selection process. He is to make it absolutely clear that there is a system common to all the teams through the age grades - 4-2-3-1 for the unininiated - and the new manager will be expected to follow that blueprint. King tried to pretend before the match that he wasn't set on a particular system yet, but anybody who's paid attention to the underage teams since Wim Koevermans came on board would have seen right through it. 4-4-2 just isn't fit for purpose in modern football and I suspect that's the key reason why Martin O'Neill hasn't been chosen.

Brian Kerr on Newstalk now talking about media criticism. Says he was always shocked by how much notice the FAI took of what Dunphy etc said.
    Last edited by Charlie Darwin; 16/10/2013 at 6:42 PM.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Brian Kerr on Newstalk now talking about media criticism. Says he was always shocked by how much notice the FAI took of what Dunphy etc said.
    I think Kerr's a more positive and interesting chap when on radio than he comes across in the IT column.
    I can imagine the FAI take a good bit of notice of RTE's perceptions because it appears that there's a lot of people people who think there is some fun and intelligent element to the panel buffoonery. Unfortunately there's no chance that RTE will get any better with Sadlier's skinhead punditry looming, the bold O'Donaghue spearheading the challenge on the sidelines with his mike and the fact that most every other RTE sports panel has its mandatory clown quota content, just as bad as the soccer panel.

I'm hoping RTE's decision to hire the Second Captains is a step towards bringing those lads on board. I think with O'Herlihy gone, Giles might be eyeing up the pasture and Dunphy always needs the money but hopefully the breaking of that axis will make it easier to push him out.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the doc View Post

Did SSL deserve the way King treated him? I'd say no as he's never let us down.
    Was he match fit??

Part of me feels a bit for Noel King because he did a lot of good that has now been undermined. I was guilty of it. I complained about the yard he didn't go without acknowledge the mile he did.

He brought those players in from the cold which is one less thing the new guy will have to contend with.
    Against Kasahkstan he played football with philosophy that wasn't based on perceptions of limited players..

I wish McCarthy would demand the ball in deeper central areas like Stokes did last night. Trapps point is evident in that regard. I think that's all's missing from him.

I don't think Pilkington was gonna start again Germany anyway but I would have been very interested to see if he'd have been selected last night. I wouldn't have started Stokes but he impressed at times and wasn't afraid of the ball or to try things.

I'd want him less involved in central deeper areas though, more in and around the final third. Still wouldn't be in my 11 though but I think better of him today than I did yesterday.
    Last edited by dr_peepee; 16/10/2013 at 8:16 PM.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

2,796 Posts
    For that reason I rated Stokes' performance. He's got something different, something innate and spontaneous. Good point about the yard versus the mile.

1,928 Posts
    Some moans about the crowd attendance as if it indicated some decay in irish Intl football interest.
    One very similar comparison, Norway, 1st seeds going in this tournament, now with a new manager had <7,000 for their dead rubber game and 1/3 were not cheering Norway.
    Of course we are not Norway and no one in their right mind would want to be, but all the same.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    For that reason I rated Stokes' performance. He's got something different, something innate and spontaneous.
    True.. That's why I'd want him further up the field. Spontaneous needs a counter balance and safety net. (IMHO).
    Last edited by dr_peepee; 16/10/2013 at 9:29 PM.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

230 Posts
    Some of the remarks by the RTE panel on Friday night were over the top. King to fair has stepped up from his underage role for 2 games. It was made clear he was stepping in for an interim period. While I and many might not agree with his team last Friday, it's understandable coming up against a strong German side that he would try to nullify their threat. Last night to be fair, he sent out a team to be attack minded. Doyle and Stokes as he said have played in those positions. To fair to him again as well, qualification was over. There's was no harm in trying out some players who've been brought back into the squad. Giving Stokes, Doyle and Reid a chance, with Keane leading the attack, they were more or less going to play where they were. Long, McGeady and McClean have had their chances and will again. The two games have been good to get some players back into the team.

If King was in line for the job I'd have understood TOD's line of questioning yesterday but when it was the interim manager, filling in from his underage role, there wasn't a need. Fair play to King for stepping in for the two games and making a few changes. Some good, some bad, it takes a lot longer for change to happen. Good luck to the next manager with that!
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

Haha, just found out why Dunphy has such a big problem with Kinger. You'll like this one in tomorrow's red tops...

Ah do tell cd.

Let's just say he has more in common with Lee Bowyer than you'd have thought.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Some moans about the crowd attendance as if it indicated some decay in irish Intl football interest.
    One very similar comparison, Norway, 1st seeds going in this tournament, now with a new manager had <7,000 for their dead rubber game and 1/3 were not cheering Norway.
    Of course we are not Norway and no one in their right mind would want to be, but all the same.
    The natives were not happy bunnies...
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fb...type=1&theater

By comparison Scotland had 45k in their dump of a national stadium...

446 Posts
    And if you want to throw out the dinosaurs...

http://balls.ie/football/new-rte-anc...-pundits-poll/

Page 28 of 31 FirstFirst ... 182627282930 ... LastLast