Thread: Receiver appointed to Ferrycarrig Park

5-figure sum, apparently. Fair play to him.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superkeeper View Post
    I still people should take there hats off to mick wallace, I think at this stage we know all his deals probably weren't above board, but at least unlike the other corrupt politicians put the money into trying to decolonize a local LOI side
    I wouldn't take my hat off to him at all.He was like all the other white knights.He used Wexford as a play thing just like Arkaga & Coughlan did at Cork City.When the s*** hit the fan the clubs went down the plughole like everything else these people were involved in.If Wallace was that interested in Wexford he would have set them up completely separate from all his other dealings which would have protected the club when Wallace got caught.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cornflakes View Post
    Don't think the GAA can afford it, they spent a lot of money on a field in Ferns and don't have the money to develop it now. I was told a few years ago that the Wexford Football League were sitting on a large amount of money but I'm not sure how true that is. Kevin Doyle has just donated a substantial amount of money to the club according to the Star. Looks like we'll be around next year!
    If this is what Kevin has done then fair play to him.He never forgot where he came from & who helped him reach the top of his profession.On the few occasions I have met Kevin he seemed a very honest genuine lad. A really smashing guy.I'm delighted for Wexford & I hope they go on from here to better things.

Formerly skibbereen co.cork but now Oregon USA
    25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by disgruntled View Post
    If this is what Kevin has done then fair play to him.He never forgot where he came from & who helped him reach the top of his profession.On the few occasions I have met Kevin he seemed a very honest genuine lad. A really smashing guy.I'm delighted for Wexford & I hope they go on from here to better things.
    Totally agree, would have been nice if he joined Foras when we were in trouble, wouldnt expect a 5 figure sum but €120 a year would not break him.
    west cork district league
    west cork commandos

Any former player taking a financial interest in the league is a good thing. Cork wringed every penny they could out of Doyle so he hardly owes them anything. Mick Wallace is his agent so hardly shocking he'd give them a dig out.

474 Posts
    Word among the Youth's fans at Longford tonight is that the financial commitment by Kevin Doyle is enough to keep us going next year. Should be good coverage in the Wexford local papers next Tuesday and I'll try to post a flavour of it here.

Is there any more info than was in today's Star? It seems WY will be fully amateur next season (as will Cobh and Shels) so should be sustainable for a while anyway.

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Any former player taking a financial interest in the league is a good thing. Cork wringed every penny they could out of Doyle so he hardly owes them anything. Mick Wallace is his agent so hardly shocking he'd give them a dig out.
    Every Penny? we got €130,000 for him and Shane Long, we didn't get any sell on clause money cos Tom Caughlan sold the rights and i think the sale from reading was after that company folded. Im not sure what that figure was but in know it was less than 50,000. When Reading first came in for Dave Mooney they offered €120,000 so Our Chairman at the time offered €120,000 for Steven Hunt in response. lol. they upped their bid for Mooney after that stunt. But Cork City did not "wringe every penny" unfortunately. Between than and Nissan Sponsorship deal that hit the club badly but we had a good owner at the time who covered the losses.
    west cork commandos

I believe Cork settled Doyle's sell-on clause for a 5-figure sum when they were in trouble. Either way, you did very well from the transfer considering he was developed in Wexford and at Pat's. You can hardly complain about only getting a couple of hundred grand out of him considering his other clubs only got a fraction of that. He owes you nothing.

86 Posts
    I thought Dolan was his agent ? Cork got €117k for Doyle plus add on's which Coughlan sold on later for pittance. Hardly a kings ransom. I think its good of Doyle not to forget where he came from. Pity the people of Wexford don't think the same as him about the club.

Dolan had some hand in Doyle's transfer but he wasn't his agent. Strictly speaking, Wallace was his "advisor" or consultant or whatever, but either way he has a lot of influence.

Look, Cork have done better out of transfer fees than any other LOI club. There's no other club in Ireland that's got close to €1 million from transfers, but Cork have, and they blew it all. Pleading the poor mouth because Doyle has chosen to help out his hometown club is a bit rich.

Look, Cork have done better out of transfer fees than any other LOI club. There's no other club in Ireland that's got close to €1 million from transfers, but Cork have, and they blew it all.
    But that has little bearing on this debate though

Pleading the poor mouth
    This is a privilege afforded to all LOI clubs, I think it was in the licensing or participation agreement or something.

because Doyle has chosen to help out his hometown club is a bit rich.
    Look, end of the day fair play to Doyler, we'd love it to happen to our club. He has hero status now imo. My only concern now though is did it happen too fast, and not give enough time to circle the wagons. Not all the problems are solved and WY need people pulling together on this, for the Heart Of The Game.

86 Posts
    Dolan had some hand in Doyle's transfer but he wasn't his agent. Strictly speaking, Wallace was his "advisor" or consultant or whatever, but either way he has a lot of influence.Look, Cork have done better out of transfer fees than any other LOI club. There's no other club in Ireland that's got close to €1 million from transfers, but Cork have, and they blew it all. Pleading the poor mouth because Doyle has chosen to help out his hometown club is a bit rich.
    Don't know where you got the poor mouth comment from as I have no problem with Doyle himself or any of his transfer fees what so ever.I was merely setting out what happened.

25 Posts
    Dolan's brother worked with Reading and Pat told him about the selling price clause in his contract €117,000, So insider information. Allegedly.City's highest was €500,000 for Dave Mooney, not exactly €1 million. Arkada big plans for six months ruined us. Bringing back George and Danny Murphy was expensive as well as Colin Healy and Gareth Farrelly. The wages were unsustainable. We were Broke by July.
    west cork commandos

448 Posts
    €200,000 for Dave Mooney.

415 Posts
    €400k for Alan Bennett was the highest wasn't it?

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    €400k for Alan Bennett was the highest wasn't it?
    highest reported yeah. Though I've been lead to believe that the fees reported for Bennett and O'Donovan were artificially inflated by the chairman at the time in order to increase the potential fees received for players after that.

His apparent thinking was that if English clubs saw that our players were going for those kinds of figures they wouldn't be able to offer lower numbers afterwards. Of course, the actual effect was that the public believed we were getting these large fees and the clubs were talking to each other and knew the real numbers so there was no positive benefit.

I can't say this is 100% true but I'd have no reason to doubt the individual who told me.

474 Posts
    Conflicting reports in local papers in Wexford today regarding the financial assistance provided by Kevin Doyle. In one report, Kevin Doyle's brother, who manages the family pub in Killinick, has stated that there is no basis for the reports that Kevin gave a substantial donation to the club and that all he did was give a normal donation to the Wexford Youths' Golf Classic which was held recently.

The second paper has managed to get an interview with Mick Wallace who states that he is confident that the Youths will be playing LOI football next year. Mick has stated that Kevin has always been helpful to the club and mentions a donation by another well-known (and generous) Youth's supporter. So that's clear then....

Finally, both also report that Steven Hunt is very close to purchasing Brady's pub in Rosslare Strand. Steven already owns a house in Rosslare.

21. Thanks From:

474 Posts
    Little coverage in this week's local papers on the Ferrycarrig Park situation. However, the vibes from the Youth's programme for the last home match against Mervue were mostly positive. Mick Wallace reported that he has already had a meeting with the receiver and has a good relationship with the mortgagor - Bank of Scotland Ireland. (Mick's problems have been mainly with ACC, I think.) However, he points out that BOSI want to quit Ireland and that they are trying to dispose of all their assets. Mick concludes by saying that he is confident that the future of the ground can be secured.

Shane Keegan's notes also suggest that he wishes to continue as manager for next year - one problem solved.

The substantial contribution from Kevin Doyle appears to have been simply an exaggerated rumour.

Was down in Rosslare during the weekend and Brady's pub is now showing "Sale Agreed."

23. Thanks From:

From what I've heard, the donation from Kevin Doyle was just his usual subs or whatever he contributes.

BOSI have been trying to get out of Ireland for a few years now but I think they realise they're stuck with a lot of the impaired loans from property developers. As long as Youths are able to pay up and Wallace isn't defaulting, you should be grand.