Page 13 of 148 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363113 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2013/14 Premier & Premier A

28 Posts
    Sad to hear that oldlegs..
    Toughess place to go and pick up points..
    As we're kinda in the same boat,i no how ye feel..
    We're struggling down here with players..
    We've same team from u10 up.
    And we're near enough to 30 now..
    Something had to give..
    Best of luck anyway,you still goin playing ball next year..?

Quote Originally Posted by donaldihno View Post
    Sad to hear that oldlegs..
    Toughess place to go and pick up points..
    As we're kinda in the same boat,i no how ye feel..
    We're struggling down here with players..
    We've same team from u10 up.
    And we're near enough to 30 now..
    Something had to give..
    Best of luck anyway,you still goin playing ball next year..?
    how about yer selfs donald will ye have some team in the aul next season then ?

28 Posts
    Yeah.weve the 1 team in division 3 now killer..
    We'd have no team competitive for Premier A next year..

well if the aul went down that route of needing 2nd string teams/youths they would 1 of 2 divisions in aul then how can clubs compete for instance you play for grattan or knocka celtic how could you set up a underage teams when you have the like of castleview and temple in that area all ready successful in what they are doing with kids set ups so would grattan and knocka celtic have a chanace ?? me personally no !!

Yeah.weve the 1 team in division 3 now killer..
    We'd have no team competitive for Premier A next year..
    well at least yer club is still represented in aul for next im sure not many will agree cause of them think ye will run away with what ever section yer in but sure come to that bridge when it happenes at least yer still hanging in there

28 Posts
    We just wanna get our young players enjoying there game of ball to be honest..if we win something along the way..great..
    If not,so be it..as long as we're enjoying our football again which was lacking the last 6 months of season

We just wanna get our young players enjoying there game of ball to be honest..if we win something along the way..great..
    If not,so be it..as long as we're enjoying our football again which was lacking the last 6 months of season
    well said lad wish ye all the best for the season coming im sure our paths might cross at some stage who knows

41 Posts
    Always very sad to hear a club has gone,,,,,,,,
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by Friar Tuck View Post
    What about greenwood will they avoid the drop this year?????
    from what im hearing on greenwood nags is bringing on most of his evergreen team with him so a big jump up from div 3 to premier for thos players did it my self and hard work its if they can cut it up there ! so things not looking great now for them and always if its all true another div3 gone in the wilderness in evergreen

FORMERLY: Donnie Darko
    27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redandwhite View Post
    can you really call it a 'club' when you have one team with no backup structure and as soon as that team reaches a certain age or a few players leave (god knows there is plenty of resons why fellas leave these days) they have no alternative but to fold. should it not form some part of the aul's guidelines that for a team to compete in the premier division they at least have either a youths team or a second string in the lower leagues. this not a criticism of knockavilla but this is not the first time this has happened and it does paint a good image for the league to be fair. the problem is you can see this happening more and more over the next couple of years....killumney/blarney st/kilreen/ all have one team if im not mistaken?
    Killumney have started to put building blocks in place since the beginning of last year. Mick entered a youth team in to the first division last year. A team made up of mainly 16 & 17 year olds and they went on and won the league. This year we are hoping to have a youths team & a 17's team. Every year the club tries to make progress on and off the field so we are building for the future. Dressing rooms / MSL or whatever it maybe. The club only formed in 88 so I don't think we are doing to badly. The core of our team are there close to 4 years now and many are friends off the pitch so we are trying to play the right way with buddies as people are saying. Most players outside are loyal to Killumney and if people leave it is usually down to retirement or work commitments. The so called club hopping doesn't really happen with us and we try to strengthen the squad every year by adding 1 or 2 quality players. We have come a long way since winning the county cup anyways.
    Last edited by Kearney; 05/07/2013 at 9:31 PM.

Pity I really liked evergreens approach to the game and I'd say they taught they found a little gem when they pulled that fella nags out of the gutter and gave him a chance to get his managerial career back on track. He didn't hang around too long to pay them back did he what was it 6 months?

Quote Originally Posted by redandwhite View Post
    can you really call it a 'club' when you have one team with no backup structure and as soon as that team reaches a certain age or a few players leave (god knows there is plenty of resons why fellas leave these days) they have no alternative but to fold. should it not form some part of the aul's guidelines that for a team to compete in the premier division they at least have either a youths team or a second string in the lower leagues. this not a criticism of knockavilla but this is not the first time this has happened and it does paint a good image for the league to be fair. the problem is you can see this happening more and more over the next couple of years....killumney/blarney st/kilreen/ all have one team if im not mistaken?
    Kilreen have a hugely sucessful underage structure and alot of their team played schoolboys with them as far as i know

Quote Originally Posted by schoolboygodno9 View Post
    Kilreen have a hugely sucessful underage structure and alot of their team played schoolboys with them as far as i know
    ya your right there godno9 but that what i am saying the like of your evergreen and greenmount even your pearse would find it hard to compete with kilreen cause all the kids would want to go out there then

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Spot on JRyno, loyalty has been replaced by the SAT NAV. A true affiliation with a club is priceless, winning something along the way will provide a life time of memories.

Anyone who has ever put in serious time with his club will tell you there is no better feeling in football than to do well with the people you have played with through good times an bad,,,,,,,,,the worst thing for me is with all this club hopping going on, the real club players get pushed out for short term gain, clubs loose those people who kept them going when they had nothing,,,,,,,,, games changed like everything else in life i suppose nowadays, dosent mean I have to like it though.

im old school so no offence meant, its just my 2 cents.
    Dead right! We re-formed in 2007 and spent 2 seasons bottom of Div 3 until 2 players took over the management. Basically the same squad were promoted to div 2 the season after and have finished 5th & 4th in our 2 seasons up. Alot is down to whos running the club also! Some fellas might flake off if they aren't getting their game or if they dont like the manager. We are a lucky in the way that the majority of lads stick around even if they're not getting much game time because training is very competitive but good craic before and after. One lad joined in 2009 and finally started getting in the starting 11 the tail end of the season just gone. Thats loyalty for ya! Another lad has been offered Munster Senior by 2 different clubs and I have no doubt he would be more than able for it, but he's saying he's really enjoying it with ourselves. We lost one lad to Kinsale seniors last season, thats about it.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Friar Tuck View Post
    Pity I really liked evergreens approach to the game and I'd say they taught they found a little gem when they pulled that fella nags out of the gutter and gave him a chance to get his managerial career back on track. He didn't hang around too long to pay them back did he what was it 6 months?
    oooooohhhh

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by killer"B" View Post
    ya your right there godno9 but that what i am saying the like of your evergreen and greenmount even your pearse would find it hard to compete with kilreen cause all the kids would want to go out there then
    Greenmount had a great junior team years ago and won the lot in cork. When a lot of teams around them were stepping up MSL they never went up and won everything in the AUL. They failed to bring in younger players and when the older lads were retiring they found themselves slipping down the leagues. They had no underage or even youth team to start bleeding them in. Temple utd had a fantastic youth team under John Daly. Players were with him since 8 years of age right up to youths and won the lot. Ross O Callaghan, Philip Cunningham, Paddy O Shea, Eoin O Neill all playing senior at 17 years. Temple had a chance to enter a second junior team and put all these youngfellas in as a team. They never did and look at the club now. Shame

From what i hear Greenwood have signed a few players alright, whether there coming from Evergreen or wherever im not sure, but a few of their national cup winning team from a few years back are coming back, so hopefully they will have a decent squad, they have lost a few to Australia also. Dont lnow much about the new manager but i hope they do well, they are a good CLUB and the AUL need clubs like greenwood

Crescent AthleticFc back in the aul for the forthcoming season the div3 sections will have some very strong teams

24 Posts
    Red and White I agree with you that there should be less clubs with more 2nd and third teams in the big clubs, and they should all have an underage set up, you'd see better standards all round then, but that's an ideal scenario, until that happens you can't really knock 1 team clubs at adult level. There's simply not enough teams to let all the lads who want to play football at junior and senior level there at the moment and that's why these 1 team clubs should be commended for what they are doing and not knocked.

70 Posts
    I agree Radio. I think there should be great credit given to managers and committees of 1 team clubs for keeping them going. And to the players who show the loyalty. Especially those clubs who don't poach a bagful of players from elsewhere!