Sad to hear that oldlegs..
Toughess place to go and pick up points..
As we're kinda in the same boat,i no how ye feel..
We're struggling down here with players..
We've same team from u10 up.
And we're near enough to 30 now..
Something had to give..
Best of luck anyway,you still goin playing ball next year..?
Yeah.weve the 1 team in division 3 now killer..
We'd have no team competitive for Premier A next year..
well if the aul went down that route of needing 2nd string teams/youths they would 1 of 2 divisions in aul then how can clubs compete for instance you play for grattan or knocka celtic how could you set up a underage teams when you have the like of castleview and temple in that area all ready successful in what they are doing with kids set ups so would grattan and knocka celtic have a chanace ?? me personally no !!
We just wanna get our young players enjoying there game of ball to be honest..if we win something along the way..great..
If not,so be it..as long as we're enjoying our football again which was lacking the last 6 months of season
Always very sad to hear a club has gone,,,,,,,,
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
from what im hearing on greenwood nags is bringing on most of his evergreen team with him so a big jump up from div 3 to premier for thos players did it my self and hard work its if they can cut it up there ! so things not looking great now for them and always if its all true another div3 gone in the wilderness in evergreen
Killumney have started to put building blocks in place since the beginning of last year. Mick entered a youth team in to the first division last year. A team made up of mainly 16 & 17 year olds and they went on and won the league. This year we are hoping to have a youths team & a 17's team. Every year the club tries to make progress on and off the field so we are building for the future. Dressing rooms / MSL or whatever it maybe. The club only formed in 88 so I don't think we are doing to badly. The core of our team are there close to 4 years now and many are friends off the pitch so we are trying to play the right way with buddies as people are saying. Most players outside are loyal to Killumney and if people leave it is usually down to retirement or work commitments. The so called club hopping doesn't really happen with us and we try to strengthen the squad every year by adding 1 or 2 quality players. We have come a long way since winning the county cup anyways.
Last edited by Kearney; 05/07/2013 at 9:31 PM.
Pity I really liked evergreens approach to the game and I'd say they taught they found a little gem when they pulled that fella nags out of the gutter and gave him a chance to get his managerial career back on track. He didn't hang around too long to pay them back did he what was it 6 months?
Dead right! We re-formed in 2007 and spent 2 seasons bottom of Div 3 until 2 players took over the management. Basically the same squad were promoted to div 2 the season after and have finished 5th & 4th in our 2 seasons up. Alot is down to whos running the club also! Some fellas might flake off if they aren't getting their game or if they dont like the manager. We are a lucky in the way that the majority of lads stick around even if they're not getting much game time because training is very competitive but good craic before and after. One lad joined in 2009 and finally started getting in the starting 11 the tail end of the season just gone. Thats loyalty for ya! Another lad has been offered Munster Senior by 2 different clubs and I have no doubt he would be more than able for it, but he's saying he's really enjoying it with ourselves. We lost one lad to Kinsale seniors last season, thats about it.
Greenmount had a great junior team years ago and won the lot in cork. When a lot of teams around them were stepping up MSL they never went up and won everything in the AUL. They failed to bring in younger players and when the older lads were retiring they found themselves slipping down the leagues. They had no underage or even youth team to start bleeding them in. Temple utd had a fantastic youth team under John Daly. Players were with him since 8 years of age right up to youths and won the lot. Ross O Callaghan, Philip Cunningham, Paddy O Shea, Eoin O Neill all playing senior at 17 years. Temple had a chance to enter a second junior team and put all these youngfellas in as a team. They never did and look at the club now. Shame
From what i hear Greenwood have signed a few players alright, whether there coming from Evergreen or wherever im not sure, but a few of their national cup winning team from a few years back are coming back, so hopefully they will have a decent squad, they have lost a few to Australia also. Dont lnow much about the new manager but i hope they do well, they are a good CLUB and the AUL need clubs like greenwood
Crescent AthleticFc back in the aul for the forthcoming season the div3 sections will have some very strong teams![]()
Red and White I agree with you that there should be less clubs with more 2nd and third teams in the big clubs, and they should all have an underage set up, you'd see better standards all round then, but that's an ideal scenario, until that happens you can't really knock 1 team clubs at adult level. There's simply not enough teams to let all the lads who want to play football at junior and senior level there at the moment and that's why these 1 team clubs should be commended for what they are doing and not knocked.
I agree Radio. I think there should be great credit given to managers and committees of 1 team clubs for keeping them going. And to the players who show the loyalty. Especially those clubs who don't poach a bagful of players from elsewhere!