Results 4,301 to 4,320 of 4405

Thread: Cork AUL 2012/13

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Congrats to all the winners this season. Great way to end Prem on a Super Tuesday!! Skilly left Blackstone - and won an AOH and a league title......I told him he was wrong to go!! Bubbles too spent a while with us so especially glad for the two lads.

Lets get the summer rolling - Chiefscout - you gonna go with the guess 100 and bound to get some right plan again???

What I have heard so far:

All the Street ones, must be about 800 linked to ye now 1for!!

Derek Daniels back to Bohs?
    Glen new manager?
    Crescent back?
    Somewhere between 2 and 102 linked to us........but a few irons in the fire!!
    Mark Nolan to Kilumney?
    Kilumney and Lakewood to merge and go senior?
    why would Mark Nolan move to Kilumney, I've seen the Glen a few times over the past 2 seasons and he was stand out player, well deserved place in the Oscar Traynor set up and from what I've seen very passionate about his current club

77 Posts
    Lads. My views on here and mine alone not of pearse Celtic nothing todo with them

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by padre pio View Post
    why would Mark Nolan move to Kilumney, I've seen the Glen a few times over the past 2 seasons and he was stand out player, well deserved place in the Oscar Traynor set up and from what I've seen very passionate about his current club
    Going to killumney would be a mistake for mark.....hes been with glen through all divisions so he must stay for premier footy......i can see why killumney want him after last tuesadays performance against coachford in midfield with all the hoofing but killumney would also need two full backs if they want to progress in my opinion....best of luck to the glen next year

Quote Originally Posted by backpass View Post
    Going to killumney would be a mistake for mark.....hes been with glen through all divisions so he must stay for premier footy......i can see why killumney want him after last tuesadays performance against coachford in midfield with all the hoofing but killumney would also need two full backs if they want to progress in my opinion....best of luck to the glen next year
    2 fullbacks backpass their fullback calla is the best in cork and the other full is not half bad either.2 tasty games left inish v kilreen and kilumney v park for runners up in both prem and prem A .

FORMERLY: Donnie Darko
    27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backpass View Post
    Haha some man. I have to laugh at this comment. First off we are not a hoofing team. If you came to our games you would know that & before you mention the long throws I know its not nice to watch but it is a weapon. When the ball is in play, we play & I'm sure other teams would testify to that. Regards our full backs. I find that insulting to them & the club. They have arguably been our 2 most consistent performers this year. Ps we all know who hoof the ball

hi guys..just like to well done to all the north side teams who had a great year....
    and best player for me would have to be mark for inish villa fine player and still only young !!!!

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the hawk View Post
    How can you say Ucc and corinthians had good season .they both finished trophyless.
    In a season where an exceptional Avondale team have won everything, 2nd and 3rd in the MSL Premier could be regarded as having a good season.
    I think it is possible to finish trophyless and have a good season

250 Posts
    "Best of the season" posts are all in the one thread now.

Quote Originally Posted by corkgaffer View Post
    a disgrace of a league.... What a ridiculous comment!!!

And what would you call it then,the standard in the league is shocking and no way is it senior football and the 1st dvision is the same

I would never call a league shocking, but the teams have nothing to go for or worry about. You can't go down and if you know you won't get promoted what's there to push them.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by el nino coro View Post
    And what would you call it then,the standard in the league is shocking and no way is it senior football and the 1st dvision is the same
    What would you propose?
    There was only 1 division in the MSL until 1986.
    Then a few AUL teams joined at once forcing a second division to be created.

If there was only 1 MSL division now, how would you get in to it?

Lower leagues are always of a lower standard - you don't expect lower divisions to be of a higher standard do you?

How would YOU organise things better?

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    What would you propose?
    There was only 1 division in the MSL until 1986.
    Then a few AUL teams joined at once forcing a second division to be created.

If there was only 1 MSL division now, how would you get in to it?

Lower leagues are always of a lower standard - you don't expect lower divisions to be of a higher standard do you?

How would YOU organise things better?
    I dont know im not a great organiser of things,fair play to wilton on winning it but most teams in the league are just going through the motions as they know if they finish with zero points it will be the same as finishing 3rd,maybe something has to be done between msl and aul but until that happens the league should never be branded as senior

lads is innish and kilreen on this evening ??

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by killer"B" View Post
    lads is innish and kilreen on this evening ??
    Tuesday, 4th June.

Premier A: Kilreen Celtic v Innishvilla, Murphy's Farm, Dan Deady, (Kick-Off 7.30pm).

Quote Originally Posted by K.C. View Post
    Tuesday, 4th June.

Premier A: Kilreen Celtic v Innishvilla, Murphy's Farm, Dan Deady, (Kick-Off 7.30pm).
    nice one kc and good luck !

Quote Originally Posted by el nino coro View Post
    You have a very narrow minded viewpoint of the MSL. To conclude that a team finishing with 0 points is on a par with one that finishes third really does speak volumes as to your prejudice. When a club makes the decision to enter the MSL it does so with its own agenda but more times than enough its with the desire to grow as a club and participate as a club at a level higher than the AUL can deliver. The AUL has an amazing array of talent in all its divisions but the opportunity for clubs to progress in stature can be limited to say the least. Everyone wants their team or club to be playing at the highest level possible and compete against the best teams around the country. You wont do that in the AUL. Having varying levels of opportunity to play at increasingly higher levels at a club has been proven as the catalyst to enabling clubs to grow. As long as the club is run the right way and coaching is in essence harmonized there is an opportunity for a club to bring lads through from 8 year old right the way up to play in the FAI senior Cup.

You have to look at the likes of Douglas Hall, Mayfield and Midleton to see an example of a successful club. Avondale are just a successful team that all. I don't believe calling yourself senior makes you a better team or contributes to you playing better but the concept of being a senior club intimates and initiates a better ethos and way of thinking but ultimately enables progression. Facilities such as pitches and dressing rooms are much better with a particular emphasis on improving them reiterated by the league. Referees are fairly good too but I wont go into that too much. If you look at Blarney and Bandon at the weekend just past there was a fair few of the starting 11 in both clubs came through their under age and academies and the opportunity that presented itself to the players of these clubs that isn't available to the AUL clubs. Within the second division you have the likes of Crosshaven with a wonderful and progressive youth set up that has drawn in the likes of Greg O Halloran to play and coach. Playing senior is about the mindset of the players who buy into it and the club that demands that mindset and promotes it. With the right approach and the right investment the sky's the limit as a senior club and without having a dig at the AUL the ceiling for opportunity unfortunately is much lower.

If you take Avondale for example you could easily say without issue that they would hold their own in the LOI division 1 (their only loss in the last 12 months was a one nil loss to Bohemians in Dublin) they could make that transition easily enough if they wanted and invested in facilities this is an example of what a senior club can be capable of. That opportunity will never present itself to an AUL club and the only way current AUL players will get to play at that level is to leave their own league or hope their club becomes a senior club.. This season Wilton , Mallow and Casement had squads that were as lot more mature in terms of personnel than the rest of the clubs. Both Wilton and Mallow went up and casement retained the ability to beat anyone on the day. A vast majority of the remainder clubs had very young teams including our own. This was reflected in poor away form for every team bar the top 2 and was a clear sign of immaturity as a team. We knew this would be the case but as a club like one or two others we are building putting in place structures that will enable us to grow. This season we have played Avondale lost 2-1, Midleton won 2-1 came up against a super Leeds side in the Munster senior cup we traveled to Dublin to play in the Intermediate and learned a lot from all these experiences (had we won in Dublin we would have got into the 2 round of the FAI cup, the team that beat us got Limerick at home). Were else would you get the opportunity to pit your wits against the best amateur or professional teams in the country? Im pretty sure that opportunity doesnt present itself in the AUL.

There are some magnificent teams in the MSL premier and its a hard task to sit among them as Fermoy have found out this season but as a new senior club that's what we aspire to do. If you don't aspire to do that you should just play 5 aside at bishopstown every Saturday. Those who don't aspire have their own worries just like every other club but in the MSL 2 you don't have the worry of relegation and therefore a platform to build and its this concept you see a lot of the clubs engaging in. That doesn't mean that accountability doesn't come into the equation I can vouch for that. Like life in general there are those who are just happy plodding along and fulfilling fixtures. Then there are those who aspire to greatness or do better. Its reaching those heights that can only be achieved as a senior club. There are some brilliant players and managers in the AUL that would do well in the MSL for sure but at the same time how many of us know at least 3 or 4 fellas who are great players who just sit in the pub all day Saturday and have no interest.

Theres an old saying treat a fella like a professional and he'll respond like one and in a similar vein this is what happens at a senior club in division 2. That seems to be the case in a few AUL clubs for sure as I've seen some fantastic football and preparation from some of the clubs but doing so in a senior setting will enable a club not just the team to drive on to success. In any given day you have to beat whoever lines out in front of you rain wind snow or sun. They might not be the highest quality opposition but they represent the challenge on that day thats football. Before you speak you mind about footballing standards in the MSL you need to open it a bit.

19. Thanks From:

70 Posts
    Yawn yawn yawn!

Quote Originally Posted by Just my opinion View Post
    Yawn yawn yawn!
    each to their own !!! then again its just my opinion

84 Posts
    Can ye keep post's in regards to msl to it's own forum this is the AUL forum if ye don"t mind thanks

Are Park and Killumney playing off for 2nd place this Saturday??