Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

Thread: 2013 squad & transfer rumours

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabs88 View Post
    Never rated him very highly, he struggled last year when called upon, but he has been at the club for a long time, originally came with fellow drogs Danny O'Connor and Andy Myler iirc.. He probably has his eyes set on a management job in the future so good luck to him
    Yeah he arrived with Myler and O'Connor in 2005 I think. It seems so long ago. Was it one season or two he had with us the first time? I can't recall. This will be his third season back?

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Yeah he arrived with Myler and O'Connor in 2005 I think. It seems so long ago. Was it one season or two he had with us the first time? I can't recall. This will be his third season back?
    gary cronin played the 05 and 06 seasons for us. This is his fourth season back as he played 2010,2011,2012 and this coming season. He played against us when we met Bray in the Fai cup in 09!

1,104 Posts
    Jaysus. Nice guy by all accounts and a great example to the younger lads of keeping fit etc but he's not really provided any memorable moments for us in his five seasons. Positive ones anyway. Still if he has something to offer as a coach then let him at it.

1,104 Posts
    We got €5k for Crawley according to The Daily Star today. Better than nothing, he wasn't with us very long really.

205 Posts
    Thats great!
    Sporting F*ck All!

I'm sure Pats got a few quid too. Was there for 3/4 years

1,104 Posts
    Do you still get training compensation if you release the player rather than him leaving at the end of a contract? I did look at the regulations recently but I can't remember the specifics.

I'd only be guessing, but I think that even if Pats waived any claim on him so he could sign for Longford, they'd still be entitled to money if he moved on.

205 Posts
    Do you still get training compensation if you release the player rather than him leaving at the end of a contract? I did look at the regulations recently but I can't remember the specifics.
    Good question. Not sure if pats get anything in that case.
    Sporting F*ck All!

1,104 Posts
    The buying club pays the money to the FAI for distribution I believe so I'm sure they're all over it!

863 Posts
    The buying club pays the money to the FAI for distribution I believe so I'm sure they're all over it!
    Dont ya just love how all the money goes through mr delaneys office
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

1,104 Posts
    I see our new striker David O'Sullivan won the FAI Intermediate Player of the Year at the FAI awards at the weekend. Fair play to him. In other less welcome news Craig Hyland has now signed for Waterford which is a bit annoying. Never good to see a decent player leave to join a direct rival but he has to do what suits him best of obviously. Can only hope he has a stinker every time we play them but does well generally!

205 Posts
    I'll be very surprised if we are even near the top come the end of the season.
    Sporting F*ck All!

1,104 Posts
    I'd imagine this is TC's last shot at getting us up and I think he'd agree with that himself. To be honest I'll reserve judgment until the real stuff starts and we get a look at how the squad is performing. Lower expectations may be no harm. Wouldn't mind seeing one or two more brought in to strengthen us a bit though.

205 Posts
    I might go as far to say that he won't last the season.
    Sporting F*ck All!

81 Posts
    He deserves this chance, but this should be the last chance.

The brand of football isn't the best, we are probably going in slightly the wrong direction.

2,446 Posts
    I thought Hyland had joined Cliftonville or someone in the IL?

81 Posts
    Cancelled his contract with Crusaders seemingly

863 Posts
    I know we all like to moan about the style of football but if we get up and stay up then after a few years we can moan but for now getting up is all that matters. I really hope we can do it coz im physically sick of this division! Hyland going to Waterford is a disaster, TC will regret letting him go the way he did yet.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    Cancelled his contract with Crusaders seemingly
    there was a good piece in the sun on him today. the commutin from naas to belfast didnt work out and crusaders allowed him to cancel his agreement. That is a big boost to Waterford so I am not as optimistic as earlier but I will hold court for now.

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast