Page 35 of 74 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast

Thread: Ciaran Clark D Free agent b.1989

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Some very good blocks and interceptions from Clark in the first half hour against Arsenal. Looking the more assured CB beside his more experienced partner Vlaar.
    How is Stevens doing?

130 Posts
    Ok so far, nothing special but nothing wrong either. Every now and then he seems to push too far forward and leaves a gap down the left hand side but is usually quick to get back and cover. It is a problem with the likes of Oxlade Chamberlain running into the gap.

60 Posts
    Clark had a great game. Stevens was decent if unspectacular.
    Always look on the bright side of life

417 Posts
    Why cant Clark play like that when he has green on.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

171 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    Why cant Clark play like that when he has green on.
    He's only played one game for us in his natural position. Out of three caps. And he did little wrong against Greece.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Supreme feet View Post
    He's only played one game for us in his natural position. Out of three caps. And he did little wrong against Greece.
    Yah odd thing to say considering he's barely played in the green.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

2,771 Posts
    Thought he played very well too. There was one block in particular in the last few mins that typified his game. Played well to the end. Good to see...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Thought he played very well too. There was one block in particular in the last few mins that typified his game. Played well to the end. Good to see...
    Was that when he cut out Arshavin's cross with, I think, Gervinho waiting to turn it in? Outstanding bit of defending.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Was that when he cut out Arshavin's cross with, I think, Gervinho waiting to turn it in? Outstanding bit of defending.
    The very one.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

that CLEArance from the left was superb. the way he directed it out to the right as well was fantastic.
    coming into his own after a shaky few games. wonder what CD now makes of him

hopefully Dunnes absence might not be noticed as much in march*

if he is absent. which is looking likely

51 Posts
    I think when Dunne comes back next month - you see Vlaar and Dunne as the 2 central defender, where will Clark play then?

I imagine he'll play centre half when Dunne gets injured again, if he even wins his place back to begin with. I suspect the honey monster will be moved on as soon as possible anyway.

675 Posts
    Agree. I'd say Dunne's Villa career will be over at the end of this season. Certainly can't see him coming straight back into the defence if he gets back to fitness. Fortunately Villa's centre halves have been injured a lot, so would be surprised to not see him play a bit. But I'd have serious concerns about what kind of match practice he'll have for qualifiers in the first half of next year.

2,081 Posts
    Clark missed a super chance while ago. Met a corner almost perfectly at the near post but just glanced it wide at the far post. Booked for a cynical foul on Roberts.

51 Posts
    In fairest to him tonight - he kept the defence together for most part tonight - Baker was dodgy and Clark was barking out the orders so fair play - i didn't think he was good enough earlier in the season but he is changing my tune .... but bigger tests to come.....

Interesting piece I read this morning, it mentioned that the first half was full of chances for either side, not because of creative football, but because of the defending on show from both sides....

2,284 Posts
    'Ciaran Clark determined to make mark with Republic of Ireland': http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/inter...-ireland-mark/

Aston Villa central defender Ciaran Clark has reiterated his commitment and desire to play for the Republic of Ireland.

Clark, who has skippered Villa in recent matches, started Ireland's friendly international with Greece last month.

He is still eligible to play for England whom he represented at under-17 and under-18 level, as he has not played in a competitive match for Giovanni Trappatoni's team.

But Clark is still determined to play for the country of the birth of his parents.

He said: "It was nice to get the game last time, a friendly. All I can do is keep trying to play well here at Villa and hopefully I'll be in the back of their minds with Ireland.

"Wes Hoolahan was in as well against Greece and a couple of other lads were picked as well. It does give the other players hope now they might get a chance in the up and coming fixtures.

"I was regular for England Under-17, Under-18s, at the start of my career, but it's moved on now.

"I know there are a couple of friendly internationals leading up to the World Cup qualifiers and I've got to see what happens with that.

"Would I go back to England? No chance of that, not at all."

Clark, 23, has relished being Villa captain in the absence of the injured Ron Vlaar and admits skippering several of the players at youth level has made the role easier.

He said: "At the start of the season I never imagined I would be captain now. When a new manager comes in, you just want to try to get a place in the team first and foremost.

"That was my only goal and I've managed to play a number of games which has been a massive bonus for me.

"I captained at reserve and youth-team levels. I am vocal on the pitch. I do like to bark the orders out. It is just passing on info really, getting everyone communicating.

"It is maybe easier to communicate with lads you've played with for a while. The older lads are a lot more experienced and know what they should be doing anyway."

Current first-team players such as Clark, Nathan Baker and Chris Herd all graduated through the academy ranks at Villa.

Clark said: "It is good because we've come through the youth team, even younger than that, right through since the under-18s and reserves.

"We've won youth team and reserve leagues so we are all good mates and all know each other's games really well so that can only be good."

The Sunday Times feature picked him out as "one who got away from England" in their feature last week. Just gifted Spurs a second goal with a horrible misplaced pass in midfield.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    The Sunday Times feature picked him out as "one who got away from England" in their feature last week. Just gifted Spurs a second goal with a horrible misplaced pass in midfield.
    Clark is a poor player, I've see him play lots of times live and he's too rash in the tackle, likely to give a pen away or get himself sent off.

He put SSL out for 2 months with a brutal mistimed tackle in an Ireland training session plus nearly cut Whelan in half with a terrible diving in tackle.

He lacks composure too.

If this joker gets to play in any of the big qualifiers then we could have problems.

Completely over rated!

Duffys a better prospect.

3,501 Posts
    wasn't it McShane that put St Ledger out?

Page 35 of 74 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast