Page 309 of 590 FirstFirst ... 209259299307308309310311319359409 ... LastLast
Results 6,161 to 6,180 of 11790

Thread: Munster Senior League

Well said indeed thebooboys.....No doubt though that in making this comment as a Leeside fan the Midleton chairman will be on to the Leeside Chairman to voice his concern over your spurious comments. ( the Leeside chairman's phone will be hoping this Monday morning)... You're veiled dig at Midleton/Cobh hiding behind an anonymous name on a forum is nothing short of scandalous. You're 100% right I'm not a Leeside club member I have just checked out a few of your games this season. Glen Celtic, Midleton and Crosshaven. Team knows how to play football al-right which par of the course for one of Dave Halls teams but you have a long way to go yet before becoming an established MSL team.

Good game on Saturday. Both sides done well. Crosshaven done well to get their point. Defended as a unit and keeper very deserving of his man of the match award as he definitely kept them in it. Crosshaven could have pinched it once or twice in the end on the break but in the end goals win games not good performances. Issue in relation to the pitch explained to me prior to kick of by MSL commitee member from the club. Home teams prerogative to play anywhere as long as pitch meets guidelines which in this instance it did. Delay in getting into dressing room unfortunate but understandable I voiced my opinion on it on the day and explanation was sufficient. Its a learning curve for all at Leeside bearing in mind very young team. I think one too many drinks in Cronins toto and whilst your entitled to give your opinion on here seeing as it is a forum your comments are not helpful. Looking forward to welcoming Crosshaven to Littleisland

FORMERLY: Donnie Darko
    27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    mighty almighty toto not from leeside,also leesides pitch has been the same size since pre-season,midleton were poor on the day and leeside were better with an mostly parish players,i heard the bus from cobh was hopping after the mayfield result. some great players down in midleton/cobh!!!
    I love the little “mostly parish player's" comment. It is a bit outrageous coming from you booboys of all people. Its probably only this year that ye can say that considering in the last 4/5 years the majority of leesides good players came from everywhere but Little Island/Glounthaune. Can you tell me what the catchment area is for parish players again? Every decent side will have players not from the area they are playing out of + Leeside are no exception.

Official Representative
    Quote Originally Posted by corkgaffer View Post
    Good game on Saturday. Both sides done well. Crosshaven done well to get their point. Defended as a unit and keeper very deserving of his man of the match award as he definitely kept them in it. Crosshaven could have pinched it once or twice in the end on the break but in the end goals win games not good performances. Issue in relation to the pitch explained to me prior to kick of by MSL commitee member from the club. Home teams prerogative to play anywhere as long as pitch meets guidelines which in this instance it did. Delay in getting into dressing room unfortunate but understandable I voiced my opinion on it on the day and explanation was sufficient. Its a learning curve for all at Leeside bearing in mind very young team. I think one too many drinks in Cronins toto and whilst your entitled to give your opinion on here seeing as it is a forum your comments are not helpful. Looking forward to welcoming Crosshaven to Littleisland
    Spot on Cork Gaffer - I only arrived for the second half & considered it a point gained although we nearly snatched victory at the death but the Leeside keeper made a super stop.
    I spent ten minutes on the phone today with the Club Secretary in Leeside who distanced himself & the club entirely from Toto's comments.
    The U16 Girls match was over just before two & resulted in a delay into the dressing rooms for both teams which was unfortunate. At Crosshaven AFC we cater for a large schoolgirl section & it is important that they are given the privacy they require when changing. Sadly the clubhouse layout does not facilitate both men & girls in the clubhouse at the same time. We have planning permission granted for a redevelopment of the same which will once complete eliminate this problem.
    As for the pitch issue. The bottom pitch in Camden is in decent enough nick although the committee would prefer to see the Senior team play on the main pitch this decision is the managers. We respect his decision & the pitch is regulation size.
    We, Crosshaven AFC, will look forward to our trip to Leeside later in the season.

Quote Originally Posted by Donnie Darko View Post
    I love the little “mostly parish player's" comment. It is a bit outrageous coming from you booboys of all people. Its probably only this year that ye can say that considering in the last 4/5 years the majority of leesides good players came from everywhere but Little Island/Glounthaune. Can you tell me what the catchment area is for parish players again? Every decent side will have players not from the area they are playing out of + Leeside are no exception.
    Totally agree Donnie,if I'm correct in saying this,watched one of leesides fai cup games a couple of seasons ago,didn't leeside have half a youghal side playing 2years ago and a few from midleton aswell,there was very little parish players that day,midleton have always kept local as much as possible,was talking to there manager,he said this year had to sign outside,talent,due to the players emigrating and work commitments.he said a good u-19 team coming through which will help,the dried up supply from underage in the last 3-4 years.every team needs to have a few outsiders to compete at the top,very hard for small towns to survive just with local talent.

24 Posts
    Midleton is hardly a small town! But I wouldn't be holding it against any team that try's to get the best available players to sign for their club.

To clarify, that was 2009-2010 season, we had 2 youghal players & 2 midleton, all of whom had worked with that manager in the past. But for the most part Leeside has predominantly been a parish club but like most have occasionally brought in people from other areas.

And Donnie Darko, this comment
    "in the last 4/5 years the majority of leesides good players came from everywhere but Little Island/Glounthaune"
    is total bull!!! We've always had a local core, unlucky.

Ironic this coming from a leeside supporter.i went to watch a Keane cup game in leeside park is it? Versus midleton it was,and to be honest on first arrival I couldn't understand why I saw two sidelines,one brought 5yrds inside The other,and can't be certain but could say they length was bought 5 yards shorter either sides aswell.plus on the playing surface won't talk much about it because garryvoe beach would have been a carpet compared at the time,but all I can say leeside used there poor facilities to the fore on the day winning 2-1 especially after being wracked 5-0 a week before by same opposition on a carpet!call a spade a spade lads.crosshaven entitled to play on what ever pitch they like.better than a beach I suppose.

Mighty, if you had open your eyes u would of seen that there was 1 line for the sidline, the other line 5 yards in where the 2 lines for the 2 technical boxes. Leeside pitch is exact same size this year as previous years. Pitch is pushed over towards the far fence as we have problems now and again at the near side with flooding during the bad weather. Like every club does including yourselves ok.Ye moaned back then that we bought in the pitch when we beat ye and your still on about it now, this was explained to you before but it seems to have GONE OVER YOUR HEAD AGAIN... Our pitch is wider than yours FACT.

Quote Originally Posted by Mighty almighty View Post
    Totally agree Donnie,if I'm correct in saying this,watched one of leesides fai cup games a couple of seasons ago,didn't leeside have half a youghal side playing 2years ago and a few from midleton aswell,there was very little parish players that day,midleton have always kept local as much as possible,was talking to there manager,he said this year had to sign outside,talent,due to the players emigrating and work commitments.he said a good u-19 team coming through which will help,the dried up supply from underage in the last 3-4 years.every team needs to have a few outsiders to compete at the top,very hard for small towns to survive just with local talent.
    As booboys has just told you, had 2 from youghal and 2 from midleton. As for emigrating from the Midleton team, just 1 i think it was Stacky is it? I went to watch the game v Mayfield 2 weeks ago and i actually heard a few locals giving out that there is very few from Midleton playing senior, "ramblers reserves" was the talk. I suppose you have to look at it as well with all these players coming in you will have a strong junior team, consisting mostly of last years seniors so you might win a trophy for Daddy in yere 30th year and have a trophy for him at the big do come the end of the season.

magpie
    Quote Originally Posted by bluey View Post
    As booboys has just told you, had 2 from youghal and 2 from midleton. As for emigrating from the Midleton team, just 1 i think it was Stacky is it? I went to watch the game v Mayfield 2 weeks ago and i actually heard a few locals giving out that there is very few from Midleton playing senior, "ramblers reserves" was the talk. I suppose you have to look at it as well with all these players coming in you will have a strong junior team, consisting mostly of last years seniors so you might win a trophy for Daddy in yere 30th year and have a trophy for him at the big do come the end of the season.
    pocky, cher, mush, dempsey, brian mc carthy, johnny b, cody, dereck delay, all people from outside the area who played under colman mulcahy the yr leeside threw away the league. alot more than 4 there lads.

Delea played for Leeside for years. He now lives in Carrig but his family are Little Island. Only Youghal fellas who played were Dempsey & Pooky. Micky Do (Hennessy) played a handful of games & left. Same with Brian McCarthy. Johnny Barrett and Coleman Cody played full season, thats still 4 total by my count!

magpie
    Delea played for Leeside for years. He now lives in Carrig but his family are Little Island. Only Youghal fellas who played were Dempsey & Pooky. Micky Do (Hennessy) played a handful of games & left. Same with Brian McCarthy. Johnny Barrett and Coleman Cody played full season, thats still 4 total by my count!
    regardless of how many games they played, they still put on the shirt. sher played that same session i saw him play for ye. brian mc finished the season and was involved in the final game in little island. didnt kno bout micky doo. so by my count it was 9!!

Brian McCarthy played a handful of games, doesn't count in my books. Don't know who "mush" & "cher" are unfortunately. I knew we had fellas on here who couldn't spell, but didn't know counting was an issue too....

magpie
    Brian McCarthy played a handful of games, doesn't count in my books. Don't know who "mush" & "cher" are unfortunately. I knew we had fellas on here who couldn't spell, but didn't know counting was an issue too....
    point is boo, their was still half a dozen OR MORE?? outsiders playing for leeside in their most successful season in recent history. so stop being a hypocrite.

Quote Originally Posted by bluey View Post
    Was at the same game bluey,and your right,but midleton had four locals away that weekend,think if you look at the rock mount game you will get a through reflection of the starting 11 that midleton will have,I've seen the juniors play this year and they are not as strong as last year,plus bluey very hard to win a trophy when I'm not affiliated with any team,on the daddy comment?im kinda lost on this one,wouldn't you just love to know who I am!the beauty of a forumthink your also wrong on the 30th,think its there 40th anniversary.

Totally different team now. Apart form Mark Quinn, Mike Murphy and Rob Kelleher everyone else hails from the locality. They've been slow of the mark but I reckon a lot of the teams will take points of each other in this division. I think booboy is a bit presumptuous in his forecast that sees Wilton as favourites. Dont know many teams that win leagues in September apart form Sligo Rovers!!

alot of ye very interested in midleton seniors !!!!!!!! better off concentrating on yer own clubs i think and leave midleton do what they like !! its a hard enough league without reading rubbish on this ..... Judge teams at end of season and hopefully yer clubs like mine will have had good season

Well toto 8 points is a huge gap to close even after 3 games. Wilton are a experienced side who know how to win and thats why im putting them down as favourites,one of the top teams in the aul over the last 5 years,whoever finishes above them should win the league. I also think we have turned a corner and should kick on now and hopefully be chasing promotion.

Quote Originally Posted by magpie View Post
    point is boo, their was still half a dozen OR MORE?? outsiders playing for leeside in their most successful season in recent history. so stop being a hypocrite.
    Most successful season??? We won nothing that year, apart from the Mossie Linnane. The previous year was the biggest achievement winning the Munster in 2008, before those 4 players you mentioned joined. And then it was a local affair, and a few from glanmire, parts of which are in "the parish".

Been reading these posts for the last few days and just want to throw my "tuppence worth" in, on the dedate as it has evolved.

1) If Crosshaven's pitch meets requirements set out by the MSL then, in my opinion, it is well within their rights to use it. If they are used to playing there then why give your opponent an advantage. Now, why they wouldnt want to play on a better surface confuses me a little, however its their call !
    2) Why or when did it ever matter what "parish" a player comes from. Football is played throughout the City/County and beyond. Guys choose a club to play for for various reasons, family connection, work colleagues or friends playing there or simply becasue a manager chases and tries to sign the best players for his squad. I dont see where a guy comes from as even a talking point.
    3) Lets move on and enjoy the season and cut out the tittle tattle thats clogging up a very good "football" forum.

By the way, these are my opinions and not intended to offend anyone who has previously posted.

G'luck