Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Kazakhstan (A) - general (Fri 07/09/12)

398 Posts
    POS, Kazakhstan is like any other country - the elites will let blood, the ghetto dwellers likewise. Ireland: Dublin - upper class toffs stomp a rival schoolboy to death, Limerick - rival crime families kill those who cross their paths. Russia: Moscow - challenge the powers that be, get locked up in prison (possibly die), Sverdlovsk region - don't pay debts to local gangster, your village is attacked and a person killed.

Kazakhstan is as safe a place to visit as Ireland, or anywhere else. Safer than many/most Med resort countries.

I posted on another thread a profile of the country - it's as corrupt and bent and wodnerful as any other country. The ruling elite rule, the ruled are ruled. Simple as that. However I'd not have many worries as a tourist in Kazakhstan. In Russia (outside of Moscow 100%) I'd feel very safe. The worst spots (as has been proved with recent crime stats) in Moscow for crime are, apart from outlying ghetto suburbs, Novy Arbat and areas near "gentleman clubs".

200 Posts
    There is apparently a quicker train between Alma Alta/Almaty and Astana, it's high speed and only takes 9 hours!

No launches from Baikanour at that time incase anyone was thinking of going:
    http://spaceflightnow.com/tracking/
    Last edited by Closed Account 2; 20/11/2011 at 10:40 AM.

200 Posts
    Kazakhs are coming off some indifferent form... On the 1st June they beat Kyrgyzstan 5-2 at home, but then on the 5th they lost 3-0 out in Yerevan against Armenia. They also drew 0-0 with Latvia in a friendly played in Turkey in Feb. Last 3 competitive results are L 4-1 in Belgium, D 0-0 home to Austria, lost 3-2 in Baku to the Azeris (all Sept / Oct 2011)

Thank you for your recent enquiry for tickets for the Kazakhstan v Republic of Ireland away match on 7th September 2012.

Kick-off Time: 22:00 hrs (Local Time) 17:00 hrs (Irish Time)

Venue: Astana Arena, Astana

Ticket Price: €12.00 each including booking fee.

5:00 kick off for those stuck at home...

229 Posts
    Are you heading over Paul?
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

I am yes. Meself and conor - the guy from leitrim. You should come along forthe craic. Bring a spare passport, you be sound.

I hope those dundalk lads who left me to foot the drinks and food bill over in poland are over there....

229 Posts
    Fairfux to ya. Of all the games in this group this is the one I wanted to go to most - I would have put money on it being the first away trip!! Sods law - Its just too close to Poland unfortunately. Im gonna aim for Stockholm instead.

You can direct yer passport gags at your travelling partner I've heard he's fond of mislaying the odd travel document and by all means if you want me to look after your basic travel logistics then let me know before you go heading off to irrelevant airports........

It's only a matter of time Paul before another little mishap comes your way, you're slowing digging a big mother fcuker of a hole there

Anyway, suppose we shouldnt clutter the thread with $hite talk.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Thank you for your recent enquiry for tickets for the Kazakhstan v Republic of Ireland away match on 7th September 2012.

Kick-off Time: 22:00 hrs (Local Time) 17:00 hrs (Irish Time)

Venue: Astana Arena, Astana

Ticket Price: €12.00 each including booking fee.

5:00 kick off for those stuck at home...
    You get that email from the FAI, Paul? Nothing meself yet.

ya i emailed them a few times brendy

Lads
    You will get a mail from the tickct office today , it seems that the tickets will be free of charge but need to pick them up in Astana , well happy with that idea I must say .

Fair play to anyone heading over for this!

246 Posts
    Really looking forward to this trip now. Week to go before we leave.

Some fantastic photos of Astana here: http://daypic.ru/travel/48205

46 Posts
    Does anybody know if RTE Radio's coverage will rock up on Radio Player post broadcast. I have no way of seeing this afternoons game and can't get home in time to listen to the entire game. I'd wait if I thought I could listen back but not sure if its something RTE Radio Player would include.

Any thoughts welcome.
    Find me on Twitter @ImRedLen

Good trip. I definitely prefer the smaller trips. Far better craic and never too packed in the pubs ye go but still great craic.

Good bunch on this trip as well, and most up for the craic as well.

Kazakhs were generally quite friendly, but I got done going through border police, had to go into the toilet and pay them £100 to get my passport stamped. Apart from that a great trip, if a little expensive.

Great to put a few more faces to (user)names, brendy_eire and maribor_kev particularly. Good sensible chat with those lads.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I got done going through border police, had to go into the toilet and pay them £100 to get my passport stamped. Apart from that a great trip, if a little expensive.
    This flying out? Bit mental. Seemed grand with me, even started chatting about the match.
    Got my phone robbed on the flight back, so feck all photos though.

Great oul trip, has to be said. Some difference between Almaty and Astana. Difficult to believe that they're both in the same country. Astana is just a mad place. Incredible to think most of it has been built in the last 10 years. Easily the strangest country I've ever been to.
    Delighted with the win, though I'll try to quickly forget about the match.

Definitely prefer the smaller away trip crowds, even if that does sound a bit snobby. You get to talk to literally everyone on the trip, and it's a bit less mental than the bigger trips.

Ya on the way out. The more I think about it the more I think it was to do with the fact that I wasn't wearing a football top. Thought i was on my own and could get away with it. The funny thing is it was the same guy who let me through in the first place.

Its a mad place alright, those buildings are unreal. Says a lot about Oil and Gas and a dictatorship

Ya it might come across as a little bit snobby but you can get both things, you get to chat to everyone out there, sensible craic but at the same time if yer up for a bit of mad craic and that then you can get both.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123