Page 40 of 67 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast

Thread: 2012 attendances

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I know this, and understand this. But I'm only going by the 'official' attendances given by Extratime.ie.

So if extratime say there are 40000 are the next Salthill game we will take that as an "official number" ?

622 Posts
    That's one of the most idiotic replies you could have come out with, and does not even deserve a rational retort.

Why in gods name would they report that even hypothetically, the situation will never arise unless Scarlet Johansson and Megan Fox were making a porn Movie live at half time with Man united reserves.
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 12/07/2012 at 5:36 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    That's one of the most idiotic replies you could have come out with, and does not even deserve a rational retort.

Why in gods name would they report that even hypothetically, the situation will never arise unless Scarlet Johansson and Megan Fox was making a porn Movie live at half time with Man united reserves.

No letting the pro of the club do reports on extratime and let his made up figures stand as "official attendence" is the most idiotic things i have heard of in a long time. Every match an away supporter has posted here how many were at each match. They would have no reason to lie about the numbers.

622 Posts
    Most importantly thou, no one outside of Galway cares so stop banging on about it, ye'd swear none of us had heard any of this before.

I'm not picking on you specificity by the way, so don't feel like I'm singling ye out and attacking you for no reason, its a general address to all Galway fans who like to bring it up, I ask you kindly to please stop. Hugs and kisses etc. xox
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 12/07/2012 at 2:03 PM.

2,446 Posts
    Regardless of what you believe, what you give out about, and what crowd you say are there, I will continue to put Extratimes attendance figures down for as long as I keep doing the attendance averages.

I've said it already, and it's the last time I'll say it. We all know they are inflated figures, we all know nobody actually supports Mervue and SD Galway, I've been to Drom with about 40 Harps fans and outnumbered the home support 40 to 1.

The point I'm making is, I don't care, and nobody else really does either.

I support the GUST cause, I would love to see a GUST team in the League of Ireland in Terryland, I don't like how you were just discarded from the league in favour of Mervue and Salthill, but jesus christ, please give it a rest as I'm growing tired of constant giving out about their attendances.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Regardless of what you believe, what you give out about, and what crowd you say are there, I will continue to put Extratimes attendance figures down for as long as I keep doing the attendance averages.
    That's grand, I never said it wasn't.

God forgive us for pointing out accurate figures. People question figures here all the time.

Anyone who is sick of hearing them can just skip the posts and not whine about it like muppets.

Fairplay for putting them together.

It makes no bloody difference to me whether there were 2000, 1500 or 2500 people in Tallaght or wherever, but I somehow find the strength within me not whine about it when people disagree with the figures posted.
    Last edited by gufcfan; 12/07/2012 at 5:56 PM.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    That's grand, I never said it wasn't.

God forgive us for pointing out accurate figures. People question figures here all the time.

Anyone who is sick of hearing them can just skip the posts and not whine about it like muppets.

Fairplay for putting them together.

It makes no bloody difference to me whether there were 2000, 1500 or 2500 people in Tallaght or wherever, but I somehow find the strength within me not whine about it when people disagree with the figures posted.
    Now who else involved in discussions about SD Galways attendances could do with following this advice

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Now who else involved in discussions about SD Galways attendances could do with following this advice
    You perhaps.

105 Posts
    Sure Galway United inflated their attendances for years.

420 Posts
    You perhaps.

I dont whine i just find it funny that you want people to just skip past Galway fans constant talk about it we all know they put up the numbers ye are not revealing some deep dark secret.

Why not take your own advice and just ignore it when they put up their attendances what difference does it make to you? Ye are just boring everyone at this stage.

The funny thing about SD Galways crowds is that every time I've been there there has been a few Galway United heads knocking around whos apparent sole intention is to count their crowd.

So a good chunk of the crowd is people who are there to count the crowd.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    Sure Galway United inflated their attendances for years.
    Funny how you say that like it support some sort of point.

In fairness he's not wrong. True of pretty much every club. Is it worse reporting 1,300 at a game when 1,100 there or reporting 200 then when 150 there?

its all the same to me. Don't really see your fascination with their crowds? They're brutal regardless of the actual figure and only they will know how it stacks up with how they budgeted. Who cares if its 200 or 50?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    In fairness he's not wrong. True of pretty much every club. Is it worse reporting 1,300 at a game when 1,100 there or reporting 200 then when 150 there?

its all the same to me. Don't really see your fascination with their crowds? They're brutal regardless of the actual figure and only they will know how it stacks up with how they budgeted. Who cares if its 200 or 50?
    So if Sligo start reporting 8000 instead of 2000 will people on here start saying "Don't really see your fascination with their crowds?" We have only pointed out that they are massively inflated. I dont understand the fascination with people complaining about us pointing out a clearly incorrect figure passing as fact.

944 Posts
    I think I understand the problem now: GUST supporters post 500 times about SD, but it feels like 5,000.

The issue most us have is with the grossly inflated reports of the grossly inflated attendances.

Must be Groundhog day in Galway every other Friday night... Just wish you'd all do something more productive with your time, like learn to play the piano, bed Andie McDowell and leave the rest of in peace.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

122 Posts
    Shame on us all for discussing attendances in an 'Attendance' thread, absolutely shocking. Forgive those that actually do discuss attendances here.

944 Posts
    I've always regarded this as more of a reporting thread than a discussion, and more of a discussion than a whingefest. Some of the guff that passes for 'discussion' this season has been nothing more than publicly picking scabs to show how one benighted, misbegotten, woebegone club has been sooooo badly treated. We know. We sympathise. But most of us are beyond caring.

It's going to be a long time till November at this rate.
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

55 Posts

busy busy

Quote Originally Posted by Eminence Grise View Post
    I think I understand the problem now: GUST supporters post 500 times about SD, but it feels like 5,000.

The issue most us have is with the grossly inflated reports of the grossly inflated attendances.

Must be Groundhog day in Galway every other Friday night... Just wish you'd all do something more productive with your time, like learn to play the piano, bed Andie McDowell and leave the rest of in peace.
    http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-OQ86WAoElb...ts_website.jpg

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/13671334/GU..._of_events.pdf

288 Posts
    Edit: Never mind, will have to find reasonable discussion elsewhere.
    Last edited by gufcfan; 13/07/2012 at 4:07 PM.

Does this mean I can't report on match attendances even though I hold season tickets for both Mervue and Salthill?

Page 40 of 67 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast