Even though he signed for Michaels as a Youth he is well thought of in our club and around the Cashel area, fair play to him, all the snipers and smart remarks are for the weak and jealous!
James Walsh is a very worthy recipient of the Junior International Player of the year award. He is a credit to his hometown Cashel, St.Michaels FC, TSDL and his country. Throughout his illustrious career he has been an excellent role model on and off the field. He joined St.Michaels FC as a youth player and has remained loyal to the club for almost twenty years. His early career was marred with three broken legs - yet he went on to represent his club, league and country with distinction. In last years European Amateur championships in Portugal a group if international journalists selected their team of the tournament and he was the sole Republic of Ireland representative. A true amateur and clubman, I'm sure all his colleagues, friends and supporters heartily congratulate him on winning this very prestigious award.
Even though he signed for Michaels as a Youth he is well thought of in our club and around the Cashel area, fair play to him, all the snipers and smart remarks are for the weak and jealous!
james walsh is a legend simple as,,,, with regards st michaels v TTFC there will never be a crowd like that again in cooke park,, the atmosphere was electric and when chester o dwyer scored the place went wild,, best wishes to TTFC for the league and peter o reilly cup on sunday and best wishes to the newly formed ladies from Tipperary Town who play cashel on sunday morning
I'd hate to think there will never be a crowd like that again, because that is something the league and soccer in general should be aspiring to. If that crowd can come out for one game, it can come out for lots of games, you just have to ensure the product is there for them to enjoy.
Soccer is a larger participation sport than GAA, yet GAA is a much larger viewing sport than soccer. Why ? Why do GAA lovers head off to a game with their kids in tow, but soccer supporters do not ? It should be addressed.
And, this isn't to knock the GAA in any way, I think it's a fantastic organistion, but instead of competing with it, sports should be looking to compliment each other.
You mentioned the newly formed ladies team in Tipp Town. That's an element that should be fostered and encouraged in as many clubs as possible. The Tipp Town ladies were out promoting that game on Facebook and other social media sites. They brought a "new crowd" to soccer games that you normally don't see i.e. a young female crowd. There are now close to 20 ladies teams in Tipperary, North and South, and creating women's teams bring new blood and supporters into clubs.
There is also a dedicated schoolgirls soccer league started in South Tipperary since January, following on from the schoolgirls league formed in North Tipp a few years ago. Again, new people, new players, new supporters.
Soccer should be widening the participation levels all across the spectrum, schoolboys, schoolgirls, adult men and women. Clubs should start becoming "families" for want of a better word. There is too much emphasis in my opinion, of clubs simply being vehicles lads to get out on a Sunday, meets some other lads, and go enjoy a few pints. That is important, but build on it. Welcome every participant and supporter.
Getting a couple of hundred supporters to every game shouldn't be a wish, it should be a realistic target. And anyone who goes to pubs, clubs, any social event really will tell you.. crowds bring crowds.
Just on the jimmy hynes things lads i could see 3 options, he will stay with clonmel town, he will play up in dublin or else he will play with nenagh celtic next year. I haven't talked to any of the lads lately but if i was to have a bet i would imagine he would stay down with clonmel town. just while i am talking about clonmel town, what is the story down there these days, do they still train if so who does it because the last time i was talking to the lads the trainer from kilkenny was leaving i think. would ye expect a big reaction from town next season?
If there is any truth in the rumour that the TSDL never turned up to present the cup to Clonmel Town youths who secured the league title by a 5-0 win in Cooke Park over St Michaels then it is a sad day for the league,shameful act,they were well able to present a cup to the St Michaels captain the previous night
saint michaels youths won the youth league for the last 3 years and never received the trophy until final game of season on each occassion. the bigwigs in tsdl probably didn realise town had league won and the funny thing is the cup was upstairs in the press in cooke park![]()
Thats bad form out of the tsdl if its true, i believe this was the league decider if im not mistaken, the question would have to be asked why st michaels didnt give it out to them if it was upstairs in the press, i hope it wasnt bitterness at getting walloped 4-0 with Town winning another league in Cooke Park soil.
Bes of luck to Celtic today in Limerick, will be a tough one up there
Are you saying saints present trophy to town ? Is yes that is not saints job it is upto the league to take possession of the cup and present it , could you imagine saints presenting the cup and it getting damaged for whatever reason who would be to blame ? , but I do agree it should have been presented to town or saints yesterday no excuses
The cup was not presented because of a serious emergency which occurred yesterday afternoon which was far more important than football. An explanation was given to Clonmel Town FC last night and they fully understand the circumstances. Could I respectfully request posters refrain from any other comments regarding this matter.
what a victory for clonmel celtic at pike today . have to give kenny o shea great credit to out fox pike twice in a short space of time .even michaels our town at their best have not done this ..the players can be proud of themselves and must fear no one in next rounds of cups .the double is on
I think that's a little unfair Chops..
I'm talking about the difference between bringing kids to your run of the mill local GAA match or a TSDL game, not a top level inter county game versus a local football game.
I don't think you are giving players enough credit for the honesty of effort that is put in to be honest.
Soccer is a bigger participation sport in Ireland than GAA.. that's simply a matter of fact, yet it is still behind the curve in regards of spectator participation. People really need to step back and ask why that's the case, especially with the Premier league teams, who all have decent facilities.
I mean, would the quality of game played between St Michaels and Clonmel Celtic, be much lower than for example a football match between Galtee Rovers and Clonmel Commercials ?
I don't think so.. yet in terms of the crowd, the GAA match would bring in a huge multiple of spectators.. and consequently a much larger amount of paying customers through the gate.
I suppose an aspect of this is the "parish" roots that GAA teams have, that soccer teams don't, which engender a much stronger "sense of identity" amongst the GAA teams. I have to say watching the Michaels V Tipp Town in the cup, despite Michaels being the stronger team, Tipp Town were definitely the better supported team on the night, and I think that is because they felt much more connected to the local Tipperary Town community. As an aside, I think St Michaels are going to suffer in the near future from having a strong Tipperary Town team in the town as well.. if you were a Tipperary business sponsor, who would you be more likely to support... a team with 15 local lads, or one which has lads travelling from all over Tipperary and Limerick to play, and then going home straight after the match ends ?
What you might find in the next few years... is the St Michaels juvenile set up, effectively coaching young players from the town.. only to see them go play for Tipperary Town FC, because their opportunities are curtailed at the senior level in Michaels..
For another example, look at Clonmel Celtic's success this year.. it's been built on long hard work building itself into a "Clonmel" based team, while Clonmel Town have been inclined to look outside the town for players..
It's an interesting question, and I have no doubt it's been addressed here and elsewhere in the past, and will be again, but I think that clubs who are rooted in their communities are going to enjoy more sustained success in the future.
[QUOTE=Insidetherock;1579817]I think that's a little unfair Chops..
I'm talking about the difference between bringing kids to your run of the mill local GAA match or a TSDL game, not a top level inter county game versus a local football game.
I don't think you are giving players enough credit for the honesty of effort that is put in to be honest.
Soccer is a bigger participation sport in Ireland than GAA.. that's simply a matter of fact, yet it is still behind the curve in regards of spectator participation. People really need to step back and ask why that's the case, especially with the Premier league teams, who all have decent facilities.
I mean, would the quality of game played between St Michaels and Clonmel Celtic, be much lower than for example a football match between Galtee Rovers and Clonmel Commercials ?
I don't think so.. yet in terms of the crowd, the GAA match would bring in a huge multiple of spectators.. and consequently a much larger amount of paying customers through the gate.
I suppose an aspect of this is the "parish" roots that GAA teams have, that soccer teams don't, which engender a much stronger "sense of identity" amongst the GAA teams. I have to say watching the Michaels V Tipp Town in the cup, despite Michaels being the stronger team, Tipp Town were definitely the better supported team on the night, and I think that is because they felt much more connected to the local Tipperary Town community. As an aside, I think St Michaels are going to suffer in the near future from having a strong Tipperary Town team in the town as well.. if you were a Tipperary business sponsor, who would you be more likely to support... a team with 15 local lads, or one which has lads travelling from all over Tipperary and Limerick to play, and then going home straight after the match ends ?
What you might find in the next few years... is the St Michaels juvenile set up, effectively coaching young players from the town.. only to see them go play for Tipperary Town FC, because their opportunities are curtailed at the senior level in Michaels..
For another example, look at Clonmel Celtic's success this year.. it's been built on long hard work building itself into a "Clonmel" based team, while Clonmel Town have been inclined to look outside the town for players..
It's an interesting question, and I have no doubt it's been addressed here and elsewhere in the past, and will be again, but I think that clubs who are rooted in their communities are going to enjoy more sustained success in the future.[/QUA
A good post fella I 100% agree with you on the standard of gaa games in tipp is shocking whether it be hurling / Gaelic and they are not afraid to charge either
Just a couple of things I disagree with on Celtic they have prob all Clonmel lads playing but a lot of them were playing for town last year so I'm not sure how long lasting it will be ?
The other issue was about saint/ tipp town , I'm not sure what u mean by saints will suffer they have very strong community links in the town which go back generations which is not easily forgotten and this myth about saints having very little players from the town is quite incorrect just look at squad Friday night 11/16 were either from , living or working in town . I also Dont see the need for competition between the clubs we have 2 rugby clubs here and their was talk of another gaa club forming and if I was a sponsor I would give to both clubs as there is a mutual benefit on a national and local level
(Roberto & Pony must be sleeping off their sore heads - well deserved.)
Spectacular result for Celtic yesterday - they really have arrived now. While they got the respect they definitely deserved in defeating Michaels & Pike it was with the acknowledgement that both wins were at home. To go to the home of the FAI champions and win is a massive result - particularly when it is to secure your fist FAI semi. Having said all that wins like yesterday do serve to increase the pressure and expectation on any team so really a minimum of at least one major final is the least Celtic should expect of themselves at this stage and after that - who knows.
Another huge game on Sunday against another team who seem to have gotten the measure of Pike this season - should be another dinger (is Evan Maguire eligible for this?)
Well done again to the Celts
Congrats to Clonmel Celtic yesterday, what a great win....everyone in TSDL hope you keep the flag flying... in both Cups. Congrats to St Michaels also on winning the League Title for the first time in nine years on Friday night.
Some embarrassment for the reporter in Target today, the Stars Junior soccer pullout, referring to Clonmel Celtic as Clonmel Town, i know quite a number of them are ex Town but thats a bit extreme, the bits about when Town last won it and Conran as well