Page 42 of 43 FirstFirst ... 3240414243 LastLast

Thread: Estonia V Ireland - Friday, 11th November 2011 - Euro 2012 Play Off 1st Leg

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    I think Kilbane should be brought on when it is safe to do so as a tribute and a farewell,
    I don't think he should be in the finals squad, he is not getting any younger, fair enough if
    can get there on merit then so be it, but not for sentimental reasons.
    I think the use of the word "safe" is a very patronising way to describe using Irelands greatest servant over the last 15 years. Also how "unsafe" is 4-0? Whilst I'm not necessarily saying he should be included in the Euros squad, I do think he should get the send off his 15 years of loyal service deserve. Also if you think Ward constitutes the "safe" option, I would suggest you consult his Moscow debacle.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I expect Hunt will play on the left, Duff has been playing on the right for Ireland
    and for Fulham I think. I can't recall much of Duff playing on the right, mind you I can
    recall much period.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by French Toasht View Post
    I think the use of the word "safe" is a very patronising way to describe using Irelands greatest servant over the last 15 years. Also how "unsafe" is 4-0? Whilst I'm not necessarily saying he should be included in the Euros squad, I do think he should get the send off his 15 years of loyal service deserve. Also if you think Ward constitutes the "safe" option, I would suggest you consult his Moscow debacle.
    Well maybe it is not the best word to use, I don't think 4-0 is safe at all, if we go a goal down early on and get a man
    sent off (quite possible), then things will begin to look distinctly unsafe. There is a huge difference between 11 v 9 to 10 v 11
    that a 3 payer difference.

It's just that I have not seen him play recently, last time I saw him play he was fine though but there is a lot at stake to take
    even the tiniest of risks. Yea maybe I have done him a disservice there and I apologise for that, he could well make the 2012 squad.

1,825 Posts
    You must be a nervous wreck tonight TC? I mean really?

I don't think I've ever been so calm before a home game in years. Can't wait for it.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    I could be miles off base, but the Killer call up. I heard about it too. Gio has invited him to the game on Tuesday.
    On Friday, UEFA did a centenary thing in the Ukraine, any chance they are doing the same thing in Dublin Tuesday?
    I read in today's Examiner that Kevin Foley and Shane Long have been invited over also for the game and the likely craic to follow. They're not official call-ups so none of the three will feature. (Long and Foley are injured anyway) Touch of class about it all the same.

"The manager and their fellow players wanted them to come and take a bow for all they have contributed to the qualifying campaign."
    Curtain call for Killer I reckon.

417 Posts
    Im happy to hear about this. Boy, winning cures all ills does it not?
    Killer deserves a spot within the Staff at Euro if he so desires it. Player Rep, assistant whatever, whatever you want to call it.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour
    I don't think 4-0 is safe at all, if we go a goal down early on and get a man
    sent off (quite possible), then things will begin to look distinctly unsafe. There is a huge difference between 11 v 9 to 10 v 11
    that a 3 payer difference.
    Trappattoni has never lost a game 0-4, no matter what. We have conceded one goal in 10 games, they have 3 players suspended, and have no confidence.

0-5 anyone???????
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    You must be a nervous wreck tonight TC? I mean really?

I don't think I've ever been so calm before a home game in years. Can't wait for it.
    I am just a pessimist, or perhaps a realist, I guarante you not one Estonian fan thought they would lose 4-0!!
    I remember Liverpool in Europe not so long ago, 3-0 down at half time - game over.
    I seem to remember they took Steve Finnan? off and came back to 3-3, I think they might have won on penalties
    (can't remember), certainly my gambling days shows me nothing is impossible, I was all-in for £25
    I had 2 pair AA and TT, he had one pair AA and a 4, the only way he would win was to hit two running 4's
    impossible!! the odds 17x 25 = 425-1. I knew when the first 4 came out the second one would, and it did.
    I will not be playing at that site again!!! (partypoker) I have pretty much given up playing now anyway.

Incidental the odds on Ireland qualifying are 1-500 and 1-1000, on Estonia they range from 511-1
    down to miserly 40-1.

Strange things can happen, an Estonian breaks through, Richard Dunne muscles him off the ball it's
    judged a foul and that it was the last man, Dunne sent off, free kick awarded and they score!!
    88 minutes to play with 10 men.

I have just though of another way things could go wrong but I will post that after the match!!

But I think that is a key thing, no rash challenges!!

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Trappattoni has never lost a game 0-4, no matter what. We have conceded one goal in 10 games, they have 3 players suspended, and have no confidence.

0-5 anyone???????

First time for everything!!

176 Posts
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

I am just a pessimist, or perhaps a realist, I guarante you not one Estonian fan thought they would lose 4-0!!
    I remember Liverpool in Europe not so long ago, 3-0 down at half time - game over.
    !!
    Big difference, Liverpool and Milan were in a major final, two top teams. Estonia are hopeless, when the commentators start saying, you may remember this guy from the 30 mins he played with Watford or this guy who spent a year in the Boro reserves, you know it should be happy days. Trap is no fool and he knew they were there for the taking in the first leg, hence why Andrews played more forward than he has for a long time.

This is like Peterborough going to Stoke trying to overturn a 4-0 deficit, ain't going to happen.

I say get on Ireland at -1 tonight, @ evens, and if we get an earlish goal, it could be 4 or 5, so a cheeky fiver or so on Ireland to win by 4 or more goals at 13/2.

Possibly double Ireland with a Crotia home win against Turkey, Crotia are 3-0 up already, but they need to win the home leg to move up from pot 3 to pot 2 in the draw. 3/4
    And if you fancy the treble, kills me to say it, but England look good value at 4/6 for home win against Sweden.

3,491 Posts
    I am just a pessimist, or perhaps a realist
    You're not a realist anyway.

We've long since shown that we play well up until the first goal. I don't see any reason why that won't be the case tonight. 1-0 and then they need 5. Without their two first-choice centre-halves and their first-choice keeper - boasting 220+ caps and the captaincy between them - I honestly can't see anything other than us qualifying comfortably, if uneventfully.

I'd also imagine if Estonia were one-on-one with Dunne, he'd be instructed to above all else not get sent off, even if that meant letting yer man have a shot. Mentality, bigger picture and all that.

85 Posts
    Plus... Very few of the players are secure in their ownership of a team/squad place. I don't think there'll be any complacency in that regard.

I am just a pessimist, or perhaps a realist,
    I think we can all agree you're probably not great craic down at the pub
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

230 Posts
    On tonight's game, Estonia will be looking to upset the party. Iran 10 years ago was the same though they had a slightly easier target. I'm hopeful of a 2-0 win by the boys in green, a pessimistic result would be a 1-1 draw. I hope it's some great night for all in the Aviva!
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

51 Posts
    LADS,

if any of the irish lads that on yellow, if they get another yellow, they suspended for first match in finals ... dunne has to careful and andrews

53 Posts
    Even the Estonian manager has come out and said that they won't qualify
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/...a_ireland.html

Plus Ireland will be playing with confidence, the last time that happened was the start of the second half v Armenia and that was the best football they've played under Trap. Or think back to the Italy friendly in the summer, off the back of the Nations cup wins and 0-2 v Macedonia an under-strength Irish team played very well because they didn't think they could lose.

Btw should we start a revisionism thread? Over the past few days I've read and heard so much crap being spouted rewriting history about Trap, Kilbane, Ward, Andrews, Kerr, Mick McCarthy.....etc etc

285 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    On tonight's game, Estonia will be looking to upset the party.
    Can't see them getting anything at all. They must be demoralised after their 4-0 loss at home. They were poor enough before but now they are missing their goalkeeper and their two first choice centre halves, who are the two most capped players in their squad. Ireland 3-0 Estonia
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sullivinho View Post
    I read in today's Examiner that Kevin Foley and Shane Long have been invited over also for the game and the likely craic to follow. They're not official call-ups so none of the three will feature. (Long and Foley are injured anyway) Touch of class about it all the same.

Curtain call for Killer I reckon.
    Thats an excellent gesture and shows the team bond and spirit thats there. No wonder Robbie K didnt want to go back to LA early!!!

While I am obviously optimistic for tonight, I still think we need to be a little cautious. Presumably their tactics will be to get at us and attack from the off. We need to keep it tight for first 20 mins, nice and dull and nothing given away. Last thing we want is an early goal for them and they developing a head of steam. Their results away from home are much better than that at home so it is wise to beware.

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    LADS,

if any of the irish lads that on yellow, if they get another yellow, they suspended for first match in finals ... dunne has to careful and andrews
    Have you got a link for that? I was under the impression that yellow cards were wiped clean after qualifying but red cards carried over to the tournament...?

Page 42 of 43 FirstFirst ... 3240414243 LastLast