Page 40 of 104 FirstFirst ... 3038394041425090 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2011/12

So what would count as good and suffecient cause??? Bit of a non-rule if anything

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lawd View Post
    There's always one..
    ...at each end

Quote Originally Posted by Donnie Darko View Post
    Lawd you really do like to exaggerate don't you. The incident you are talking about is very clear in my mind. Killumney had a free, it went wide, kearney got the ball & handed it to the keeper, he then threw the ball away. The player then got the ball & placed it "firmly" in to the keepers chest. Yes it wasn't a friendly gesture but saying that I know I could have reacted alot worse myself given the intensity of the game. The abuse that followed should have been a yellow at the least but the ref turned a blind eye as he did all afternoon. I love a report but do try telling the truth.
    I don't think you had the best of it too be honest. Cos what I seen was a bit different and as for name calling, I would of called him a lot worse. Could have even been red card in my eyes.

i had two fellas early on in the season go in for a 50/50 ball with great commitment. ball went out for a throw to one team.

the two lads got off the ground and were squaring up to each other.

one fella said to the other "ya ****in langer,you could have broke my leg"

the other fella says as they were just going head to head "shut up ya ****in *****".

i was right ther and blew the whistle as throw was being taken and just got myself between them and was having a word.

one fella says "ref are you going to allow him to call me a ***** like that" and the other fella says "you called me a langer sure".

i said "lads lads lads would ye ever calm down please. we will just say that ye are both right and we will just get on with it".

everyone agreed and we got on with it.

there is a line and if it gets crossed you take action. if we had to talk to every line and every player when there was a bit of verbals going on it would take 5 hours to get through a game. as i said there is a line.

cross it and out come the cards. if i had a penny for every time i was called a langer from the line or supporters i'd need no match fee.
    there no such thing as a bad pint.there are ony pints and better pints.

21 Posts
    Maninthemiddle, that's good common sense reffing - well done!!

Quote Originally Posted by maninthemiddle View Post
    i had two fellas early on in the season go in for a 50/50 ball with great commitment. ball went out for a throw to one team.

the two lads got off the ground and were squaring up to each other.

one fella said to the other "ya ****in langer,you could have broke my leg"

the other fella says as they were just going head to head "shut up ya ****in *****".

i was right ther and blew the whistle as throw was being taken and just got myself between them and was having a word.

one fella says "ref are you going to allow him to call me a ***** like that" and the other fella says "you called me a langer sure".

i said "lads lads lads would ye ever calm down please. we will just say that ye are both right and we will just get on with it".

everyone agreed and we got on with it.

there is a line and if it gets crossed you take action. if we had to talk to every line and every player when there was a bit of verbals going on it would take 5 hours to get through a game. as i said there is a line.

cross it and out come the cards. if i had a penny for every time i was called a langer from the line or supporters i'd need no match fee.
    Best post iv seen since i started..

Anybody hear bout an appeal been lodged from the aul with the fai over the recent Oscar traynor game?

it appears msl used a player who played in fai intermediate cup this year which deems him illegal. nice one for aul as they will be awarded a 3 nil victory if appeal is successful

Quote Originally Posted by the truth View Post
    it appears msl used a player who played in fai intermediate cup this year which deems him illegal. nice one for aul as they will be awarded a 3 nil victory if appeal is successful
    what player? would of been a stupid thing to do if proven true??

Killian murphy played intermediate cup for Douglas hall. Rule 2f states any player who plays senior cup or intermediate cup not eligible to play Oscar traynor.

Ah six yard box - i alluded to that illegal player a few days ago but no one picked up on it :-D . I think the MSL will be thrown out of the competition so it wont be a 3-0 win awarded - both MSL results will be irrelevant

i actually posted that rule on the 29th of October Shetland for someone who pays so much attention to the contents of the echo i'm surprised you didnt cop it haha

Just looking back on the comments about the killumney game and the referee npt controlling it, i think the standard of referee has defnitly dropped! There are two or three who shouldnt be reffing at prem level! Theres a young ref o connell think its alan he looks like a lost boy out on the pitch! He sent off 3 and booked 12 or sumthong recently in a mjc cup game involving pearse and springers, and the game wasnt dirty at all but he just lost control of it and was booking for every tackle that went in! Ive been heard complaints from a few teams about the reffing this year! Feels like there throwing cards out for fun! Are they being told i wonder? €5 a yellow 25 a red is a lot of money

AUL made what was it 14 grand on fines last year?? Of course there told book at every opportunity or send off they have to make the 200,000 back somehow

Quote Originally Posted by zohan View Post
    Just looking back on the comments about the killumney game and the referee npt controlling it, i think the standard of referee has defnitly dropped! There are two or three who shouldnt be reffing at prem level! Theres a young ref o connell think its alan he looks like a lost boy out on the pitch! He sent off 3 and booked 12 or sumthong recently in a mjc cup game involving pearse and springers, and the game wasnt dirty at all but he just lost control of it and was booking for every tackle that went in! Ive been heard complaints from a few teams about the reffing this year! Feels like there throwing cards out for fun! Are they being told i wonder? €5 a yellow 25 a red is a lot of money
    thats your opinion and you are entitled to it.its a common view but not one which many refs will be worried about.

Quote Originally Posted by super_mario View Post
    AUL made what was it 14 grand on fines last year?? Of course there told book at every opportunity or send off they have to make the 200,000 back somehow
    i wont even dignify that with a response because im 100% sure you are joking. there is an easy way to avoid those fines.

Sorry maninthemiddle but i've seen this O'Connell fella reffing - was in the MSL junior section last yearhe is appalling . I saw him book a player twice . Two yellow cards . It was pointed out to him by the opposition and he did nothingIt was DEFINITELY the same player booked twice . he bottled it

Yeah sounds like him alrite, have seen him twice this season and taught he was poor! In big games in prem and mjc u need refs with experience and a bit of common sense and not be flashing cards just for the sake of it

Quote Originally Posted by freddieflinston View Post
    Sorry maninthemiddle but i've seen this O'Connell fella reffing - was in the MSL junior section last yearhe is appalling . I saw him book a player twice . Two yellow cards . It was pointed out to him by the opposition and he did nothingIt was DEFINITELY the same player booked twice . he bottled it
    Quote Originally Posted by zohan View Post
    Yeah sounds like him alrite, have seen him twice this season and taught he was poor! In big games in prem and mjc u need refs with experience and a bit of common sense and not be flashing cards just for the sake of it
    lads as i have said before i will never come on here and bad mouth any ref. how could i after all?

you are well entitled to your opinion and i wont be saying much about any individual on here or any individual situation in matches either. all my talk will be very general im afraid.

refs dont get to grade one without being assessed regularily and ill leave it at that. of course a ref can have a bad day or even a few of them over a season just like any players can.

i have played since i was 7 and being a ref is far far different to what i would have considered it to be when i was a player. there is so much more to it than just blowing the whistle when there is a foul or getting out a card. you could write 5 books on the back of what is needed from you from a safety and control point of view.

no two games are the same and what on paper may seem like a run of the mill game can be very difficult to ref and what may seem like on paper is going to be difficult and tense game to ref may be easy on the day.

what has always gotten me is that when i played we trained and tried everything to improve whether it was a new free kick routine or corner balls etc. we left no stone unturned including dealing with officials. i realised early in my 20's that there was no point in arguing with a ref even if i thought i was being robbed. a build up of frustration was only going to hamper my performance as much as a pulled hamstring.

i know thats not the same for everyone but i had other things to worry about other than what the ref was doing.its part of the game that the ref will be wrong at times. they cant get it right some days with fourth officials and tv replays so you can imagine how difficult it is on your own on a cold wet sunday morning in coachford.

for me the top top teams and the top top players in a league get this and its a part of their make up.

we are expected to be professional in every thing we do so why cant players and clubs be the same. they are for the most part and im always aware that lads have been training hard all week and more still are there putting up nets and lining pitches week in week out.

i do my best.

saw the game must say he was reffing another game, the game was held up for 10 mins because he turned up with two wrong boots and the clubs had to get a pair for him.. the game was a very good clean game over all except for the first sendings off he had to go because a two footed challange on the keeper, the other two were a joke.. the amount of yellow cards that day was un called for.. Pearce were winning with 9 players and he played 10 mins over time and when springers scored he blew up a min later.. one of Pearce players blew his top and he was sent off that left 8 players.. springers 2nd goal was off side by 4 yards .. if im right he also booked one player twice and left him on the pitch and when he was told he did nothing .. i think that would bring the team down to 7 players and the game would have to be called off..
    I hear he's earmarked for loi
    the sub

freddie i dont know the rules of the oscar traynor to be honest as id say a lot more dont.

Page 40 of 104 FirstFirst ... 3038394041425090 ... LastLast