Page 26 of 74 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast

Thread: Ciaran Clark D Free agent b.1989

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by greendeiseboy View Post
    When I was in school we were told that if you had an E at the end of your surname as in Keatinge, Clarke it meant you were adopted...............
    I suddenly have a whole new understanding about the challenges of integrating Waterford people into normal society.
    Last edited by SkStu; 04/08/2011 at 4:51 AM.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,284 Posts
    The strange thing is that Clark was part of the original 32-man squad before it was whittled down to "26", and that was later corrected to 25. Could Clark not have filled the vacant 26th slot, or was there even supposed to be one anyway? And why name him in a provisional squad a few weeks ago? What was the point in naming a provisional squad at all at this time? I'm not aware of the players having come together for Trap to work out who should make the final cut or whatever. Could he not have named all of Clark, Ward and Delaney in the squad? No harm in seeing what all of them have to offer again surely.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Untill he has played a competitive game, I would like to see no controversy around him at all, ideally.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    The strange thing is that Clark was part of the original 32-man squad before it was whittled down to "26", and that was later corrected to 25. Could Clark not have filled the vacant 26th slot, or was there even supposed to be one anyway? And why name him in a provisional squad a few weeks ago? What was the point in naming a provisional squad at all at this time? I'm not aware of the players having come together for Trap to work out who should make the final cut or whatever. Could he not have named all of Clark, Ward and Delaney in the squad? No harm in seeing what all of them have to offer again surely.
    It's very unlikely all of them (Ward, Delaney, Clark) would get a run of any consequence. With players in the midst of pre-season, it's surely reasonable to leave players at their clubs unless they are guaranteed game time. Clearly Ward and Delaney are the one Trap wants to take a look at for now.

Consider this also: Clark is 21. Last year was his break through season. He was dogged by nagging injuries and barely played/benchwarmed towards the tail end last year. Moreover he was only regained full fitness in the last fortnight. There's a fair chance he's a little burnt out and would benefit far more from staying at Villa, playing friendlies and building up fitness, than heading over to Dublin for 2 minutes at the end of a friendly.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Not sure what Clark has done over the summer to be dropped... its a strange one if you ask me.
    That's the thing - I don't think he's done anything to be dropped. It's just two guys came in and did well when he was unfortunately absent.

I think there's an understandable tinge of paranoia about all this. We're accustomed to the same 25-30 names, and in the last two-three years anyone not in the squad has been accompanied by a trumpeted hysteria of 'OH NO TRAP HATES HIM/HE HATES TRAP/HE'S GOING TO TO DEFECT TO ICELAND'. But maybe, with our increased options, we can afford the luxury of simply leaving players out regardless of their behaviour and/or difficulties in using a mobile phone.

Granted the squad selection process (provisional squads, odd numbers) is a bit confusing, but perhaps it was suggested as a way of preventing May's squad pull-out debacle particularly since it's pre-season?

Either way Clark's omission strikes me as innocuous and, if anything, a positive indication of where our squad is at. Makes a nice change from selecting players because we've no other options or because the manager's afeared they'll toss their toys. Ciaran's likely disappointed but I thoroughly expect him to respond. He'll be back.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

200 Posts
    Reminds me of all the fuss about commentators who switched between pronouncing Kevin Kilbane as "Kill-bayne", "Kill-ban" or "Kill-ban-eh"?

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    Clarko definitely not- only cricket players are allowed the "o" on the end of their name.
    Australian cricketer Clarke (with an 'e') is called Clarkey.

Anything but Clarksie.

wow wolfie, i really disagree with your conclusion if that is the motivation for his absence. What possible good would it do for Trap to test Clark's mettle?? Not sure what Clark has done over the summer to be dropped... its a strange one if you ask me.
    Who is "Wolfie". I'm Wolfi.

I just think Clark(e!!) is on the periphery at the moment and its motivation and solid club performances will change that.
    Last edited by Wolfie; 04/08/2011 at 12:28 PM.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

130 Posts
    ye clarksie was shakey when he got his chance last season, then other people came in and played better so are quite rightly ahead off him

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    Clarko definitely not- only cricket players are allowed the "o" on the end of their name.
    One must wonder where we'd be had Roy and Robbie followed the paths they apparently should have.

417 Posts
    Maybe Trap has convinced Steven Reid to come back just for the 2 fixtures in Sept and needs the roster spot.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    One must wonder where we'd be had Roy and Robbie followed the paths they apparently should have.
    Dunno, but they'd be searching for their birth mothers in Waterford for sure.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

I suddenly have a whole new understanding about the challenges of integrating Waterford people into normal society.
    Jaysus, I better qualify that story - there was a lad in my class in school with the surname Keating but he spelt it Keatinge. His family had a shop in town but the sign was spelt Keating. We asked him why he spelt his name different to the shop name and he told us that he spelt it that way as he was adopted.

Obviously I was taking the urine as regards the reasons for having a E at the end of a surname or has the hole being dug too deep already!
    I have a head only Snow White would love

Quote Originally Posted by greendeiseboy View Post
    When I was in school we were told that if you had an E at the end of your surname as in Keatinge, Clarke it meant you were adopted...............so lads putting an E at the end of Clark's name mightn't be too wrong
    When did you change your name then?

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    When did you change your name then?
    No E in my name boi!!
    I have a head only Snow White would love

87 Posts
    Im Decky?

Same?
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

285 Posts
    Back starting for Aston Villa today at centre half alongside Richard Dunne. The baldy man starts in midfield too.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

Playing well so far, as are Villa. They got caught out once in defence but you tend to get that with full backs like Warnock and Hutton.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TrapAPony View Post
    Back starting for Aston Villa today at centre half alongside Richard Dunne. The baldy man starts in midfield too.
    Great to see him back starting. Fingers crossed Ireland will qualify for the Euros: with a run of games, he could well be challenging for a starting place in the New Year for the Finals. Good to see Ciaran starting as well . . . . .

285 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    Great to see him back starting. Fingers crossed Ireland will qualify for the Euros: with a run of games, he could well be challenging for a starting place in the New Year for the Finals. Good to see Ciaran starting as well . . . . .
    True, but he has to displace the likes of Delaney from the squad first.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 15/10/2011 at 4:26 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

2,771 Posts
    He, and Villa, have done well despite the scoreline. City have just been sublime.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Page 26 of 74 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast