Page 16 of 20 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast

Thread: 2011 UEFA European Under-19 Football Championship

229 Posts
    Well done to the boys. Reminiscent of WC 2002. Knockout game against Spain without our captain (and others).
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Is that right? Spain next? Makes sends, runners up play winner of other group.

I don't think the other group has finished yet so potentially Spain might not win group.

But I could well be wrong, and indeed often am.

Ireland are very poor but i honestly put a lot of it down to negativity from doolin(trying not to lose as opposed to trying to win).they showed in patches previously that they can actually play some nice football.

229 Posts
    Noel King was at some of the games, wasn't he? It'll be interesting to see if he's able to take any of these lads to Sligo in two weeks time, or else for the Hungary game on September 1.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Did you see them against Greece?
    I wouldn't say they are awful but the lump it forward football is frustrating to watch. They were playing a Romanian team who threw everything at them, who had nothing to lose and went at it relentlessly, considering all that, the Irish lads did well to get through to the semi final.
    Have you ever seen a Paul Doolin side before?

1,928 Posts
    I have only seen them play the Czech Rep, I didn't see them trounce Italy or beat Greece.
    The pertinent point is that we didn't have to win this game. If the shoe was on the other foot (i.e. we had to win), I think we would have seen a completely different game.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I have only seen them play the Czech Rep, I didn't see them trounce Italy or beat Greece.
    The pertinent point is that we didn't have to win this game. If the shoe was on the other foot (i.e. we had to win), I think we would have seen a completely different game.
    was that a shameless plug for this website geysir?

1,928 Posts
    Well spotted Bear, no flies on you.

51 Posts
    Well done to the Under 19's ..... not often a irish side get to a european semi final so good luck to them against a tough spainish side

21 Posts
    Congrats to all involved with the u19 side
    Good to see an Irish side getting to the latter stages of an international tournament .

3,501 Posts
    Congratulations to the lads on reaching the semi finals. Best of luck against Spain, who surprisingly lost 3-0 to Turkey

491 Posts
    Great win well done to all the players

1,825 Posts
    Yeah thought we played well in bursts and but for the final third of the pitch it wasn't a bad performance. Liked the look of Carruthers and the lad on the left wing whose name escapes me.

In the end we were comfortable enough despite Romania having a few chances during their purple patch in the second half.

Well done to all involved!

What's the schedule situation for the Spain match?

2,284 Posts
    Didn't get to see the game unfortunately but was delighted to hear they made it through.

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    What's the schedule situation for the Spain match?
    I believe it's on at 6:45 on Friday evening. The semi-final between the Czechs and Serbia will be on at 4:45.

1,825 Posts
    That's grand so. Cheers Danny.
    I foresee a divorce soon enough. I have watched or been at at least one match each day since Friday night last.

207 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    That's grand so. Cheers Danny.
    I foresee a divorce soon enough. I have watched or been at at least one match each day since Friday night last.
    To quote Slaven Bilic, "with the greatest respect to women, football is the most beautiful thing in the world".

I wouldn't worry about it.

1,928 Posts
    Hasn't Slaven already been through a messy divorce a few years ago

Bonnie is alright as long as he doesn't say it out loud, that he prefers football to intimacy with Mrs Shels.

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    To quote Slaven Bilic, "with the greatest respect to women, football is the most beautiful thing in the world".
    That's an odd thing for a man natively surrounded by Croatian women to say...

..but they do play some nice football over there too.

Does anyone know if rte are showing the semifinal??

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by faigirl View Post
    Does anyone know if rte are showing the semifinal??
    yes...

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0727/under19.html

Page 16 of 20 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast