He's brutal,
    any sign of andrew keogh boy wonder

Quote Originally Posted by neutral1976 View Post
    its a total disgrace that this ref was in the abbey dugout,well to be honest he did do them a huge favour in the league by helping shannonside lose two points against glin,does every one remember the big debate on this bout standard of referees ,well its that same ref.those two points are the reason abbey are on top now and will prob win the league,and ref s are suppose to be neutral,well its an absolute disgrace and he should never b allowed ref a desmond league match again even if they are short of referees,fair play my arse,fellows like him looking for respect then he should show a bit of it,now if abbey win there last two games after winning there two last weekend then they prob deserve to win league.could be a very interesting weekend,best of luck to all teams involved
    Do ye plan on bringing this up at a desmond league meeting?

I've been just an interested observer to foot.ie for the last season or so but i'm afraid i've to take exception to you're comment Notaclue. If you were to look at the results Notaclue, you would see that Shannonside beat Abbey early in the season so that negates Abbey beating Shannonside(2-0, by the way, not 2-1 as you said), Shannonsides 2 draws were against Newcastle West, Abbey have drawn against Newcastle West already and have to play them this Friday so i fact, neutral 1976 is actually right, the reason Abbey are ahead is down to that draw with Glin. Your username is quite apt!!!!!!

Well in my opinion that ref that was in abbey dugout is a disgrace and a useless ref.sure isn't he from glantine???

Quote Originally Posted by Balbec77 View Post
    any sign of andrew keogh boy wonder

Whos Andrew Keogh?

Quote Originally Posted by soccer8 View Post
    Whos Andrew Keogh?
    sorry wrong thread he is in limerick league

If you are talking about playing 11 signed A team players a weakend team u are dreaming LEON pointless making a comment when u don't have the facts to back them up. 2 playes on a stag weekend and 7 injured. I could name them for you if you wanted but pointless i think. Anyway you are not getting the point i was making.

Sky Blue, how are ye fixed for friday and sunday. Rathkeale play a big part in the relegation battle? Desmond Cup final the following week then as well. What happened in the Askeaton-Killeaney game, from what i heard the ref was terrible, for both sides made serious errors.

Nothing new there with the refs :P

Quote Originally Posted by limkdesmond View Post
    Nothing new there with the refs :P
    Lads give the refs a break, as I have already said, maybe it would be more beneficial if ye looked at the brutal standard in the league

Well that's your opinion and everyone has there own opinion..some people think the brutal standard of the league and some people think the brutal standard of referees

I agree with some of the comments there abt the refs, especially being in a teams dugout, crazy! Nobody can influence there decisions but themselves, there isnt goin to be action against them so its fairly pointless. As long as each team gives there all for the 2 remaining fixtures i.e has a full team and gives there all in each game this should hopefully be all we're talking about next week when the title and relagation battles are decided. That way whoever wins the title or gets relagated will deserve to do so.

It happens in bigger leagues than ours lads.
    Shur haven't man u given howard webb a vip box and a squad number for next season

Hahaha very good have it haha

[SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]Apologies to all but when I logged into this forum I thought I was joining a rational forum in relation to Junior Football [/FONT][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri][/FONT][/SIZE][SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri] I didn’t realise that it was just a way for alleged adults and I use the word Adults advisedly to whinge about anything that masks their own failings as both Footballers or People. [/FONT][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri][/FONT][/SIZE][SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]To continually gripe about Referees just goes to prove that instead of going out onto a football pitch with their heads in the right place to allow them to do justice to their team and themselves they are instead only worrying about how to make up an excuse in case they don’t win. What difference does it make where a guy sits, you should only worry if the Referee sitting in the dugout is the guy actually refereeing the game you are playing in. Continually blaming Referees for everything that goes wrong on a football pitch is just a way of masking the shortcomings of Players and teams. Get over it and go out and do your job correctly which in case you do not know, is to go out and give 100% for the team whose colours you are wearing.[/FONT][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]This is impossible to achieve if you have already accepted in your narrow little perspective that every Referee and official is out to get you or your team. The Team Manager whoever he may be also has some responsibility in this silly bigoted attitude because he should know that if he has players that are going out with the attitude then they are already a beaten team. He should be putting this out of their heads quicksmart otherwise he should look at his management abilities.[/FONT][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]The Abbeyfeale Manager must be thrilled to see the whinging and Moaning that the Shannonside crowd are going on with as its plain to see that their Focus is not where it should be. There are two games to go and you should expend all your energies in winning them both thereby putting pressure back on The other team who are in a position to win the league.[/FONT][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]I have not heard anyone slagging off the League Management official who allegedly spent the whole game ranting and raving at the referee in the game in Askeaton last weekend, Who is more of a disgrace, the Referee who sat in a dugout watching a game or the League official who should keep himself totally neutral while he is in a position of perceived importance on the League Management Committee. [/FONT][/SIZE]

Quote Originally Posted by Soreloser View Post
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]Apologies to all but when I logged into this forum I thought I was joining a rational forum in relation to Junior Football [/FONT][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri][/FONT][/SIZE][SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri] I didn’t realise that it was just a way for alleged adults and I use the word Adults advisedly to whinge about anything that masks their own failings as both Footballers or People. [/FONT][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri][/FONT][/SIZE][SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]To continually gripe about Referees just goes to prove that instead of going out onto a football pitch with their heads in the right place to allow them to do justice to their team and themselves they are instead only worrying about how to make up an excuse in case they don’t win. What difference does it make where a guy sits, you should only worry if the Referee sitting in the dugout is the guy actually refereeing the game you are playing in. Continually blaming Referees for everything that goes wrong on a football pitch is just a way of masking the shortcomings of Players and teams. Get over it and go out and do your job correctly which in case you do not know, is to go out and give 100% for the team whose colours you are wearing.[/FONT][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]This is impossible to achieve if you have already accepted in your narrow little perspective that every Referee and official is out to get you or your team. The Team Manager whoever he may be also has some responsibility in this silly bigoted attitude because he should know that if he has players that are going out with the attitude then they are already a beaten team. He should be putting this out of their heads quicksmart otherwise he should look at his management abilities.[/FONT][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]The Abbeyfeale Manager must be thrilled to see the whinging and Moaning that the Shannonside crowd are going on with as its plain to see that their Focus is not where it should be. There are two games to go and you should expend all your energies in winning them both thereby putting pressure back on The other team who are in a position to win the league.[/FONT][/SIZE]
    [SIZE=3][FONT=Calibri]I have not heard anyone slagging off the League Management official who allegedly spent the whole game ranting and raving at the referee in the game in Askeaton last weekend, Who is more of a disgrace, the Referee who sat in a dugout watching a game or the League official who should keep himself totally neutral while he is in a position of perceived importance on the League Management Committee. [/FONT][/SIZE]
    Thanks for clarifying this. Can we be safe in assuming that this member of the desmond league was with the away team in this fixture?
    Either way if what people say is true then you are correct it is a total disgrace, and he/she should be totally ashamed of himself/herself and probably should resign from the commitee!

This thread is now 60 odd pages long and it would be shocking if there was not a gripe or 2 about referees!
    However a lot of posters on here have never criticised a referee and quite a few have even posted such things as "forget about the refs" "give em a break" etc.
    Of course there will be a few who blame the ref for losing/drawing... while id say the vast majority of these claims are ridicolous and are based on 1 decision over 90 mins, however there is no way of knowing if the referee "robbed" a team or not unless you actually attended the match yourself.

Now people whinging about refs,standard of pitchs,dressing room facilities annoys me as much as the next person but this is a public forum and people can pretty much say what they like.

Can anyone clarify if the Ref who attended the Abbey game was just a spectator who happened to be sitting in the dug-out, or was he actively involved with the Abbey team?

If Abbey beat NCW tomorrow night (in my opinion) the title is theirs.

Also a very interesting relegation battle going on!

Best of luck to all teams involved!
    Last edited by snafu; 19/05/2011 at 12:48 PM.

Best of luck to abbeyfeale and shannonside this weekend who are both fighting for the league title..abbeyfeale will have a tough weekend playing against ncw who have nothing to play for only pride and killeaney who are fighting to stay up in the premier..and to shannonside who are playing broadford at home which could be no easy game and Newcastle west rovers away who are fighting to stay up also...and best of luck to the rest of the teams fighting to stay up

I think people are making a big deal of the ref in the abbeyfeal dugout, the reason the ref was at the match was because he was reffing Abbey b at 2.30 (the second game), He told me himself he went into the dugout because he was freezing, and to be fair he is a genuine man so this is all crap talk. On the other hand the Killeaney manager went to town on the ref in Askeaton last sunday, the goal Askeaton got should not have been allowed to be fair, He just went absolutely nuts, never have i ever seen a barrage of abuse being thrown at a ref. How the Killeaney Manager/Desmond League Official was not thrown out of the ground i will never know!

Friday, May 20th

Premier Division
    Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West (draw)
    Shannonside V Broadford Utd (home)
    Askeaton V Newcastle West Rovers (home)
    Glin Rovers V Adare Utd (home)
    Killeaney V Rathkeale (away)

Division 1
    Pallaskenry V Carrig Celtic (away)

Division 2
    Breska Rovers V Rathkeale B (home)
    Feenagh V Knockaderry (away)
    Kilcornan V Ballysteen (home)
    Newcastle West B V Creeves Celtic (home)
    Granagh Utd V Rockhill Rovers (draw)
    Last edited by western gale; 20/05/2011 at 6:12 PM.

Premier Division
    Abbeyfeale Utd 3 Newcastle West 0
    Shannonside 3 Broadford Utd 1
    Killeaney 0 Rathkeale 1
    Glin Rovers 0 Adare Utd 0
    Askeaton V Newcastle West Rovers abandoned

Division 2
    Breska Rovers 3 Rathkeale B 1
    Feenagh 3 Knockaderry 1
    Newcastle West B 1 Creeves Celtic 0
    Granagh Utd 0 Rockhill Rovers 2
    Kilcornan V Ballysteen, w/o to Kilcornan
    NB: Newcastle West B and Rockhill Rovers to play off for league
    Last edited by western gale; 20/05/2011 at 8:53 PM.

Page 61 of 65 FirstFirst ... 11515960616263 ... LastLast