Could be worse lads, Grattan A and Grattan B are playing at home the same night!!!
Lads on the fixture situation its a disgrace the aul are pulling this stroke
Its about time all the teams in the aul stood together and refuse to accept this s##t!!!
MOSSIE LINNANE CUP FINAL
Kinsale 2 - Killumney 0
Same old story with Kinsale, dogged and efficient. They got an early goal, defended well, and hung on for rest of game, with a second added right at the death. Killumney rued their missed chances. Good game. Killumney right winger man of the match for me.
thats how you win sliverware chelsea stylefrom what ive heard killumbey will be a srtong team in the prem next year if they go up whick i think they will..
1st of all I must say I'd nearly prefer to be a Finna Faill TD rather than our fixture Secretary, but I know for a fact he probably reads this script from time to time and he might get a little bit embarrased after it being highlighted that Coachford are playing Macrooom this weekend ( A mere 10 miles in the road ) and Coachford are away to Kinsale Tues week at 6pm .This scenario is just all wrong).
If the fixture secretary posted the next two weeks fixtures ahead, Instead of one, Teams may be able to come to a Compromise between themselves to organise a reshuffle if required to suit all teams. Even if it helped in 50% of Match fixtures It would be a work in progress.
As I said I know Its a tough job but any new suggestions are welcome .
I am only highlighting our fixture as an example , Im sure ther are a dozen others that we can crib about aswell ..![]()
To escape criticism ~
do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.
Many things we need to stand together for this summer. Fines, MJC price rise, Insurance etc.
Tough to make points when 5 at delegate meetings though.
Im not making excuses, but as fixtures sec/chairman said at beginning of season, "if I dont do it we dont have a league."
DIXIE stil alive thanks you for your concern.
Ya Kinsale proved again how hard they are to beat. I know they have only 4 league games played but I still think they are favourites to win the premier league. They just drop so little points. Like last year it will probably go down to how they do against Leeside.
Watched Blarney Street vs Leeside today. Tight game, Blarney Street probably had more ball, but Leeside created much the clearer chances. Game decided by a Delea penalty which our friend from here will be the first to hold his hand up about.
Dont think the pitch suited either side to be honest but Leeside seem to struggle with it. Ricky Gettings very good again up front for Leeside and Blarney Street seem to miss John Betts at the back, he's off to Oz soon I believe and is a huge loss for them. They were on the small side at the back.
Blarney Street had a man sent off for hitting a leeside player but something may have happened beforehand which i didnt see.
Both teams were down a few. No Keith Shaw, Conor Murray and that foxy lad up front for Leeside. Two lads were out watching so I assume they are injured. John Betts was togged out but didnt play and no Willie Bruton. Gary Leahy came on at the end for Blarney Street. Very good player, not sure if hes fit though
COACHFORD 2 VS MACROOM 1
started well enough coachford had more of the ball to be fair had a few chances to take the lead but didnt take them.we took the lead with about 20mins in to the 1st half taught we were doing ok to be honest more than holding our own.they got their 1st from an own goal just sneaked in by the near post sicking ball should ave been cleared and again it cost us.their 2nd came from a set piece lucey their center half with a good header at the back post marking was bad took it well.they should ave added a 3rd with 5mins before half time gary murphy chipping the keeper but the ball bounced over the bar got a way it.2nd half we didnt get into it at all coachford fully deserved 3points..park away next week.we really ave to start putting a good run together...
On the fixture backlog, maybe if there was a little bit more flexibility with fixtures being called off during the season, the backlog would not be too bad.
What I mean flexibility is if one teams pitch is deemed unplayable, switch it to their opponents pitch or if its unplayable on Saturday switch it to Sunday or with the frosty mornings push out the kick off times till later to give the pitch time to thaw.
This would be very easy to organise between the 2 teams and ref, simple things to get more games played and I know it would depend on whether pitches or refs would be available to switch.
But it might be better than playing at 6pm in April.
Went out watched the Blarney St. v Leeside game yesterday Leeside won 1-0 not a great game but was ok thought Blarney St. deserved a draw at least unbelieveable mistake by cas to give away the peno ....What wer you doing Cas blow the ball into touch keepers are nt built to take on players !!!!!
Blarney St missing a few players but when Leeside took the lead man they know how to hold onto it there defense are beasts!
Blarney St get a man sent of 75 mins which made the task that bit harder but they still plugged on but Leeside had that bit more expereince and no how and looked dangerous on the counter attack but as i said think the Street deserved at least a point.Think Davy Crow will have a good shout for a start next week after that blunder Cas!!
WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10
A sticky game that we took more and more control of as we went on. Took an early lead in first 10 minutes and were disapointed in their equaliser. We let one of their guys go free when he should have been picked up. Scored soon into the second half and were on top from there. A cracker of a third one from a well worked short corner.
Glenthorn will be ok as a club as long as these lads keep trying like that, even though one or two did not match the names on their birth certs........
The ref backed up my high opinion of him and I asked myself what he does differently to some others? I think its the fact that he just sees himself as one of 30 or so people involved in the game - its not a case of us and them.
Big win for Village, which brings Castleview and maybe one or two more back into the relegation battle.
At the top it still looks like 2 from 3, with 3 others looking for a lot of dropped points. Two big games in a few days for Bohs.
I spoke to the fixtures sec yesterday and expressed the concerns about the 6pm start time. He said the evening games had to start that week and he is unsure whether a later kick-off would get the games finished. He has no issue with both teams and refs arranging to kick off a little later if they tie up together.
'Big win for Village, which brings Castleview and maybe one or two more back into the relegation battle.'
Ye Horse looks like we may be lookin at a relegation battle. Struggling lately, a big clear out by management of deadwood. Had to sign a registration form this week and ended up playing yesterday. Just aswell, rolled back the years with a last minute equaliser against Greenwood. Must mention Patsy Freyne what an exhibition he gave yesterday, privilege to play with him again. Horse watched the 9 Castleview men play ye last week as my under 9s were playing at same time. They were lucky to field a team. Have to mention the behaviour of a few of your players. I know from speaking to some Committee members after the game they were disgusted. Was watching the game as one or two of your players after scoring stuck up their fingers and used language to our players and committee. Talk about kicking a dog when its down. At 5-0 same guys were shouting lets get another 5. Silly boys, remember the wheel always turns.
I had to play this week with another few of the old guard and we'll be ok I hope. 2 all with league leaders isn't bad, you can't beat experience.
VIEW great result over the weekend for ye keep up the good work be terrible to see ye dragged in to relegation fight.
Fair enough assessment sharpshooter, thought we were comfortable throughout the game but never put it to bed as we missed a few chances to get a 3rd. You certainly took your goal very well when the opportunity came other than that thought we and Ken Hogan in particular contained you pretty well. How many is that for you now? Great day for a game and a handy crowd at it. Think ye ll be more than safe heard ye ve lost a few recently which has nt helped the cause.
ya after the goal didnt really get into it to be fair,20 league goals now not 2 bad.ya ken is a good player took an nasty boot in the face brave header because it prob would ave been 2-2 then
but ye were very comfortable 2nd half deserved 3points.id say we have'nt started the same team once this year been unlucky with a lot of injurys to big players and a few to aussie land.just ave to get on with it every club is the same.missing our best player too in midfield...
how didnt gary murphys effort go in ill never no very unlucky..
Yeah great header by Ken, he was a bit swollen yesterday but he s a pretty boy he ll be fine in a few days haha, could nt believe Gary's effort did nt go in, (lobbed the keeper and bounced over the bar) was right behind it and was practically celebrating. Grattan for us now next week, are they after improving? Wilton only beat them by two, any reports on that one lads.