He'd be the main man in Dallas !!! :-)
Guys can we give the refs a break?
They dont go out intentionally to have bad games!
Its not them that are committing leg breaking tackles!
Its a tough enough job id imagine, its easy to point and criticise.
we've all been in matches were refeering decisions have gone both with and against us.
All you can do is get on with the game, no amount of abuse is going to change his mind (players shud realise this around U12s...)
Now im not saying refs should be absolute from blame, im sure there is some some sort of monitoring system from the league....
If a ref is not fit to ref then it is the leagues fault for hiring him(who can blame a guy 4 trying to make a few extra bob da weekend?). I wasnt at that match mentioned above so i cant possibly comment but to have to 2 first time posters come on and post after it seems like a bit of a knee jerk reaction.
in my own opinion if you deserve to win a game, you will win it..... no matter how bad the ref!
P.S. i'm not a Ref![]()
Yes, you are right referee's do have bad days and you have to say fair play to them for doing the games every week with the abuse they get and of course it's handy that they get a few pound as well. This is a big but, but would you actually have to have been at the game just to see how unfair this man was on this day, the Glin boys could not believe it, that he was so one sided.
I was talking to a few of their men on the side line and they thought it was disgraceful and you know that they don't say these things lightly. Yes you should win those games when you deserve to but with football you never know.
Shannonside were comfortable at 2-1 and then that decision cost them 2 points. So you cannot say that the referee can't decide who wins games or not.
So in my opinion the referee did screw Shannonside and I hope it does not cost them the league cause they are a good side.
They lost the 2 Sheahans would be 1 reason
The man made 2 major mistakes in the last few weeks that ultimitely knocked Rathkeale out of the MJC and could cost Shannonside the league.Will we just say nothing about them and forget they happened at all!!??
Hard to win a game with 5 min to go and a peno is awarded against you for absoluetly nothing.
The fact is that the referees have nobody to answer to, yes there is an inspector but has there ever been a ref stood down for a week because of a terrible decision, I can't recall 1. Teams train hard all season and 1 call can deny maybe a deserved cup or league. Perhaps if there was somewhere that the clubs could complain to with genuine problems, not just a dodgy offside. Clubs are slow to go to the league commette as there is never any follow up as there is a shortage of refs already, thats the answer given. IMO this wuld improve the standard of refereeing in our league.
Until there is a bit more respect shown to refs and younger men (who could keep up with the games a bit better) encouraged to take up the whistle we're going to stay where we are.You can only tell refs where to go when you have a surplus of them and then you can pick and choose.
All things considered though you still see the so called top professional refs in the Premiership/Champions League making howlers so there's no perfect answer.
Desmond Cup 1st Round
Bally Rovers 7 0 Killeaney
Desmond Cup 1st Round
Newcastle West Rvs w/o from Breska Rvs
Bally Rovers 7 Killeaney 0
Creeves Cel w/o from Newcastle West
Carrig Celtic 1 Rathkeale 2
Desmond U-17 Cup 2nd Round
Broadford Utd 1 Kilcornan 2
Seems everyone is moving up a year to come in line with the rest of Europe. Basicly 7 year olds will be playing under 10 next year but, crucialy, still playing against other 7 year olds as the 9 year olds will be gone up to under 12 and so on along. Its just for one year only, then they'll all be back correct in their age groups next year. In the case of 17 year olds, they would have no higher group to bump up to hence the establishment for one year of an Under 19 league. Without that 17 year olds would have nowhere to go except junior soccer and God knows enough give it up after Youths(18's) level but those 17 year olds would have this U19 league to bridge that gap.
I think its the obvious thing to do, no problem with it. Did I explain it properly/clearly?
Lads the refs are not paid officials at all. The make mistakes which do cost teams matches but to say half way through a season that it has cost shannonside the title is a joke. If shannonside win the rest of their games then they will be champs and thats that, dont and they leave the door open for other teams to win it. Can blame a ref for losing you games you should win anyway.
To El Nino and Sky Blue i didnt hear ye complain too much a few years ago when ye scored the equaliser against NCW in the league playoff when most of ye admitted that at least 4 players were off-side for it. Now that was a decision that cost a team a title, cause that was the match for the title.
Refs can be good and bad, we just have to keep playing and do our best. Whinning like 5yr old's ain't going to get you nothing
Heard this morning ncw beat broadford 2-1 and shannonside beat ncw rovers 1-0..any truth in this
Premier Division
Adare Utd 1 Killeaney 1
Glin Rvs 1 Rathkeale 0
Shannonside beat Rovers 1-0