Thread: Opening game!!!

861 Posts

Opening game!!!

Here we go big opening game VS Shels I know their the hot favorites for promotion but I think wel upset them Saturday night 2-0 im going for...hows everyone else feeling?
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

220 Posts
    I'm confident enough on a win also Outspoken but am a bit worried about our goalkeeping situation. I know they were working hard to get Alvin's papers processed but the foreign office or whoever is over this legal crap were dragging their heels. Anyone know if he'll be available for selection? If not we might have to score 3 or 4 to win!!

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    I'm confident enough on a win also Outspoken but am a bit worried about our goalkeeping situation. I know they were working hard to get Alvin's papers processed but the foreign office or whoever is over this legal crap were dragging their heels. Anyone know if he'll be available for selection? If not we might have to score 3 or 4 to win!!
    Wow never heard anything about that, hopefully he should be cleared, galways Yoffe only got his clearance today so it shows how long it takes

220 Posts
    I thought in pre-season our defence looked sound as did our goalkeeper...........however tonight was totally different. Hope for better next week!

1,104 Posts
    I wouldn't go too hard on them tonight really, the goals were poor but in overall play I thought Hope and Deans were solid enough and looked a better bet than Deans and Lester ever did last year. At our wage levels pretty much every player will have flaws. Shels looked like a work in progress but they'll only get better I reckon. Conan Byrne will be some player for them this year. On a positive note for us, Cowan was always a threat and will cause problems for many teams this year with his strength and pace. He still has a bit to learn about when to release the ball however as evidenced by their first goal.

861 Posts
    Really disappointed with that, we played so well in the first half and the back 4 looked as solid as a rock but that goal before half time killed us. Hope had a real good game and up top Cowan was fantastic on his own he looks like having a great season.

Wexford next week will be a very tough test.

205 Posts
    Don't know what to make of last night. Deans was at fault for the two goals. Was happy with Hope, he looked good and Rouse didn't put a foot wrong. Morley was great as well, very skillful. Cowan was great as well - the pace!
    Who said that Lee Roche brings a bit of football to the game...
    Sporting F*ck All!

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    Don't know what to make of last night. Deans was at fault for the two goals. Was happy with Hope, he looked good and Rouse didn't put a foot wrong. Morley was great as well, very skillful. Cowan was great as well - the pace!
    Who said that Lee Roche brings a bit of football to the game...
    i did, he scored our goal and got a bad bang in the process that hindered him for the rest of the game.

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by howsyourtouch View Post
    i did, he scored our goal and got a bad bang in the process that hindered him for the rest of the game.
    And did you think he played well?
    Sporting F*ck All!

106 Posts
    disappointed leaving the ground last night as I felt we could and should have got something out of the game.. First 20 mins we were as good as Ive seen us in a long time, tried to play a bit of football and looking very solid all around the park. After that however I felt we went back to our old habits of long ball which didnt work well at all. Walsh who started will was denied time on the ball and sammon was bypassed as we relied heavily on Don as an out ball. Very impressed by Morley although he will face tougher stronger defenders in the future and one wonders how he will fair then. Hope and Deans played well imo, but their second goal was a farce, a great finish but could so easily have been avoided. Plenty of scope for optimism for the year ahead but we need to ensure that cowan is not as isolated as unless a player is near him his decision making can be suspect at times.

Great to see a good crowd out last night, although swelled by the big shels crowd in attendance, hopefully people realise that we have a decent squad out there that will win games, and they are worth supporting..

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    And did you think he played well?
    from what i have seen of him from last season, yes he does bring a bit of football to the team. going on lasts nights game, no he didnt have a good night, but still scored our goal and burst himself in the process!

It was a disappointing result, but I thought we played alright and were competitive against one of the teams that'll be fighting at the top of the first (right up until the end of the season, when they'll bottle it and stay down), who would also have a much bigger budget than us I'd imagine.

Can't say I'd be feeling the hate for any of the team on last night - the little scuts of shels fans are a different matter (you'd nearly hope they'll get into europe to get kicked around the place by proper hoolies!).

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Can't say I'd be feeling the hate for any of the team on last night - the little scuts of shels fans are a different matter (you'd nearly hope they'll get into europe to get kicked around the place by proper hoolies!).
    yeah macy those scuts were idiots to come over to section o anyway. I see in the press that the attendance was 900 people which was mightily impressive. there seems to be a lot of confusion over the goalscorer for us. aertel have don cowan along with a few of the papers. I assume that it is definitely Lee Roches??

superb atmosphere at the game. I thought that town tired a lot in the second half but the start to the game was very promising . i didnt even see the goal as I was trying to figure out who was playing as there was no tannoy announcements over the team..Imagine if Austin Skelly comes back soon it will be some strike force with Don Cowan!!

220 Posts
    What do people on here make of Delaney's challenge on Cowan in the first half just outside the box? I missed the incident myself but on the Star newspaper the reporter said Delaney should of got a red card for last man back and Cowan would of been straight through on goal. Ref ended up not even giving us a free kick.

Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    What do people on here make of Delaney's challenge on Cowan in the first half just outside the box? I missed the incident myself but on the Star newspaper the reporter said Delaney should of got a red card for last man back and Cowan would of been straight through on goal. Ref ended up not even giving us a free kick.
    http://vimeo.com/channels/shelstv

the shels match is up here! make your own mind up!

38 Posts
    well i know lee roche was claiming the goal that he got the last touch to bring it over the line, it was hard to see though!

on the little shels knacks, the smell of drink of the two little lads!

don cowan and austin skelly should be very good for us up front when he comes back, wouldnt fancy any centre half against either of them for pace, would fancy a few peno's this year with last man back making silly tackles against the two lads!

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by howsyourtouch View Post
    on the little shels knacks, the smell of drink of the two little lads!
    Little stains. I got frisked going in and this is my 11th year walking into that stadium... won't be happening again.
    Sporting F*ck All!

81 Posts
    I had a grand chat with those two Shels boys, they're harmless, god love them!

861 Posts
    http://vimeo.com/channels/shelstv

the shels match is up here! make your own mind up!
    At the game straight away I thought it was a foul by the keeper......I've rewound 3 times or so there and Cowan gets a flick on the ball and the keeper stops him from going round clear foul......red card .....nice to hear the Shels lads giving us a bit of praise now lets hope for something from the Wexford game....I'd take a point especially with Mervue in our next league game were youd hope we could pick up all 3.

205 Posts
    That was what you were talking about? Around 2 mins in? Not a foul, Cowan missed the ball and ran into the keeper. Cowan should have been more focused on the ball and not the keeper.
    Sporting F*ck All!