WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10
I think ye both have valid points, but lets be fair to the ref I don't think he is doing anything wrong in trying to sell some gear( should leave it till after the game to talk to teams about it), I don't think for a minute it has any influence on how he refs a game either way. He has reffed plenty of games I was involved in over the years and we have had a few bad games and good ones (like most refs). He spoke to me about gear too at the start of the season and if we were interested in getting some I would have used him as it was a great price compared to some other suppliers. If clubs save money when using him, i'm quite sure some clubs would have been only too happy that he let them know about his offers.
Wont say anymore on the matter - just that I hope he is declaring it :-P
The ref concerned is a decent ref and generally a sound guy. Not one bit inappropriate IMO.
LADS just my opinion so not looking for fight but ola ye lost to better team and you bring up about ref selling gear very childish you apart of aul team and you running down ref.you need to grow up man your acting like a two year old.AND my opinion ref that done yer game is one of the best around.
I REPEAT - we are not taking away from Bohs victory - as we clearly stated we believe he got lots wrong for both sides. On the other hand, i dont think either team will say the other side was a better team on the day, as I said we could have nicked it 3-2 too. They scored 3 and we scored 2 - they won. Fair play to them. Norries Abu!
The point about the gear is overshadowing the point I am trying to make - no accountability for the money handed over. No accountability for the fines given out for player reaction to poor referring decisions. Yes, the player shouldnt react - take out the incorrect decision and you avoid it too.
With some refs that make errors, the reaction is the same as if your own player makes a mistake, you curse to yourself but take it as a rare mistake and move on. Some refs (not saying this guy is in or out of this category) make a high level of mistakes in every game, and we have no clear pathway of our (the wage payers) opinion been taken into account - that makes no sense in any walk of life. Alex Ferguson can ring Keith Hackett (the head of the refs in England) directly. He mightnt like what he as to say, but he knows he has someway of getting his opinion heard. I am among many who do some form of club work every day of the week, and to hand money and power to someone with no accountability begins to effect your enthusiasm.
Did you know a Grade 1 schoolboys ref can ref an Under 12 game in June and ref Kinsale V Leeside on day 1 of the next season in August? No-one can tell me that is right
With the Sporting Fingal collapse coming for months, the increase of 75% in the insurance excess for Personal Accident insurance, the continued ignoring of the fact that fines are crippling clubs, and the 20% increase of an entry fee to the MJC last season - it makes you wonder if the FAI & others have taken their eye off the ball on a local level. Grand having a lovely new stadium, but if you dont have a strong grassroots you have nothing. The lack of listening to those on the coalface will drive many good people out of the game.
Oh Yeah.............Ola has retired from foot.ie!
Just a general statement here folks and its meant for everyone,and I mean everyone.
If and when I choose to print anything on this forum then I will use the same name as I have always used.
Do we all understand that,I wont be hiding behind another name and hope to say what I like without a care.
Iv passed comment in the heat of the moment in the past about games,team,refs and facilities an never gave a tupenny xxxx.But I know now I was bang out of order.Theres always a comeback some where down the line.
The ref Saturday,just reffed a game.He didnt fla either side.We managed to that to ourselves.Terrible surface,terrible weather and a derby game.We should be thankful we had the ref we had.
I have no problem at all in saying he is one of the best refs in our or any other league Iv played in.An if theres any thing you can say about the man its that hes fair.He never takes sides.An considering the abuse he gets a lot of ye should consider yerselfs lucky he dosent.An where dose anyone get off bringing what he dose before a game into the public domain.Judge him or any one else on what they do in the 90 mins an be man enough to say it to him after the game.I had major words with a ref last season in a game,a vital game which we lost through no fault of the refs an took it out on him after the game.I was totally wrong,end of.I rang him later an apoligised whole heartedly.An in fairness he accepted.Hes another top class ref.I would of been better served trying to find out why we conceeded such a soft goal.
Finally how many of us would be man enough to take the negative comments handed out here if the refs had a forum talking about our players,clubs,facilities and football.
A bit Irish lads if ya ask me.
Just to save anyone a rant back lads I wont be biting,I had hoped to just be an occasional visitor to the forum until I read the last few posts.Iv said what Iv said an I wont be posting again,ever.
Last edited by littleman; 14/02/2011 at 2:25 PM.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
He is back with a bang!!!! go on littleman![]()
"Build it and they will come"
HORSE didnt mean anything bad towards blackstone heard it was great game no hard feeling and littleman welcome back hows things with you and DANIELS getting on.
Man i hate work!!!! i go in the morning and log back here in the evening and miss all the excitement why has Ola retired and wat did he say to be acting the arsehole? someone p.m if they can please
WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10
Littleman, in fairness, during all the Grattan pitch abuse - I never once joined in! And, ironically, as the game kicked off - I was with a chap discussing the pitch!
You cant say this ref is as good as Gene Stephens, Finbarr Murphy, Andy Mylod, Pat Murphy, Damien O Mahony. I wonder what ye would have said if our equaliser with 2 of our guys offside turned out to be the winner?
If I cant speak about the refs on here........sums up my point exactly.........where else do I go? Who else do I say it to? Upto 50% of our match day intake is handed over with no come back, no accountability. If any of the players are bad, they may be dropped.
It only comes back on us - yep, you may be right. Is that fair? They can punish me - yet they get their 80/90 next week too? 2 weeks ago, one of our players was told during a game by the ref - "No wonder ye get nothing, ye moan too much" - Sound professional and impartial doesnt it? We DONT WANT anything more than fairness. I cant sit back anymore and let it happen. We just cant. We need to find out where every penny is going and get best value for it.
Ola asked for his profile to be removed - they refused. There was accusations made by the "overseeers" that may be taken further if they arent taken down.
Sorry, Lads. Just to clarify further my point on accountability. Any new system would also include refs reporting on teams and their behaviour, on and off the pitch. No-one wants it one-sided, just fair.
Great post horse!!!! I know of at least two managers who are seeing out the season just due to club loyalty and are packing up the aul completely due in no small part to some of the points you have brought up. They are just sick of the ****e, the lack of player loyalty, the crazy aul fines dished out etc.
Money is a major issue for clubs now but the aul are there harrassing clubs for payment of cards dished out like confetti by poor refs with no one to answer to. These guys have been involved for many years but have had enough and as you say the "enthusiasm" has gone. I reckon the aul will have fewer clubs next season.
Ps. This forum is going the same way, losing the likes of littleman and ola........
Wicklow Rovers 2 Coachford 1
I think Junglejym summed it up, by all accounts we were beaten by the better team. I unfortunately missed the game as i had to attend a wedding. Typical that they fell on the same date. My info comes 2nd hand but is reliable, We went one down, Ciaran Lucey pegged one back before half time and they got the winner with 5 gone in the second half. Threw the kitchen sink at them but failed to create any clear cut chances despite forcing 5-6 corners near the end. Do nt think we were happy with the goals conceded but overall the better team won. A great achievement to get this far, and its just a pity we did nt get a home draw as its a huge advantage in this stage of the competition. A free week end now, out of the cups so its going to be hell for leather in the league for us, hoping the games come thick and fast.
Best of luck to Wicklow, a fine footballing side by all accounts.
Congrats to Springfield, they really do love the cup competitions, as i mentioned a few weeks back they are an excellent side who will be playing at a much higher level sooner rather than later.
Last edited by Inswinger; 15/02/2011 at 11:01 AM.
lads lads lads.. a lot of heated tension over the last few days wasnt there.. this man in the middle seems ta be the main topic being debated.. just to clarify one issue regarding the bohs and blackstone match, bohs bought gear from him at the start of the season, i can vouch for that as i see a lot of their games.. regarding the referee approaching clubs prior to kick off- a distinct lack of professionalism.. i understand he has to try and make a ferw bob, but aint he making enought for an hour and a half work.. he has the option of contacting all club secreatries during the week if he wants clubs to purchase gear from him..
belated congratulations to springfield also who keep the cork flag flying.. hard luck to coachford who were pipped in wicklow..
totally agree hill..think i will be having my last post here as well.,its the likes of ola and littleman who have made this forum what it is today.and even though ola and i have had our differences he calls it as he sees it and for those in authority on this form to resort to saying he is acting the ass hole is a disgrace.we are all entitiled to our oppinions and all he did was expressed his