AB, what makes you think James and Darron are on a par, status wise? One is playing week in week out for a team at the wrong end of the table, and getting great reviews, which in my opinion is even more impressive given the weakness of his team, the other languishes in the reserves and when he does play gets stick for being poor in a team that dominates opponents more often than not.
They are in no way on a par, McCarthy is a much better player and a much better prospect I feel.
Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!
It's concerning that Trap is now suggesting indecision on McCarthy's part. Whether he's tapping into the paranoid rumour mill that's been chugging away the past few days (which may have no basis whatsoever in fact) or is paraphrasing somone from the McCarthy camp is what I want to know.
Complete conspiracy story here, but do you think his pulling out of the squad, if there was any truth in what trap said, and scotland don't go out of their way and call him up, but he gets included in the next scotland squad i.e. next months qualifier.
Again not looking for reaction but if there was any truth in what Trap said, then this is how I'd see it. Its not completely inconceivable to think he might be influenced by a strong scottish presence in the wigan squad.
Given the size of our playing pool, when a genuine prospect, through the parent rule, such as Clark, presents itself, we can't afford to be lax. When multiple propsects, such as McCarthy, McGeady, Clark, Wilson, St Ledger, Duffy, Scannell, present themselves, and in the cases of two, take serious abuse as a result, it's about more than being "bothered"; that's the nucleus of a team right there, and that is what the focus should be - having the right personnel on board when a new manager takes over for WC2014.
The likes of Clark will prevent us being beaten by those countries of similar ability. It's the likes of McCarthy that will allow us to beat those around us.
Scotland dont have another competitive game until september I thought I heard someone say on Sky so alot could happen between now if he doesnt get capped by us in a competitive game
Its really not that complicated!!!
Have to completely disagree. You can pay me winnings in c. 10 years. Though to be fair to Gibson his ManU. career could be determined by Fergie's tenure or who his successor is.
McCarthy is just another 'hope' every eejit is pinning their shirt on. If he was that good, he wouldn't be at Wigan. End of.
How can someone become experienced in reading between the lines? Is it by making up mad conspiracy theories that have no relation to fact?
Agreed. But seems fairly unlikely all the same, Trap doesn't have his ear to the ground on most of his players. It also totally flies in the face of everything that's been said by him and the player for about six months. Just doesn't add up for me.
Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?
it's not bloody naive. When the manager of your national team, says publically that one of his players, the best prospect we've had in the centre of the pitch in a generation, needs to choose between the country he's turned his back on, and he and his family taking serious abuse for, or the country he's declared for, then that is a big issue.
It's a big issue because despite the player himself refuting the allegations of switching, the media are determined to raise the subject continously and the manager is not helping the matter either.
either he gives banal interviews in pidgeon, or he takes the press conferences entirely through the interpreter. That's the only way of sorting it.
I've no problem with him being stubborn, or with him making fleetingly unusual selections, but if he continues to stoke the fires and create confusion, then the few of us who are still relatively happy with him will lose it quickly enough.
I would agree that it would be nearly funny but for that fact that the success of our national teams future is at stake here. In relation to press conferences, all he has to do is say nothing controversial, get back on his plane, go back to Italy and put his feet up until the next pay check comes through his gold encrusted letterbox.
Instead he opens his gob and leaves us with more questions than answers. People can blame Hyland/Custis or whoever they like but from what he said today (and thats all we can go on cos nobody is putting words in his mouth) any right seeing Irish fan would be concerned as to what the hell is going on.
“I’d always play Pirlo but Trapatoni says his first concern is to avoid losing goals. The truth is that we didn’t know what we were doing out there" Gennaro Gattuso, June 2004.
NO, but it was obvious from the start that something was going on here as noely and i suggested, its using cop on.
the other was just a conspiracy theory.
Thats a bit of a ridiculous way to look at his career in my opinion. The lad has taken the right steps so far. He stayed at Hamilton where he was gettin first team football since he was 15 and then when the time was right to move he went to a club where he could continue his development on a bigger stage with a club that would give him first team football too. He has become one of their best players at the age of 20 and he will move onto a big club very very soon
Its really not that complicated!!!
He's only turned 20 ffs and he's more than holding his own in central midfield in the Premier League. The fact that he's at Wigan is irrelevant as his next move is likely to be to a much bigger club than Wigan. Given our lack of resouces in that area, McCarthy could well anchor midfield for Ireland for the next decade. Certainly not someone we can afford to be losing.
“I’d always play Pirlo but Trapatoni says his first concern is to avoid losing goals. The truth is that we didn’t know what we were doing out there" Gennaro Gattuso, June 2004.
I think you do the followers of this site a disservice by referring to them as eejits, but that's your outlook.
I've no problem with you disagreeing, but I did ask you what you based your assertion on? Otherwise you're no different that some of the "eejits".
I'm comparing the two. Gibson is 3 years older, and has played 50 games less than McCarthy in that time. Gibson has underwhelmed in his 4 seasons or so at senior football, even getting stick during his time at Wolves as noted on this site. McCarthy first came to note playing for his local senior time in the second tier of Scotland at 16, impressed at the first step up at promotion to the Spl, impressed again when changing environment and a noted step up in class in the EPL, still at 18/19, and has gone from strength to strength, as noted by pro commentators countrywide. He has done this at relatively small clubs, playing in sides that are in theory "inferior". United are likely to be recruiting in the summer for replacements for Scholes, Hargreaves and Giggs. Gibson hasn't displayed anything (yet) to suggest that he is ready to take over the mantle from scholes, and with the likes of Cleverly to come back, who is younger and better rated, I don't see it happening.
It's my belief that there is as good a chance that both players will be changing scenary in the summer, both going in opposite directions from where they are now. That will be good for one of them. I really do hope Gibson etches out a niche for himself at United, as that would be good for us, but right now, I just don't see it, and the years will keep ticking on quickly.