Stokes can't score a hatrick.
Yep, too selfish.
Stokes can't score a hatrick.
Stokes first from a freekick.
Second goal
assist from Anthony to Paddy McCourt
Was up at the game last night and thought he had a fairly quiet enough first half hour. After that though he became much more involved. The posts above reflect the key moments, the dribble on the edge of the box and cut back was a lovely piece of skill. He had opportunities either side of his brace as well to get the hatrick but dwelled too long or took one to many touches. In the first half he had a great chance to toe poke home but tried to steer it on to his right foot and the defender blocked the chance. I was thinking to myself thats symptomatic of footballers these days with only one foot but then he lost another opportunity in the 2nd half when he appeared to be trying to move it on to his left - so wtf do I know.
Anyway, the partnership with Hooper is looking good - Two young lads, working hard for each other & the team and linking up well. That can only be good for the confidence and hopefully soemthing he can bring with him to the Irish setup.
Stokes did get booked again, disappointing as it was for dissent from what I could see. Thats 5 hes got now so far this season. Needs to cut it out.
Definitely want to see him get some game time in the up and coming friendly.
I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?
"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew
there's still alot of negativity regarding stokesy - he's playing ans scoring as i have mentioned when he's at his best for celtic he is more effective than keane was last season but i'm not trying to compare the two overall - junior your right about the partnership with hooper - i don't really see why he shouldn't get a craic at international football in the near future if he keeps playing like this - but he needs to be played as an out & out striker -
Without being too mean spirited - we've been here before with Stokes.
Not a million years ago he was touted as the new hope, but he's not delivered anywhere near that early promise at international level.
That said - if he keeps scoring, he deserves another look, on merit.
Quoting years at random since 1975
So what if he hasn't met some expectations, he was a talented youth at a top club, it's natural to have hope for his career. He's not even one of Celtic's best new players this season. He is not even their best striker, but he has stuck at the task at hand and has made progress with his game.
He has earned a call up to be one of 7 strikers in a friendly. That's not evidence of a second coming. It is hardly likely that he will get game time. But if he does, I have a hope that it works out well.
Are you for real?? Or just sour grapes about Stokes??
Maybe the current Hibs team is Div.3 level but Celtic (& even R*ngers) are still capable of the PL. As are most of the SPL if they had the millions the likes of Wigan and Blackpool (currently) have to roll about in. Even Hibs??
In fairness he appears to have a class of touch beyond most of our strikers, no matter how inconsistent or at what level.
Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?
I think Stokes is at best fourth in the line behind Keane, Doyle and Long. No way does he deserve to be above that three. Nonetheless, I hope Stokes continues to progress and improve.....we certainly need as many as possible of the young lads coming through. No doubt the guy has talent, his attitude has been in question many a time in the past and still remains to be seen if it has improved indefinitely.
wasnt he played out of position in nearly every game? Dont get me wrong, i think Stokes still has to prove himself to an extent but credit where it is due - he had a stormer yesterday and is something different to what our current striking options offer. And he's a natural goalscorer.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
Well said Stu.
It was hugely encouraging to see those two goals against Hearts, regardless of what standard you reckon the SPL is at. I always like to see Irish players score from free-kicks, mainly because Lawrence is probably the only player that gets picked at International level who has any idea what he is doing when it comes to set pieces. Also, the determination to get up alongside Hooper for the second goal was impressive. Hooper was clean through and would have won a penalty in all fairness if Stokes hadn't followed up, but he bust a gut to get and reaped the sweet, sweet goalscoring rewards.
The 'assist' for the last goal, well... we've all done it at some point![]()
In fairness Hunt is good at set pieces as well Serb.
for accuracy he is if86 - i think Serb was talking about direct free kicks on goal.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
Stokes will feature tonight for Celtic in the league vs Aberdeen (Live on ESPN for those that have it). I doubt Sammon will feature for Wigan who are playing West Brom live on Sky Sports, though S Reid might be involved as seems to be back early from injury plus McCarthy for Wigan as well.
I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?
"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew