Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Thread: All transfer news, ins and outs etc.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    I thought Garvan Broughall is a right back and was brought in to be a senior squad member? Would prefer to see a more experienced right back come in but if he is a right back naturally i wouldn't mind seeing him play there. Especially if it means O Leary can play in midfield and not have to fill in there.

Agree with all the other players as first team players. If you leave out Garvan Broughall that is only 12 first team players though. Hopefully the club will announce a couple of new signings at once.
    Forgot about him man ya if he is a right back thats grand but even Athlone fans aren't too impressed with McCarthy and Calla has done nothing since signing for us so we need centre back.

O Leary and Judge are good players but play both in the middle and we will get bossed in midfield like last year need a bit of strenght in there.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Forgot about him man ya if he is a right back thats grand but even Athlone fans aren't too impressed with McCarthy and Calla has done nothing since signing for us so we need centre back.

O Leary and Judge are good players but play both in the middle and we will get bossed in midfield like last year need a bit of strenght in there.
    Definitely need to be tougher in midfield. O Leary would be excellent alongside a strong experienced midfielder that will hold in the middle. Ya Athlone fans where kind of mixed about McCarthy. I can only presume Scully see's something in him.

We need someone to play up front with O'Flynn as i'd prefer to see Sheehan on the right wing for the start of the season to see how he gets on.

420 Posts
    Definitely need to be tougher in midfield. O Leary would be excellent alongside a strong experienced midfielder that will hold in the middle. Ya Athlone fans where kind of mixed about McCarthy. I can only presume Scully see's something in him.

We need someone to play up front with O'Flynn as i'd prefer to see Sheehan on the right wing for the start of the season to see how he gets on.
    If only Boland could have stayed fit.

1,025 Posts
    Goalkeeping:Top notch.

Defence: Not bad, but not immense - about the same as last year.

Midfield: Nobody who can really boss the field or pass the ball.

Attack: Great pair of strikers (if Sheahan plays as one) but little to no cover for injury.

I thought our biggest ptoblem last year was that we were without any player who could really control midfield, and I don't see any signs of that being remedied.

I think we are

Goalkeeping: Very Good.

Defence: Stronger than last season but still behind the other challengers in the League.

Midfield: Weak. One or Two nice players but no one to control it and do the gritty work.

Attack: Sheehan and O Flynn are two good strikers but i think we have no depth there at the moment and not as strong as other teams there.

At the moment it seems to be Waterford the best, Cork and Shels just behind that and us next. The other teams have been fairly quiet so far so its hard to know with them.

420 Posts
    I think we are the same in defence as last year definitely dont think better.

No cover for injuries anywhere.

56 Posts
    Garbhan Coughlan could turn out for forward cover if he matures a bit, serious potential from what I saw last season.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    If only Boland could have stayed fit.
    what on earth happened to willie boland did he make any first team appearances with ye at all?

1,025 Posts
    He did, but never lasted more than 15 minutes before getting injured. I wasn't at the Athlone game away when we won 3-1, but from what I've heard, in the 15 minutes he was on the pitch, he looked a different class completely.

According to his wiki page, he's now with Guisborough Town FC.

In:
    Peter Hynes

http://limerickfc.ie/Home/news/110114squad.html

Unsure about this one. Don't think he was great with Longford. Hopefully he can prove me wrong but is he the kind of player to help us get promoted?
    Last edited by Jofspring; 14/01/2011 at 5:25 PM.

420 Posts
    In:
    Peter Hynes

http://limerickfc.ie/Home/news/110114squad.html

Unsure about this one. Don't think he was great with Longford. Hopefully he can prove me wrong but is he the kind of player to help us get promoted?
    No not at all hes terrible wasn't good enough for Longford last year and no offence to Longford but if we are serious about going up we need to be getting players better then someone that was not wanted by a poor Longford team last year.

420 Posts
    Which of these would ye want that we could realistically get ?

Goalkeepers:
    Billy Brennan (UCD)
    Aaron Shanahan (Longford Town)

Defenders:
    Liam Burns (Dundalk)
    Sean Kelly (Limerick FC)
    Brian Gartland (Monaghan Utd)
    Mark Rossiter (Bohemian FC)
    Brian Shelley (Bohemian FC)
    Aidan Price (Shamrock Rovers)
    Shaun Kelly (Dundalk)

Midfielders:
    Dean Marshall (Athlone Town)
    Darren Meenan (Drogheda Utd)
    Bobby Ryan (Limerick FC)
    Stuart Byrne (St Patrick's Athletic)

Forwards:
    Mark Leech (Shelbourne)
    Eamon Zayed (Sporting Fingal)
    Daryl Kavanagh (Waterford Utd)
    Glen Fitzpatrick (Drogheda Utd)
    Karl Moore (UCD)

Thats who i would want either Gartland or Price to partner Paddy,Kelly for right back and Byrne would give us the strength and experience we need in midfield.

Shaun Kelly and Aidan Price would be two great signings. We would probably have the best defense in the league. I agree Stuart Byrne is the kind of experience we need.

The only question about those players is are they failing to get offers or looking for too much money possibly.

The only reason i can think Hynes was brought in is to add something different up front. Sheehan has the pace, O Flynn is the finisher/poacher and Hynes is the strong physical centre forward. The Longford fans have said when he is interested he is very talented but when he is not he is a waste of space. Maybe trying to push for promotion might get him to put in the effort.

What would be the chances of Behan I wonder. Cork seemingly want him on loan. He is out of favour with Hartlepool and seems to be on his way out. Would be very good in this division.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 14/01/2011 at 8:24 PM.

420 Posts
    If they are looking for a lot of money will have to come down the closer the season gets if no-one is willing to pay it.

Any fan of a club Hynes has been at that i have talked to have said he is no good. If hes just been brought in because he is big and strong its not much use if hes too lazy to use it. So far dont think hew ill be pushing for promotion with us but depends who else comes in.

Doubt we would have any hope of Behan if he comes back it will be to premier or to Cork id say.Cork seem to have loads of money to throw around going by who they are being linked with.

Id take Kav back if he had got himself sorted.

Vinny Faherty and Robert Bayly would be two great signings also. Both will prob be picked up by premier teams but as it stands they haven't been yet as far as I know.

Think Kavanagh has got a few chances a few places and has always been moved on for off the field reasons so I can't see him changing anytime soon. Pity cause he'd be a good addition.

Surprised Clarke, yellow and Hughes haven't signed junior yet like they where expected. As far as I know they've been available to do so for a while.

Still think Wayne Colbert would make a good right back for us and is a tough player in the middle. Can't see that happening either though.

Surprised Clarke, yellow and Hughes haven't signed junior yet like they where expected. As far as I know they've been available to do so for a while. Shane is signed and registered with janesboro

Still think Wayne Colbert would make a good right back for us and is a tough player in the middle. Can't see that happening either though.[/QUOTE]

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by leather View Post
    Surprised Clarke, yellow and Hughes haven't signed junior yet like they where expected. As far as I know they've been available to do so for a while. Shane is signed and registered with janesboro

Still think Wayne Colbert would make a good right back for us and is a tough player in the middle. Can't see that happening either though.
    [/QUOTE]

I heard Hughes is signing with the Boro
    68, 99, 08

is it the view of pat scully that shane clarke , hughes etc are not good enough for limerick squad or did they leave of there own accord. surely for limerick to attract more fans etc they should be integrating best young local talent into 1st team. i know alot of people say you need more experienced players to get out of the division but i dont think rogers and the likes of heary really made a huge difference results wise last season. any updates on what is happening with John Tierney also?
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by balls View Post
    is it the view of pat scully that shane clarke , hughes etc are not good enough for limerick squad or did they leave of there own accord. surely for limerick to attract more fans etc they should be integrating best young local talent into 1st team. i know alot of people say you need more experienced players to get out of the division but i dont think rogers and the likes of heary really made a huge difference results wise last season. any updates on what is happening with John Tierney also?
    Clarke asked to be released. Hughes was offered a deal but must not have accepted dont think he would get in the team anyway after being sent out on loan last year not sure how well he did at Athlone. Haven't heard a thing about Yellow.

Dont think having local players helps getting fans we had mostly locals for years and got no more fans then when we had Rogers and Heary and all last year fans will come if we are doing well no matter who is playing. Dont think there is many if any junior players in Limerick good enough to get us up tbh.

As far as i know JT is gone he is a big loss alright. Would have liked to keep him and Clarke.

Quote Originally Posted by balls View Post
    I would think if the players wanted to stay Scully would have kept them. Still plenty of local talent going to be at the club. Mainly going to be A or U20 players though. If good enough they will make the step up. Tierney and Clarke will be big losses. Yellow is a lovely player but was in and out of the team last season. Hughes didn't play much last season so hard to know if he is a big loss or not.

Quote Originally Posted by leather View Post
    Shane is signed and registered with janesboro
    Cheers Leather, didn't see it mentioned anywhere.

Page 11 of 15 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast