Page 27 of 61 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2010/11

Quote Originally Posted by killer"B" View Post
    no offence taking bud we had douglas hall in the last round very fit and sharp.. and as i said wilton are one of the best in the cork aul
    Killer B,

was apologising to the 2 Mayo teams(Ballyhaunis and Kiltimagh/Knock). Dont think I offend the Cork teams, unless they are offended by being tipped by me to progress. Although Ballinasloe are a good side and Douglas Hall would not want to be taking them lightly.
    'I can live with disappointment, its the hope I cant handle'

Limerick side of the 5th round of the FAI:

Mungret Regional FC v New Ross Celtic or Freshford Town FC
    St. Kevins Boys FC or Killester Utd v Ballynanty Rovers
    Kilmallock Utd v Crettyard Utd or Courtown Hibs FC
    Cloughjordan FC or Nenagh FC v Pike Rvs
    Knockainey FC v Coachford A FC

Yea I played a compeditive college game a few years ago and we had to play on astro-turf I must be honest I was'nt use to the run of the ball and the heavy bounce it took.......

no bother my fault took you up wrong lol

stop you would feel the back of your calfs all right my first time 90mins on a pitch like that and took days to recover from it ,,,

Cant see many of those 5th round ties going ahead on 11th/12th december, there are still a lot of 4th round ties yet to be played, most are down for this weekend which doesnt look too good.

Only 3 of the 32 ties are known, Broadford v Carrick, Knockrainey v Coachford, Douglas v Ballinasloe.

Some of the ties still have 5 teams on one side of it!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by the water boy View Post
    just got the pike 1 lads there home to winners of killester or st kevins
    are you sure

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longshanks View Post
    Sligo/Leitrim, Roscommon teams have tough draws.

Manor or Ballymoe v Athenry or Colemanstown; Athenry have won the Connacht Cup 3 out of the last 4 years and should be favourites to reach last 32
    Manulla or Westport v City or Boyle; Wesport v City for me, City's fitness levels and match sharpness to see them through
    Douglas Hall v Ballinasloe; tough away draw for a good Ballinasloe team, dont know how good Douglas are but they must have something about them to get this far, home win.

Mayo clubs have it tough too.
    Avenue v Erris or Ballina Town, top 2 in last years Mayo Super League with an away trip to Clare, home win
    Seaview Celtic or St Peters v Castlebar or Ballyhane, Castlebar to travel to St Peters(recent finalists), Castlebar not the force of old, home win
    Wilton v Ballyhaunis or Kiltimagh/Knock, Wilton at home to either last season tier 5 winners or 3rd from bottom in tier 3, home win

Galway.
    Hibs v Ballingary Albion or Moneygall, strong Hibs side at home, dont know anything about either potential opposition, home win?
    Oranmore or OLBC v Pinebrook or Collinstown, fancy Oranmore to beat OLBC but again know nothing of the others.
    Longshanks,

Ballina Town and Westport Utd are the top 2 teams in Mayo .... not Iorras Aonathaithe (Erris Utd) ... they were the third best team in Mayo

What league do Douglas Hall junior side play in? There senior side is in Munster Senior League?

do they play all home games on astro turf pitch?
    Last edited by badker; 01/12/2010 at 10:58 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Bossman View Post
    32 Douglas Hall FC [MSL] v Ballinasloe Town

5th Round Ties scheduled for weekend of the 11th and 12th of December 2010.
    Fair play to you for posting draw. Why do you have [MSL] beside Douglas Hall FC?

Do you not have to be a Junior side to enter FAI Cup?

Quote Originally Posted by badker View Post
    Fair play to you for posting draw. Why do you have [MSL] beside Douglas Hall FC?

Do you not have to be a Junior side to enter FAI Cup?
    dougla hall are a MUNSTER JUNIOR TEAM,,, check out muster senior league.com they are in the junior section of that just a mis-spell from who ever posted

Quote Originally Posted by killer"B" View Post
    dougla hall are a MUNSTER JUNIOR TEAM,,, check out muster senior league.com they are in the junior section of that just a mis-spell from who ever posted
    As Killer B says - but I think the official definition is Munster Senior League - Junior Section, hence the MSL after their name.
    This is a very impressive club - senior club top of the MSL, 1st Junior team top of the MSL Junior Premier, 2nd Junior Team 2nd place in AUL Division 1 - which is a pretty high level of football (especially for a clubs 3rd team). Typically it would be thought that the AUL premier division would be a fair bit stronger than the MSL Junior Premier - but I would think that Douglas Hall Juniors would be considered the exception to this rule - they would definitely be up there fighting for the title were they in the AUL.
    The Astro turf is an advantage - but then again the clubs with a narrow/short/hilly/long & short grass ... etc all have varying degrees of home advantage. One of the biggest benefits I would see is being able to have a life outside football - games on a Friday evening - my God the whole weekend free...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    Longshanks,

Ballina Town and Westport Utd are the top 2 teams in Mayo .... not Iorras Aonathaithe (Erris Utd) ... they were the third best team in Mayo
    My humble apologies Swinfordfc, I had heard that Ballina town were gonna be giving the FAI Junior Cup a big push this year, but that was in August when they were trying to sign a lad I know, have they been training all through the off season?? I see that Avenue are struggling in the Clare league, but they do have games in hand. The fact that the FAI Junior Cup is in the 'off' season for Mayo clubs has to be a disadvantage to ye.

How are all at Swinford doing in preperation for the Connacht Cup game next week? ye are due to travel to play us(Ballygawley). We are struggling big time, but if we can get most of our team out against ye we should give ye a good game.

Do Douglas Hall play all there games on the Astro Turf Pitch

My humble apologies Swinfordfc, I had heard that Ballina town were gonna be giving the FAI Junior Cup a big push this year, but that was in August when they were trying to sign a lad I know, have they been training all through the off season?? I see that Avenue are struggling in the Clare league, but they do have games in hand. The fact that the FAI Junior Cup is in the 'off' season for Mayo clubs has to be a disadvantage to ye.

How are all at Swinford doing in preperation for the Connacht Cup game next week? ye are due to travel to play us(Ballygawley). We are struggling big time, but if we can get most of our team out against ye we should give ye a good game.

Avenue are very good side TBH, They had a few bad results in the league but should not be taken lightly.
    They play out of Lee's road, very big pitch with bad surface last time i was out there. I'd fancy them to win tough.
    Last edited by the lobster; 02/12/2010 at 11:54 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by fatboyslim View Post
    Do Douglas Hall play all there games on the Astro Turf Pitch
    yes fatboyslim this is true and there very good to so dont take them lightly

The 2 big guns in Tipp have been drawn against Baldoyle united and Newcastle West respectively,any reports on the strengths of these sides?

Quote Originally Posted by the lobster View Post
    Avenue are very good side TBH, They had a few bad results in the league but should not be taken lightly.
    They play out of Lee's road, very big pitch with bad surface last time i was out there. I'd fancy them to win tough.
    I'd only be expecting to see 3 Connacht teams in the last 32.

Athenry and City should get through there all Connacht ties and I fancy Galway Hibs to win at home too. all the remaining Connacht teams have tough away draws, bar Oranmore/OLBC.

If that is the case it is a poor representation from the province.

But it is cup football, anything can happen?!?!

51 Posts

Ye up next sunday - hoping this snow will be gone by then - where's ye pitch in Ballygawley?

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    Ye up next sunday - hoping this snow will be gone by then - where's ye pitch in Ballygawley?
    our pitch is being done up this season, we are using McSharry Park, the Sligo/Leitrim grounds this season for our league games, I presume thtas where the game will be played

Page 27 of 61 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast