Page 29 of 121 FirstFirst ... 1927282930313979 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

The Glenthorn game wasnt abandoned due to an injury or the weather - heard a little but as i wasnt there i'm not going to say

Leeside Wilton, Grattan Knockavilla

Quote Originally Posted by Triggs View Post
    Leeside 2 Wilton 1
    Just back from the game in little island and as a neutral it wasn't a great game to watch. Leeside went 2 up in the 1st half and were probably good for it but Wilton totally dominated the second half and desereved a draw out of it. That said for all their dominance they didn't really create much in front of goal and leeside defended well.they practically had everyone behind the ball second half but they coped well and seemed content to try and hang on to what they had.
    Fair play to Bohs again yesterday another good result and they are really the team to beat now in Prem A.
    Just seen on AUL site that glenthorns game was abondoned yesterday. Anyone know why?
    Thats a pretty fair assesment although I cant reallty remember the Leeside keeper haveing a save to make so given that i'm not sure Wilton deserverd a draw. Also i dont know how the Wilton centre half lasted the whole game. i counted four different times when he brought down the Leeside centre forwards from behind as they were going away from him.
    Leeside looked like they were missing three or four players on the day.

Went to watch Grattan on Saturday and thought they looked decent. Deserved their win against a sticky side. They obviously miss the players who have left but thats obvious. Hopefully this win will turn things rounds for them.

Olachio, what did you hear about the Glenthorn game?

71 Posts
    View, great post. You are right about the loyalty. Bohs were at the verge of extinction if you believed some of the rumours during the summer. Derek staying and players not leaving or returning quickly seems to galvanised them. They travel in packs watching the games, which shows a strong team spirit! Blackstone & Bohs go back to the beginning so I wish them well....as much as I can in the same division! Did Kanturk go 6-0 at the beginning of last season?

Funny how my praise for our pitch didnt work this week! It was a strange one, becase you have an idea how the pitch is going to look like from watching it over years. Yesterday, ours was way stickier than I expected. I just guessed wrong or I missed a rainstorm from my base across the river.

Lots of people mentioned my discussion with the Cobh lads to me over the last while - it still suprising who reads this forum! One of our lads is convinced we will get them at home in AOH last 32 - its not like football hasnt thrown up ironies like that before!

A.U.L. 2A

Coachford (B) 1 Killowen 2

A badly needed win for us on Saturday, always a tight game between the two sides and Saturday was no different. Pitch was just about playable after the heavy rain. Scoreless first half with neither keeper forced to make a save. We took the lead from a set piece after 55 minutes and almost made it 2-0 five minutes later, but the Coachford keeper made a superb save from a close range volley. Coachford kept pressing for an equaliser and finally got on level terms with 10 minutes left with a fine shot from the edge of the area, although there was a strong suspicion of offside. We were denied a blatant penalty just after that when one of our midfielders was clearly fouled inside the area. We kept pressing and got a winner in the 90th minute from the penalty spot after a Coachford defender handled in the box. It wasn't pretty but we got the job done and secured 3 points.
    "Garlic bread - it’s the future, I’ve tasted it."
    Brian Potter - Phoenix Nights

Pacman I wasnt at the Glenthorn game so I dont believe in dealing in rumours - besides this is read by lots of people and I wasnt there and I'd hate to be wrong!!

21 Posts

Foot.ie! Lucky 13 for Kinsale

Scraped home on pens versus Greenwood yesterday in the Munster Junior Cup.
    Can we count this as win number 13 of 13 games for the season so far?
    I think so because if we had lost on pens you can be sure Greenwood would've counted it as a victory

Our winning streak will get a big test next saturday when we have Avondale (MSL Senior Prem) in the Munster Senior Cup (we got in because we won the AUL Prem last year).
    For once we won't be favorites to win a game and it'll be a good experience for us to play one of the top amateur sides in Ireland
    We'll try to do the AUL proud, but we'll have to improve on yesterdays performance if we're going to have even a small chance of challanging last seasons FAI Intermediate Cup finalists.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    View, great post. You are right about the loyalty. Bohs were at the verge of extinction if you believed some of the rumours during the summer. Derek staying and players not leaving or returning quickly seems to galvanised them. They travel in packs watching the games, which shows a strong team spirit! Blackstone & Bohs go back to the beginning so I wish them well....as much as I can in the same division! Did Kanturk go 6-0 at the beginning of last season?

Funny how my praise for our pitch didnt work this week! It was a strange one, becase you have an idea how the pitch is going to look like from watching it over years. Yesterday, ours was way stickier than I expected. I just guessed wrong or I missed a rainstorm from my base across the river.

Lots of people mentioned my discussion with the Cobh lads to me over the last while - it still suprising who reads this forum! One of our lads is convinced we will get them at home in AOH last 32 - its not like football hasnt thrown up ironies like that before!

Thats all true Bohs were a day or 2 from folding at start of season few players left for grattan and blarney st, John Cronin top scorer for last 8-9 years was thinking bout jacking it in, Judge one of our best players left for Blarney St, Gally for Grattan, Our keeper nearly signed with castleview but in fairness when a meeting was called everyone got there say and decided we had a right good chance in this league, We had an ok start in the Mossy and players saw we werent gonna be giving anything easy away, Then hala came back, decky gostel signed nobody else transfered and we are reaping the rewards now, Training is going well, Very intense up there nobody pulling out of anything as everyone is fighting for there place on Saturday,.. Long may it continue

mario heard rumour that players that left are on happy and thinking about coming back any truth and on glenthorn game any news anyone

Trouble did you play for Castleview?

28 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trouble View Post
    mario heard rumour that players that left are on happy and thinking about coming back any truth and on glenthorn game any news anyone
    All players welcome to come back Trouble!!!

Quote Originally Posted by super_mario View Post
    Thats all true Bohs were a day or 2 from folding at start of season few players left for grattan and blarney st, John Cronin top scorer for last 8-9 years was thinking bout jacking it in, Judge one of our best players left for Blarney St, Gally for Grattan, Our keeper nearly signed with castleview but in fairness when a meeting was called everyone got there say and decided we had a right good chance in this league, We had an ok start in the Mossy and players saw we werent gonna be giving anything easy away, Then hala came back, decky gostel signed nobody else transfered and we are reaping the rewards now, Training is going well, Very intense up there nobody pulling out of anything as everyone is fighting for there place on Saturday,.. Long may it continue
    You could also add Wayne Long and Scott o Brien as 2 new signing ........2 very good and young players who are just after breaking into the first 11 some hard calls for the manager at the weekend in the team selection but suppose thats a big perk!!
    WE ARE GOING UP I SAID WE ARE GOING UP!!!!! BOHS CHAMPIONS 1A 09/10

Heard from a good source Grattans manager is after reseigning with a few of there players leaving also.
    Any news up that way Scaffa/View??
    Strange this early in the year you would think.

Ya ghost manger has gone from grattan but he did not resign he got the sack as for players leaving time will tell wont it ???? and to be honest i tought he was doing a good job for the amount of players that left the club at the start of the season

no view not as good as players you mention

killer no disrespect but things have being good up in grats for years because alot of good players were playing up there but does loyalty mean anything easy for players to jump a sinking ship and no digs at you but wouldnt you think players would knuckle down and get on with there job like other clubs had to do for years so easy to enjoy your football when your winning and scaf are mario who door wil they be knocking at next oops

well trouble i guess in a way your right about loyalty,, but when it comes to players who cant tell what they will do,, but gavin aka littleman should not have got the sack he held the ship well while all the flair players left the club and to get screwed like that is unfair that my opinion

but killer when you have good player it alot easier to do good job look like ye will have to step up and steady ship now and show the sunshine players how to knuckle down and get on with any news on littleman accessor let get a book open ha

24 Posts
    Killer I have to agree it seems a bit harsh on littleman considering the players he lost and his loyalty to the club over the years but sometimes for the good of the club, people need to step aside to help the club progress and maybe he might have been the reason for players leaving( Thats only speculation nothing more)

ya there is a new manager in place since last nite a player from the b team dean evans nice guy but can he coupe with the job only time will tell ! ! !

well killer best of luck up there but rumours have it that more big players will leave

well trouble if they leave they leave im playing with the b team so im not pushed who comes or goes

Page 29 of 121 FirstFirst ... 1927282930313979 ... LastLast