Results 2,741 to 2,760 of 4585

Thread: Aiden McGeady

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    The forum used to encourage people to come on and spout whatever opinions they liked about football without much fear of being banned or suspended. Eirebhoy was fairly forgiving with people's ramblings once they didn't become too offensive or agressive. You get much less leeway now.

Aidinho hasn't said anything particularly offensive or agressive. People spouting unmitigated garbage qualifies as neither and that's all he's guilty off yet you have members crawling out of the woodwork suggesting he should be banned. We've turned into a nation of militant politically correct lunatics just like our friends across the water.

As I said earlier just ignore his posts if he annoys you.
    This thread has become cluttered with infantile garbage and the garbage is spreading out to other threads.
    People answer his nonsense and it goes on for pages.
    Diverse opinions are welcome. Aidinho does not even fulfill the minimum standard to hold or express opinions.
    An opinion requires some (varying) degree of forethought before expression. Aidinho appears incapable of performing this basic function at this stage in his life.
    Best not to reply to any of his posts, because he is also missing the capacity to understand what is written in a reply.

2,284 Posts
    It's subtle (maybe more bizarre?) but sweeping and provocative statements like the following that perplex/amuse me somewhat. I don't believe someone could really believe the nonsense he spouts. The following is a selection from the past three days alone:

I'm 2nd generation Irish so I don't like England full stop.

An integral aspect of being Irish is not liking England full stop then?

[Niall] McGinn is pals with [Kyle] Lafferty whats that all about?

Why McGinn should have a problem (beyond aidinho's sectarian and intolerant assumptions) with being pals with Lafferty, I'm not sure. They are international team-mates, after all.

On Mark Lawrenson's nationality, in spite of aidinho claiming himself to be second-generation Irish:
    lawro is fecking english mate.

just as I expected. just let the English run your team and TV and country then.

When informed that Niall McGinn apparantly had no interest in playing for Ireland:
    that's how [Niall McGinn] is being blackballed [by Neil Lennon] then, we have Neil Lennon as coach now, he hates the Rangers just as much as those wee guys you saw during the orange walk was on in Belfast hitting them with petrol bombs and that..... and worse.

On Aiden McGeady's impending debut for Spartak Moscow:
    Apparently [McGeady's] debut will be in Chechnya now and just like yourselves they have now declared peace

Huh?

Then there was his original spell of typing solely in a Glaswegian accent; possibly an over-compensation? And he refers to us as "the Republic". Is this common for Scottish-born second-generation Irish? Or is it just a northern thing? Hmm...

Such comments don't really deserve a reaction because they're so daft and doing so only insinuates a certain level of credibility, although it would be somewhat embarrassing to encounter them and see them let go; a catch-22 situation certainly. I can see why someone might take offence if they thought he was of a serious persuasion, but I don't let myself get worked up by him as I don't think he's genuine at all. To be honest, I think he's a troll/Rangers fan from the north on a wind-up mission to draw sectarian and ignorant comments out of posters on here; possibly someone seeking to avenge the influx of Irish fans onto OWC in light of the whole eligibility saga. If that is the case, he's, as you'd expect, failing miserably. If my suspicions are incorrect, then he must be a 12-year-old kid from Glasgow and I don't know what he's doing working security at nights. Ignore him if he bothers you. Otherwise, just laugh at what he has to say.

1,025 Posts
    I've got a soft spot fae the wee radge.

131 Posts
    I would simply question anybody's sanity that is even remotely offended by anything a member has posted who had previously claimed that Aiden McGeady's delivery was 'Beckamesque'. I kid you not.
    Last edited by youngirish; 23/08/2010 at 8:05 PM.

446 Posts
    To be honest it's a relatively 'free' world, thus would tilt towards a, er, libertarian stance of 'free', er, speech for all.
    Including yer man and his posts which are a little crazed.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Good article in today's Independent about McGeady's move to Moscow: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-2307323.html
    I haven't read an Independent issued article in a long time, but that was enjoyable, honest and f-all bullsh*t. Pleasantly surprised. Thanks,
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

2,284 Posts
    Spartak Moscow were drawn in Group F with Chelsea, Marseille and MŠK Žilina in today's Champions League draw. Will be interesting to see how McGeady does against Chelsea. I'd imagine they'd have a very good chance of progressing in second position. Between them and Marseille really.

I notice that 'aidinho' has gone a bit quiet in recent nights. I wonder did he feel his cover was blown, or maybe it's just due to something perfectly understandable and he's no longer working security...

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    I notice that 'aidinho' has gone a bit quiet in recent nights. I wonder did he feel his cover was blown, or maybe it's just due to something perfectly understandable and he's no longer working security...
    weldoninho = aidinho always crossed my mind...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

192 Posts
    McGeady is expected to play some part in Terek Groznyi vs Spartak Moskow tomorrow. I believe kick-off is about 1pm Irish time. For those of you with a bet365 account they often show the Russian games online. There are usually plenty of other streams online as well.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

192 Posts
    Aiden isn't even on the bench for Spartak today. Hopefully it's not an injury and he'll be on his way to Dublin tonight to meet up with the squad.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/match?i...1&league=RUS.1

btw Spartak have been well on top for the first 10 minutes and my Russian is coming along nicely. Близо́к локото́к, да не уку́сишь
    Last edited by EastTerracer; 28/08/2010 at 12:20 PM.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Is he injured or what- has he been part of any sqaud since he joined Spartak

253 Posts
    Jacky, he had a back injury at Celtic in preseason, and hasn't made a squad yet in the two matches Spartak have played since his transfer.
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

214 Posts
    Have/will Spartak release him for international duty? I know they are supposed to but if he has an injury then I'm sure they could persuade everybody it isn't in his interests to travel.

229 Posts
    Probably played about 45 minutes since in all of preseason to date. Not great if we do actually need him over the next week.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

2,796 Posts
    I understand the whole thing about match fitness / sharpness and so on, but I kind of agree with Trap when he said all he needed himself was a week's pre-season and he was good for 90 minutes. If you look after yourself and train well in preseason you're likely to be in peak condition and fresh to go. He's probably itching for a game. Anyone who does athletics will know all about tapering before an event - i.e., you've done all the training, to be fresh you need to ease off a bit. Lawrence & McGeady won't have lost fitness over the summer.

398 Posts
    Getting worried about McGeady being at Spartak, some rumblings in the club at present and the main moneyman behind the club has in the past day been on local media here complaining about demands being made by Karpin and his "35%" (this reference to the amount of votes he got to get elected into his position). They've just off-loaded Stipe Pletikosa to Spurs and are trying to clear off debts owed to past players. It's a massive club in Russia (undeservedly so) and I only wish he'd gone to a solid side like Loko, but here's hoping.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I understand the whole thing about match fitness / sharpness and so on, but I kind of agree with Trap when he said all he needed himself was a week's pre-season and he was good for 90 minutes. If you look after yourself and train well in preseason you're likely to be in peak condition and fresh to go. He's probably itching for a game. Anyone who does athletics will know all about tapering before an event - i.e., you've done all the training, to be fresh you need to ease off a bit. Lawrence & McGeady won't have lost fitness over the summer.
    Agree with regards to fitness. Its the touch/sharpness factor that is lost without games under the belt. You only have to miss 5-a-side for a couple of weeks at my pathetic level to notice the ball bouncing off you and the inability to weight a pass properly. Completely different level I know but Ive seen it with professionals coming back from a lay off to see it takes a few competitive games to get back in to the swing of things. I'd be disappointed if he did feature but the game passed him by or was riddled with simp;e errors because of lack of game time in recent weeks.

Not sure we'll have much option though based on Duffers news etc...
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

253 Posts
    Assuming McGeady is healthy I think he can make a real impact for us. I reckon Armenia will be a fairly similar team to Georgia and McGeady had a stormer against them last campaign.
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    Assuming McGeady is healthy I think he can make a real impact for us. I reckon Armenia will be a fairly similar team to Georgia and McGeady had a stormer against them last campaign.
    Some impulsive/overzealous defending on him could pay dividends. Having said that, I don't know a thing about Armenia's defenders or as you said, whether McGeady is fit or not.

He played a full part in training today for the first time.