Results 1,081 to 1,100 of 1591

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2009/10

Quote Originally Posted by Insidetherock View Post
    Have to agree with you there Tipp Top.. great to see the season ending in much the saem weather conditions as it started too, glorious sunshine.

Looking back on the season, Cashel can be happy enough with their league position I think. I know we all at the club got carried away during pre-season, but I hope people go easy on us, if we don't talk up our own team, well we're hardly supporters then are we

In the end, we probably finished where we deserved, definitely not in a relegation fight, but also still a bit outside the top four. The results against Peake show though, that we can compete with the best on any given day, but we need to be able to compete with these teams consistently. Only a few times this season did we seem completely out of our depth.

It was also good to see that the mid season problems with management seem to have finally been put behind the club and well done to Eddie Walsh for stepping up in the second half of the season. But, even Eddie will probably be happy that it looks like the committee have sorted out a new manager for next season, and he's got plenty of experience in improving a club and getting the best out of the resources that he has to work with. Hopefully he'll do it again next season.

Also, Rosegreen look like they have blown a return to the Premier League next year with the loss to Galbally today and that means that there will likely be less competition between the clubs for potential players and also a possibility maybe to signing some of the current Rosegreen team who might fancy Premier football next year.

As for todays game, Clonmel were flattered by the scoreline in the end, but that's what really good teams do, win ugly. The two goals by Barry Ryan also showed Cashel Town what they missed out on when they were unable to sign him at the start of the season. He's a class player, fair play to him.

Best of luck to Clonmel Town in the FAI as well, because it's time that everyone in the league got behind the leagues representatives in all competitions. It shows the strenght of the league in Tipperary.

Finally, well done to Cashel Town B team as well. Division 3 league champions to go with the Shield they won earlier this year. The club is on the up and the game of football in the town is definitely gaining in strenght. Hopefully we can start seeing that begin again at juvenile level as well in the next few years.

All in all, time to pat ourselves on the back for a decent season.

See you all in September
    Well said Rock.you summed it all up there..Cashel were excellent against town on sunday and they were missing a good few players and some players out of postion,3nil was a bit flattering indeed.they were definitly alot stronger than us but they were coming off the back of alot of games while cashel hadnt trained or played a game in at least a month,so we should give credit where credit is due.
    lets hope the team can stay together cause theres a few rumours going around that i hope arent true.so lets build on this season cause from watchin a few games this season they are well capable.

id like to say congrats to the B team,they did brilliant in climbing up the league ladder,it will be alot tougher next year but we'll be well up for it.and we had a great night last night celebrating.well done lads.

heres to next season

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    according to reports ye should have put cork away in the oscars?
    where are they strong or weak so we can beat em!!!!! :-)
    TSDL were far the better side. Played magnificent football, didn't deserve to lose. Weakness with final touch in front of goal cost them dearly. Cork, in a rare attack, scored a cracking goal four minutes from time which proved to be the winner. Cork were well organised and are obviously training together on a regular basis. They had an excellent goalkeeper from Wilton (he had an italian name). Coincidentally both their goals came from another Wilton player, no 10, who was their best player. I think they are at home in the semi-final which will make them favourites but they are certainly beatable.

Disgraceful TIPP FM

Don't know if anyone else heard Extra time on Tipp FM last night, well ONCE AGAIN it was a disgrace. The two Munster Junior Cup semi finals are on next Sunday and Muiris Walsh got barely five minutes on them. Yet they talked for at least 20minutes on Gaelic football. Fair enough with the U-21s in the semi final but on that nobody from the high school after they winning the All Ireland. [/SIZE]
    Back to the soccer coverage. They spoke about Rugby for over 10 minutes if not 15. What really annoyed me was they had some young fellow on from Fethard who won some boxing title. Yet two big games involving Tipp teams gets two minutes air time, near the end of the show. They are a joke in that station. They have a fantastic analyst and football man in Muiris Walsh and they barely use him. In no way could you say that they give a fair amount of coverage to football. Yes they have the draws for the domestic cup on the radio, but they coverage on a Monday is poor. Its always stuck in somewhere.
    A joke. As was said before, they should give Muiris his own show, if only for a half hour. Jesus, look at the success of all Tipperary teams over the past twenty years. I think soccer is treated very poorly by our own station

Quote Originally Posted by nononsense View Post
    TSDL were far the better side. Played magnificent football, didn't deserve to lose. Weakness with final touch in front of goal cost them dearly. Cork, in a rare attack, scored a cracking goal four minutes from time which proved to be the winner. Cork were well organised and are obviously training together on a regular basis. They had an excellent goalkeeper from Wilton (he had an italian name). Coincidentally both their goals came from another Wilton player, no 10, who was their best player. I think they are at home in the semi-final which will make them favourites but they are certainly beatable.
    was at the game and TSDL were very unlucky. Would agree that the TSDL were the better side but Cork played more as a unit

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by complexman View Post
    Don't know if anyone else heard Extra time on Tipp FM last night, well ONCE AGAIN it was a disgrace. The two Munster Junior Cup semi finals are on next Sunday and Muiris Walsh got barely five minutes on them. Yet they talked for at least 20minutes on Gaelic football. Fair enough with the U-21s in the semi final but on that nobody from the high school after they winning the All Ireland. [/SIZE]
    Back to the soccer coverage. They spoke about Rugby for over 10 minutes if not 15. What really annoyed me was they had some young fellow on from Fethard who won some boxing title. Yet two big games involving Tipp teams gets two minutes air time, near the end of the show. They are a joke in that station. They have a fantastic analyst and football man in Muiris Walsh and they barely use him. In no way could you say that they give a fair amount of coverage to football. Yes they have the draws for the domestic cup on the radio, but they coverage on a Monday is poor. Its always stuck in somewhere.
    A joke. As was said before, they should give Muiris his own show, if only for a half hour. Jesus, look at the success of all Tipperary teams over the past twenty years. I think soccer is treated very poorly by our own station
    Totally agree. The coverage of local soccer on both TIPP FM and Tipp MIDWEST is very poor. A dedicated programme for the TSDL of say 30 minutes per week is needed and if enough clubs demanded it we could succeed. Perhaps now is the time to set the ball rolling for next season. It would be nice to get presenters who have good knowledge of the local scene but are not attached to any club. It annoys me when local radio stations spend time discussing national sports - local radio stations should concentrate on local sports within their listening radius. If I want to hear a discussion on the englsh premiership I will get more than enough of it on national radio.

I think it would be great but I don't think the drive is there within the TSDL or Tipp FM. If it where to happen, who would you get to present it. I wouldn't have a problem with Muiris as I think he is great. He is very opinionated but I don't think he could be accused of being biased. If you tuned in and didn't know who he was, you wouldn't think that he was attached to any club.
    Also he has presented that show on a monday night and did an excellent job.
    Still other clubs may not like the idea of him doing it
    thoughts anyone?

Get Muiris in to present and have regular contributors / contributions from club PROs and ordinary supporters comments via text, etc. Could make for an informative and entertaining show. Model it on Newstalk's 'Off the Ball' but within a purely local context. It would need to be more than half an hour though. An hour would be the optimum time to give it a fair chance of working.

Quote Originally Posted by Damo View Post
    Get Muiris in to present and have regular contributors / contributions from club PROs and ordinary supporters comments via text, etc. Could make for an informative and entertaining show. Model it on Newstalk's 'Off the Ball' but within a purely local context. It would need to be more than half an hour though. An hour would be the optimum time to give it a fair chance of working.

This is a fine idea indeed but Muiris could not be the presenter! He's a Clonmel Town man he does give a good account of himself on the radio but wears his colours openly at matches and couldn't be impartial.
    You would need someone involved in the radio to be a mediator and total control of the show because I could imagine it get heated at times, id imagine most of the talk would be about refs anyway!

Quote Originally Posted by West Hammer View Post
    I heard from a Saints committee member that the Saints - Pike mess is up in front of the senior council at 8pm this Tuesday night, hopefully we get a final decision and one way or another we can look forward to a great FAI semi final in Cahir. Well done to Saints on winning the Tipperary Youth Cup on Saturday, Clerihan scored first but that was their only chance and Saints played the better football for the rest of the game and ran out 4 - 1 winners.
    The Senior Council have ruled in favour of St.Michaels its all over the FAI Junior Forum Clonmel Town V St.Michaels in FAI Semi Final. This will not be for the faint hearted Michaels have to improve form if they are to win this, Town must be favourites. Pressure is all on Town!

Quote Originally Posted by Pearoso27 View Post
    This is a fine idea indeed but Muiris could not be the presenter! He's a Clonmel Town man he does give a good account of himself on the radio but wears his colours openly at matches and couldn't be impartial.
    You would need someone involved in the radio to be a mediator and total control of the show because I could imagine it get heated at times, id imagine most of the talk would be about refs anyway!
    What do you expect him to do at matches!! He is very impartial on that show and your sly comment that it would all be about refs is unfair. Muiris talks about refs if he has to and he doesn't give out about them that mutch.
    I think he would be ideal

132 Posts
    Are you suggesting that because Muiris openly supports his club, he couldn't be impartial ? If you were going to use that yardstick, then nobody with an interest in football could host a show, as anyone with an interest in local football would support a team, and anyone without an interest in local soccer wouldn't have the information needed to make any show worth listening to. It's kind of a catch 22.

In fact, having someone like Muiris present it would be as good as you get, because a. he would have to temper his biases to make sure he was impartial, and b. people would know before they start where his support lies.. far better to have that than someone who claims to be completely nuetral but yet hides an allegiance to which he extends his biases

As for a show which would mainly target referees... it would be a waste of time and would be off the air pretty quickly. The referees wouldn't accept being made figures of hate or ridicule on local radio week after week, and would get onto the TSDL to ask for the programme to be pulled or they woudl stop refereeing games. And they would be right to. I keep saying this about referees... the greatest criticism comes from people who wouldn't dare pick up a whistle themselves.

They have to make calls which others wouldn't, and they don't have the benefit of the hundreds of eyes that supporters have on the line. Also, and lets be honest, every single person that posts here complaining about referees, usually does so in a biased fashion i.e. stating that he "did" their club. For every bad decision a referee gives against a supporters club, I bet they would be happy if he gave it to their club and they benefitted. You can't have it both ways.

As for getting local radio airplay, people here could get together and lobby the radio stations for better coverage. Perhaps get each club to sign a petition at their games showing interest in such a show. Also, get the league involved, and get them to push for a slot. But bear in mind, radio stations are commercial entities. They are not going to give over prime time radio slots because a small number of very interested, very dedicated local football supporters want them to.

If all goes to all... create your own show. Make a podcast once a week and post it either on a thread like this, or on the TSDL mainpage.. it's not really that hard to do.

The Senior Council have ruled in favour of St.Michaels its all over the FAI Junior Forum Clonmel Town V St.Michaels in FAI Semi Final. This will not be for the faint hearted Michaels have to improve form if they are to win this, Town must be favourites. Pressure is all on Town!
    Nice try- given that Michaels already knock Town out of one cup this season, they must be favourites. Get John Lyons to ref it and you will have no problems

25 Posts
    Pike Rovers now have the right to go to Artbitration and must do so within 4 days. they will more than likely go down this road. This will push any semi-final well into May. A bit premature yet to be talking up a St.Michaels-Clonmel Town clash.

Nice try- given that Michaels already knock Town out of one cup this season, they must be favourites. Get John Lyons to ref it and you will have no problems
    Sure it wouldn't matter who you get to Ref it, Michaels will get the rub of the green 'cos all refs hate Town.............don't they??

Quote Originally Posted by Insidetherock View Post
    Are you suggesting that because Muiris openly supports his club, he couldn't be impartial ? If you were going to use that yardstick, then nobody with an interest in football could host a show, as anyone with an interest in local football would support a team, and anyone without an interest in local soccer wouldn't have the information needed to make any show worth listening to. It's kind of a catch 22.

In fact, having someone like Muiris present it would be as good as you get, because a. he would have to temper his biases to make sure he was impartial, and b. people would know before they start where his support lies.. far better to have that than someone who claims to be completely nuetral but yet hides an allegiance to which he extends his biases

As for a show which would mainly target referees... it would be a waste of time and would be off the air pretty quickly. The referees wouldn't accept being made figures of hate or ridicule on local radio week after week, and would get onto the TSDL to ask for the programme to be pulled or they woudl stop refereeing games. And they would be right to. I keep saying this about referees... the greatest criticism comes from people who wouldn't dare pick up a whistle themselves.

They have to make calls which others wouldn't, and they don't have the benefit of the hundreds of eyes that supporters have on the line. Also, and lets be honest, every single person that posts here complaining about referees, usually does so in a biased fashion i.e. stating that he "did" their club. For every bad decision a referee gives against a supporters club, I bet they would be happy if he gave it to their club and they benefitted. You can't have it both ways.

As for getting local radio airplay, people here could get together and lobby the radio stations for better coverage. Perhaps get each club to sign a petition at their games showing interest in such a show. Also, get the league involved, and get them to push for a slot. But bear in mind, radio stations are commercial entities. They are not going to give over prime time radio slots because a small number of very interested, very dedicated local football supporters want them to.

If all goes to all... create your own show. Make a podcast once a week and post it either on a thread like this, or on the TSDL mainpage.. it's not really that hard to do.
    Very well said. Agree with everything in there. Lobbying the stations is a super idea. Commerical entities they may be but in the marketing domintated world we live in surely even local radio stations have to listen to what their customers want and satisfy that need. Every other succesful private or public entity servicing customers can only be successful by doing so. Off The Ball is a great show but (and I'm open to correction) I don't think they've ever done a feature of note on local/junior soccer in this country. Tipp stations could lead the way on this and set the template to be followed.

Quote Originally Posted by Referee09 View Post
    all refs hate Town.............don't they??
    Far from it

What do you expect him to do at matches!! He is very impartial on that show and your sly comment that it would all be about refs is unfair. Muiris talks about refs if he has to and he doesn't give out about them that mutch.
    I think he would be ideal
    Complexman,Insidetherock please take a chill pill!
    Do you see the way i have two paragraphs in my post, this means that i have moved on from one subject to another. You were able to blank out everything else in between and link up what i said about Muiris and what i said the radio show would be about. There wasnt any sly comments please grow up.
    I never suggested anything of the sort please give it a rest ye have the ability to see around corners!

Complexman,Insidetherock please take a chill pill!
    Do you see the way i have two paragraphs in my post, this means that i have moved on from one subject to another. You were able to blank out everything else in between and link up what i said about Muiris and what i said the radio show would be about. There wasnt any sly comments please grow up.
    I never suggested anything of the sort please give it a rest ye have the ability to see around corners!
    Lads, some of the guys on here just love to have a go and rant. Chill out, read an entire post before replying, maybe even read it twice!! And as Pearso said, Grow Up ffs!!
    "There is no pressure at the top. The pressure's being second or third."

Ok so its agreed that I am a child- accept that. On a serious note, everybody here would like
    1) A dedicated Local soccer show or at the very least increased coverage

2) Muiris Walsh who is PRO of Clonmel Town is already part of Tipp FM- do we all agree he is an excellent analyst and a great football person

3) I think he is imparital on the show and has proven that ovet the last number of years, so if he isn't to present such a show- who could?

31 Posts
    Ok so its agreed that I am a child- accept that. On a serious note, everybody here would like
    1) A dedicated Local soccer show or at the very least increased coverage

2) Muiris Walsh who is PRO of Clonmel Town is already part of Tipp FM- do we all agree he is an excellent analyst and a great football person

3) I think he is imparital on the show and has proven that ovet the last number of years, so if he isn't to present such a show- who could?
    Does that mean that as well as reading a lot of rubbish on here we would have to listen to it on the radio as well...........

Page 55 of 80 FirstFirst ... 545535455565765 ... LastLast