Page 12 of 18 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Thread: Pre-season friendlies 2010

3,493 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pmgraham View Post
    I'm new to this forum and I will be visiting Dublin for the first time Feb 28 - Mar 4. I was hoping to find a match of any level to watch.
    League games begin on 5 March alright.

Bangor Celtic play UCD on 28 February, though the venue isn't decided yet. It's in the Leinster Senior Cup, but will basically be a friendly. Possibly even a fence around a pitch job. Other LSC games are down for that weekend too.

2,771 Posts
    http://www.herald.ie/national-news/c...s-2058612.html

Gardai hunt football thugs in brutal Luas attack on rival fans
    FEAR: Shels supporters set upon by Rovers gang
    By Cormac Byrne

Thursday February 11 2010

Gardai are investigating a soccer riot which occurred on the Luas when a group of Shamrock Rovers fans kicked and punched opposing fans.

The incident took place after a friendly game between Rovers and Shelbourne last Friday.

As many as seven Rovers fans set upon a Shelbourne supporter, while another two who tried to diffuse the situation took a heavy beating from the thugs.

The attack last Friday took place at 10.20pm between the Belgard and Kingswood stops on the Luas Red Line and gardai are investigating CCTV footage to try to identify the thugs.

Unbelievable

One of the injured Shels fans spoke of the ordeal which occurred in front of a packed tram of innocent commuters.

"It was unbelievable, I've been involved in football for 20 years and I've never had an experience like last Friday night," the fan said.

"When they got on first they walked right down the carriage, they were scoping out who was on the tram, they picked out a Shelbourne fan and started throwing digs at him. He hit the ground and they started kicking and punching him.

"My friend and I tried to separate them and we stood over the poor guy on the ground and then they started hitting us.

"My mate had a busted nose and I got a belt over the eye, an ambulance worker told me after that the person who hit me had to have been wearing a large ring or a knuckle duster.

"I have two black eyes from the attack which was completely unprovoked, it happened so fast, all within one stop.

"They knew what they were doing. They started the row a minute before the next stop and then hopped off.

"The League of Ireland clubs and the FAI have to act now before someone is seriously hurt or killed in one of these attacks."

Shamrock Rovers FC have condemned the attack. Club spokesman John Byrne said: "Since the move to Tallaght we've enjoyed fantastic success and were not going to tolerate anti-social behaviour.

"Our club is on the way up and we don't want to be associated with this kind of thuggery. If they are identified they will never get anywhere near the stadium again, they're history."

Shelbourne FC have conducted an investigation into the incident and prepared a report for the FAI and the gardai.

"Our club chairman Joe Casey made an appeal to any Shelbourne fans that witnessed or were involved in the incident to email him with the details of what happened," said a spokesperson for the club.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,771 Posts
    also, Bohemians beat the Malaga "B" team in Spain today, 2-0. Goals came from Quigley and Madden. Aaron Greene was there - played and set up the first, despite rumours of a move to Dundalk.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Has Raf played much for ye yet?

2,771 Posts
    injured himself in training prior to the Athlone game so no, he hasnt togged out. Not sure how serious it is, but i dont think its too bad.

26 Posts
    HD Highlights of Dundalk v Shels from Tuesday night for those of you that are interested.

ShelsTV.com | SSDG.ie | @shelstv | @shelsfc

john@shelstv.com

The mad scientist in me says "yes".

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    http://www.herald.ie/national-news/c...s-2058612.html

Gardai hunt football thugs in brutal Luas attack on rival fans
    FEAR: Shels supporters set upon by Rovers gang
    By Cormac Byrne

Thursday February 11 2010

Gardai are investigating a soccer riot which occurred on the Luas when a group of Shamrock Rovers fans kicked and punched opposing fans.

The incident took place after a friendly game between Rovers and Shelbourne last Friday.

As many as seven Rovers fans set upon a Shelbourne supporter, while another two who tried to diffuse the situation took a heavy beating from the thugs.

The attack last Friday took place at 10.20pm between the Belgard and Kingswood stops on the Luas Red Line and gardai are investigating CCTV footage to try to identify the thugs.

Unbelievable

One of the injured Shels fans spoke of the ordeal which occurred in front of a packed tram of innocent commuters.

"It was unbelievable, I've been involved in football for 20 years and I've never had an experience like last Friday night," the fan said.

"When they got on first they walked right down the carriage, they were scoping out who was on the tram, they picked out a Shelbourne fan and started throwing digs at him. He hit the ground and they started kicking and punching him.

"My friend and I tried to separate them and we stood over the poor guy on the ground and then they started hitting us.

"My mate had a busted nose and I got a belt over the eye, an ambulance worker told me after that the person who hit me had to have been wearing a large ring or a knuckle duster.

"I have two black eyes from the attack which was completely unprovoked, it happened so fast, all within one stop.

"They knew what they were doing. They started the row a minute before the next stop and then hopped off.

"The League of Ireland clubs and the FAI have to act now before someone is seriously hurt or killed in one of these attacks."

Shamrock Rovers FC have condemned the attack. Club spokesman John Byrne said: "Since the move to Tallaght we've enjoyed fantastic success and were not going to tolerate anti-social behaviour.

"Our club is on the way up and we don't want to be associated with this kind of thuggery. If they are identified they will never get anywhere near the stadium again, they're history."

Shelbourne FC have conducted an investigation into the incident and prepared a report for the FAI and the gardai.

"Our club chairman Joe Casey made an appeal to any Shelbourne fans that witnessed or were involved in the incident to email him with the details of what happened," said a spokesperson for the club.
    Isn't there cctv on the Luas? Surely they'd be able to pick up the gobdaws and have them arrested, plus find out exactly what happened.

League games begin on 5 March alright.

Bangor Celtic play UCD on 28 February, though the venue isn't decided yet. It's in the Leinster Senior Cup, but will basically be a friendly. Possibly even a fence around a pitch job. Other LSC games are down for that weekend too.

I always would have treated LSC games pineapple as proper games.. It was something that I meant to raise in the past..

Quote Originally Posted by seand60 View Post
    Presume game is off so?
    They say never rely on somebody else to find out for you! Anyways after much detective work I have finally found out (not from an Athlone Town or Sligo Rovers source) that the game goes ahead tomorrow at the Athlone IT pitch at 3pm. I have heard about games being played behind closed doors but this is crazy. Do the clubs not want people to know about the game.

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Indo report today: http://www.independent.ie/national-n...t-2058042.html

From earlier reports it sounded like innocent Shels fans being ambushed but this puts another spin on it.
    http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=1418

Also can i state how much of a digusting rag the Indo is.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

122 Posts
    Galway and Derry tomorrow at 5pm in the Brandywell

62 Posts
    Was there any matches on tonight?

Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    Galway and Derry tomorrow at 5pm in the Brandywell
    No - its a 6.30 kick off

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DRDoc View Post
    No - its a 6.30 kick off
    It says on our official website 5pm

288 Posts
    Can anyone confirm the kick-off time for the Derry - Galway match?

44 Posts
    Dundalk beat Bray 3-1 today .... Gaynor,Maher and Fenn for Dundalk....o neill for bray
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

89 Posts
    Derry game is half six.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post
    Was there any matches on tonight?
    we are playin Cork City tonight in Flancare at 7.45 pm..

We're playing Limerick tonight in Richmond... KO 7:45pm

62 Posts
    we are playin Cork City tonight in Flancare at 7.45 pm..
    Cheers Martinho, I asked that last night though!haha

Page 12 of 18 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast