Page 40 of 86 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast

Thread: Rate the last film you saw

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Watched Big Fan with Patton Oswalt, a small indie movie about an obsessive NY Giants fan. Works as a car park attendant, and calls in nightly to a sports radio show.

Really good film, and reminded me a little of The Wrestler (the writer of the wrestler directed it) and certainly not something you'd expect Oswalt to appear in.
    supposed to be terrific, a sleeper hit, and you don't have to be into the sport or sports in general to be a... fan cool, good to hear a review from the other side of the ocean.
    zombie/thread killer..

3,503 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ken foree View Post
    supposed to be terrific, a sleeper hit, and you don't have to be into the sport or sports in general to be a... fan cool, good to hear a review from the other side of the ocean.
    yeah, there's no footage from games in the film, he could just as easily be a Knicks/Yankees/Rangers fan and it would be the exact same film

130 Posts
    Saw Avatar in the cinema the other day, def worth a look, wouldnt say its brillant but decent show. Quite long mind you.

Also saw I love you man recently, quite funny and much better than i expected it to be.

112 Posts
    Watched Glen Hansard's film Once. It's ok but too much music really. And nothing really happens.

Plot: Guy meets girl busking. They hang out. And form a band. He goes back to London, girl's fella comes to Dublin. And that's it.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

634 Posts
    Saw two films yesterday.

Sunshine cleaning. Very enjoyable. Amy Adams, Emily Blunt, Alan Arkin.

Couple of sisters start a crime scene clean up business. Not sure if its a "good" film or not, but I enjoyed it a lot. Helps that Blunt (and Adams to a lesser degree) is a belter.
    4/5

The Uninvited.

Crap. But a few cracking birds in it.

1/5
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

623 Posts
    watched 'let the right one in' i loved it! a beautifully made movie even if it is in sweedish and the special effects a little crude.. well worth the watch you shall'nt be dissapointed

Watched "Couples Retreat", funny in parts and Vince Vaughan and Jon Favreau were strong. Decent storyline with Jean Reno providing comic gold (I can never see him as a tough guy again after one particular scene). 3/5

"Up in the air" was a very good and kind of sad movie, so much better than Men who stare at goats, and I wondered whether this is a story about George Clooney himself (perennial singelton, saying he'll never marry etc - which normally means one of two things, interested in same sex or a little odd). 4.5/5

"Kandahar" - it's coming out, with subtitles next month (saw an advance screening) and it's very, very, very good! A true story from 1995 about Soviet pilots caught by the taliban and held hostage in Afghanistan and how they deal with captivity, being in a country where a few years before they'd been at war and business. A couple of recognisable faces (the sniper from Behind Enemy Lines) and some good special effects. Time flew by. 4/5.

And for those who loved "Wanted" with Angelina Jolie, will be deligthed, thrilled to know that "Wanted 2" is in production, soon to be finished!

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by weecountyman View Post
    Watched "Couples Retreat", funny in parts and Vince Vaughan and Jon Favreau were strong. Decent storyline with Jean Reno providing comic gold (I can never see him as a tough guy again after one particular scene). 3/5
    It's not fantastic but I don't think it was as bad as some of the reviews it got. It made Mark Kermode's end of year "Top 10 rants."

623 Posts
    i also watchd 'mirrors' and 'drag me to hell' not bad pretty horrible death and riped open faces and stuff 'drag me to hell' is the better of the two but both very freaky...

watched 'the time travelers wife' with herself at the weekend i was shocked i actually liked it! one to watch if the missus cries easily

watched 'silent hill' finally there a few weeks back aswell. taughtit was disgusting but great and good plot twists.

anyone know what the latest saw is like?

Just watched Elizabeth: The Golden Age, utter revisionist tripe, avoid at all costs

Watched Daybreakers last night, relatively scary and a bit disgusting at points (though not in the 28 Days/Weeks mode) and a strong underlying moral tale. Sam Neill was good, so too Ethan Hawke and Willem Dafoe. An interesting take on the vampire idea, reversing the notion vampires are in the minority. 3/5

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    I watched The Hurt Locker a few days ago and still cant figure out if I thought it was good or not Parts of it were very enjoyable but parts a bit ridiculous
    I watched it there lately too and thought the same, didn't really know what to make of it. The idea that an EOD team when caught in an ambush could become a jack of all trades expert sniper team with a Barrett .50 Cal rifle while the hardened mercenaries that actually owned the rifle were pinned down and frozen with fear was ridiculous. I've read in the paper that it's being tipped for an oscar and I suppose it's the type of deep and brooding film they go for but personally I think it's probably a bit overrated.
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

Watched The Hangover, Laughed like fook. Great craic
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    Watched Glen Hansard's film Once. It's ok but too much music really. And nothing really happens.

Plot: Guy meets girl busking. They hang out. And form a band. He goes back to London, girl's fella comes to Dublin. And that's it.
    I really liked Once & I think you've missed the real subtlety of the plot, actually I don't even think it's that subtle....
    "Your guilty conscience may move you to vote Democratic, but deep down you long for a cold-hearted Republican to lower taxes, brutalize criminals, and rule you like a king"
    Sideshow Bob

115 Posts
    Saw Sherlock Holmes a couple of nights ago, really enjoyed it.
    More than a bit apprehensive going in cos have some quite set ideas on the subject, but was pleasantly surprised.
    OK he was a wee bit too all-action maybe, but it was well done in many ways, and while no Jeremy Brett, RDJ put himself well up the list of Holmes portrayals IMO. Nice double act with himself and Jude Law too.
    Also, very good direction from Guy Ritchie. It looks amazing, and the pacing is perfect, not for one second did it drag through the whole 2 hours. 8/10.
    Last edited by stann; 14/01/2010 at 5:42 PM.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Saw Sherlock Holmes a couple of nights ago, really enjoyed it.
    More than a bit apprehensive going in cos have some quite set ideas on the subject, but was pleasantly surprised.
    OK he was a wee bit too all-action maybe, but it was well done in many ways, and while no Jeremy Brett, RDJ put himself well up the list of Holmes portrayals IMO. Nice double act with himself and Jude Law too.
    Also, very good direction from Guy Ritchie. It looks amazing, and the pacing is perfect, not for one second did it drag through the whole 2 hours. 8/10.
    part 2 stars filming in june i think for a 2012 release
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

115 Posts
    Excellent! Though I think they might end up spinning a lengthy franchise out of this, all to the good if they could keep the standard up.
    more bass

If Invictus doesn't get an Oscar for best movie and a Best Supporting award go to one of the bodyguards then there's no justice. Great movie, moving and great to watch.

130 Posts
    Saw Up in the air last night, new G Clooney film, was ok didnt think it has merited the really good reviews so far.

84 Posts
    Watched "Frost/Nixon" and "Juno" over the weekend, both different but very good in their own right
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Page 40 of 86 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast